Down with the king!: Prologue

31 77
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago
Topics: Story

I honestly wanted to do a science article today but the topic I had in mind was a bit lacking so I still need to do further reading on that when I'm in the mood for it. Anyways, here is one of my rejected books. I posted the story summary/idea here if you want the spoiler but for now, I'm going to start off with a prologue. This has maybe 12-15 chapters? depends on how I'll cut the entire 30k words XD


Prologue

It was that time of the year again. Uscad needed a few envoys that would be sent to Adroile and purist territory. The number of volunteers decreased as the years went by. By the start of the 19th century, almost nobody wanted to volunteer. Why would they when none of their envoys ever returned. No news of their negotiations ever came, and there seemed to be no progress in their noble efforts of reaching peace within the three factions. The weaker witches were giving up on such an idealistic world. 

The few that were still willing to go were the few who still strongly believed in Uscad’s noble goals. Such families were those like the Holte’s whose race was actually part human. They still hoped to achieve an understanding among the races. At the start of the 19th century, Beorhtric and Lilyana Holte volunteered to be the envoys for that year. 

The Elder was reluctant to proceed with sending more envoys but the Holte’s were determined to make peace; at least with the human faction, that is. 

Preparations were made for their departure. They were blessed by the elder and all the other members of Uscad. Charms and relics were given to their family as protection, and they greatly appreciated it. 

“Father, will you and mother come back soon?” A young Cooper asked while helping his parents pack their belongings

“We will. We’ll be back in a week’s time” His father said proudly as he took the items Cooper was handing him.

The young couple was ready to set off towards the human faction that day. As soon as dawn broke, the family was already out of the house, and was walking towards the wall. The young Cooper wanted to see his parents off. He insisted because he was sure that he would miss them while they were gone. 

Once they reached the wall, the couple bid their goodbyes to their only son, before making a small opening in the wall. They told Cooper to be a good boy and wait while they tried to talk things out with the humans. And wait he did. 

Each day, he would sit beside the small opening his parents made, and each day he made sure that he would be ready to greet them and welcome them back. Days passed and there was nothing. The days turned to weeks, and the weeks turned to months. He still waited beside the opening, and on some days, the elder would sit beside him, waiting for their return as well. 

“Elder… are my parents coming back?” A disheartened Cooper asked

“They will… Or you could go get them when you’re of age to leave Uscad” The Elder said as she guided Cooper back into the village “One day, you can go out to check if your parents are still alive… But for now, nobody can pass through these walls again.”

As they walked away from the wall, the elder sealed off the small opening. She had to make sure that no other witch would perish while she was still there to protect them. The Holte’s were the very last envoys that ever left Uscad, and she made sure of it.  


11
$ 3.74
$ 3.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago
Topics: Story

Comments

Oo... I am liking this... it gives me a bit of the Avatar vibe :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wasn't even sure where I was going with this one 😅😅😅 I just went with the prompt the client gave me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

if this is a shounen the parents should be dead. Gotta read the next chapters to find it out

$ 0.00
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

well if they don't come back then you already know what that means :"(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would really be sad if what you said is true... But I can't really trust a good author when they're trying to spoil in the prologue 🙈😂✌️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

it actually has an epilogue though. but that one, i have no plans on spoiling

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see, I'm sorry I misunderstood that "you know what it means" my mind just preparing for a plot twist. lol. haha sorry

$ 0.00
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

Fast forward... I just saw the latest chap. But I ran to first one. 😅This needs the link to the next one. 😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohh i forgot to check if all of them had links 😅 this is me being distracted lately

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know why I'm starting this now, but I'm starting and I like it so far. Let's go! 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

shh no pressure, just read when you can UwU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exciting, for sure di na babalik parents nya kasi hmmm. Ako si hula hula, kaya I better move to the next chapter na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well they're witches eh. and very stubborn ones na gusto talaga ipush yung world peace Xd

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If mag uusap usao lang sana sila kasi. Bat kasi di idaan sa matinong usapwn, aigoo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you'll find out around chapter 3 or 4, i forgot din which chapter i put the reasoning in eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ang ganda ng prologue nya.. another one to abang-abang..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yiss but it's still kind of part of the main story because the characters will pop up again somewhere later on in the story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahem! Saved for reading! Congratulations! Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohh thank you OwO I'm gonna try to publish the next chapter later UwU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another nice one! Are you using Telegram? Have an invite for the #Club1BCH chatbox ready

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm still sad it was a rejected book :"( i have telegram but I don't actually open it so much?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me know if you want to join our chat! The invite is open

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you could add me but I'm not sure how to interact in groups 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sir May i join it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Work as you did until now and your time will come

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay yeah i would wait for your invitation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also want her to be part of the group and even invited her before 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ehh you did? i maybe didn't know OnO

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dati pa. Minention kta sa article tht was an invitation 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohhh that was the invitation na pala OnO i remember that but i is too dense sometimes 😅😅😅 soweee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool 😎 great minds think alike

$ 0.00
2 years ago