Chemistry for the day: Kojic acid vs. Glutathione Vs. Collagen

74 3073
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Based on the title, the three mentioned compounds are among the most popular active components in a number of beauty products that are used both internally (as pills and supplements, I count IV drips as internal use) and externally (like soaps, creams, lotions, scrubs, etc.). Sure we use these a lot based on advertisements and even on reviews but then do we really know what they specifically do to our body and what other things they can contribute?

But first, what is the common enemy of these compounds? I'd like to introduce you to melanin. This is a pigment produced by the melanocytes found on the outer layer of your body. The more melanin on your body, the darker your skin, hair and eyes; and the more protected you are from the sun. This compound serves as the skin's protector from the sun but an excessive amount can lead to a condition called hyperpigmentation, but then on mild cases, it can just lead to the uneven skin color most people dislike seeing.

To remove those discolorations or uneven tones of skin, people make use of laser treatment or the inexpensive creams and treatments that contain these three active ingredients right here.

Kojic acid

This one is probably the most used and could possibly be among the cheapest of the three when it comes to the market. For its sources, I saw a lot of box labels claiming that this acid was from fermented rice bran, the truth is, this compound can come from fungi and even soy sauce ferments.

About its use. Well, this one is only good for external use such as for soaps and for creams. It's not really meant to lighten your natural skin tone but is solely just for the purpose of reducing hyperpigmentation through and exfoliating mechanism, so if you're using this, you shouldn't really be expecting to get whiter, the most you can expect is that it will help you even out your skin tone.

Glutathione

Next up on the list is the ever popular glutathione which is used both internally and externally in so many forms which range from its pure self (pills and IV drips and serums) to the types that are in combination with other beauty products like soaps and lotions. But as for intake, the most suggested form to intake this is by the IV drips or by oral intake since this is the kind that works best internally and not externally. It only provides minimal effect on external use. This compound is a combination of three amino acids and the mechanism of how it works is actually quite interesting. You see, glutathione was meant to detoxify the liver and rid the body of free oxygen radicals (those which come from UV light exposure and in some cancer treatments), the whitening part on the skin is actually just a side effect that shows that your body is being detoxified and cleansed. Although it may show a whitening effect on a number of people, it will not always hold true all the time, same as kojic acid, it may not really whiten your skin that far from your natural skin tone

Collagen

I talked a bit about this in my last chemistry post. Collagen is the protein structure that gives your body, muscles and joints their form and structure. It's the one responsible for your skins elasticity and also for your joint health. This is wrongly advertised as a whitening product when in fact, the most it can do for your skin is to improve the elasticity and firmness of the skin and muscles but definitely not to whiten. The usage of this works both internally and externally but then again, a number of studies suggest internal consumption since external application show that collagen is too large a compound to be effectively absorbed by the skin. Besides the skin it's also great for boosting your joint conditions, actually, as well as improve hair health.

So to sum it up, these products are advertised quite wrongly but they do provide multiple benefits for the body. Using them in synergy with each other is good but then it would be best to consult a dermatologist first if you plan to use these internally (don't try to ingest kojic acid-)

When I legit wrotw this for the sake of making my sister stop bugging me about her beauty products when they're basically all the same to me

46
$ 39.56
$ 39.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Yen
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

I've been using kojic for more than 2yrs now, it seems not to work on me. But it do helps get rid of my pimples before.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well that's either a psychological effect or your natural complexion really darkened before you started using it, otherwise all papers leas to that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But it's effective to some, the effect just really vary from person to person. We all have different skin type

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, as I've said, it depends on the natural skin tone you were born with

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. I'm a pure filipino that's why I'm dark..haha..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same same, I'm pretty tanned, that's why i kinda gave up on trying those stuff

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha.. i tried many whitening products before. Nothing works, so I also gave up. But I maintained kojic soap for my face to avoid pimples

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well kojic works as an exfoliant so i guess that's why. I just maintained the collagen since I've been trying to lose weight and i like my skin to remain firm despite the weight loss

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm using JHC collagen from Japan, it's not working. maybe it contained Gluten which is not good for me, because I have intolerance with that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You could always check the ingredients for that? Mine is from thailand since the Philippines manufactured ones are a bit too pricey. Probably because we lack the machines for it but it works fine with me at least. Less hair fall and all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have air fall since few years ago. Any shampoo really don't work. So I tried Collagen, but can't find gluten free. I'm not sure with this one from Japan because the label is all in japanese characters

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You could look up the brand and all since some sites translate the contents or offer reviews ;-; I've only be using my collagen for... 2 months so I'm not sure if it's effective but it seems to work for me. You know that froza gluta?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The reviews didn't mention bout that though...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oof there should be translated ones but oh well ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Glutathione is mainly used as antioxidants, making the skin whiter is just the side effect of it since it's cleansing your liver an blood. While collagen is really for bone, hair and skin elasticity.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah it is

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow thank you for this information. I have been using a whitening soap with kojic acid for a year now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Doesn't seem effective, right? But at least it helps with evening out your skin tone somehow. But i think using sunscreen would definitely be the better option to avoid further discoloration

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm. It did not really whitens my skin tone but i love how it made my skin look better. And yes, i always use sunscreen everytime i go out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When I saw the title I just want to read it right away πŸ˜‚ When I was single I used Kojisan because they say its whitening but its not effective for me haha. Now that Im a mother, I am only using silka soap for my body. Its worth reading, I liked it! More of this please

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Well the one in silka is actually mostly papain and a mix of kojic, it doesn't really whiten either but silka is far gentler on skin

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now I dont want to be whiter πŸ˜‚ I just want to cleanse my skin. Can you recommend me a product that is safe to use especially for breastfeeding mom

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I'm not sure on what's good for breastfeeding mommies but I'm sure hypoallergenic soaps are the best options, specially those that have very little fragrance since you get a lot of skin contact with your baby. And babies shouldn't be that exposed to strong fragrances yet, it can still be an irritant. Umm.. i only know ceraphil as a hypoallergenic soap but I'm not advertising here πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is so expensive. I cant afford haha. My baby is using cetaphil baby wash.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

There are the bar soaps? You could cut those in half to make it last longer. Or at least that's what my sister does with her soaps

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The bar soap of cetaphil cost 450 PHP in Watson πŸ˜‚ For me it is expensive hahaha. I will just use safeguard nalang πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Whoah- it costs that much???? I am shookdt- Oof yes, safeguard is enough ;u; it still cleans at least

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Been using kojic soaps for whitening but I can't see drastic change in my skin color. I've been using gluta soaps, too but they dont give good results. This article educated me why such thing happen :) Thank youu

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'd still recommend gluta and collagen though but as supplements, they won't really whiten but at least they'll improve your skin and overall health, specially now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, okay okay. Thank you for suggesting this :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My brother must relate to you on your last statementπŸ˜‚ but actually before, I want to whiten my skin because of the bullies so I thought of using Kojic Acid. But then I became more confident so I didn't cotinue. But thank you so much for this information. I wouldn't have know if itbweren't for this. I guess I can use it now because I really have to even out my skin tone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome ^-^ I'm glad this was of help but do see if your skin won't rash much eith kojic, okay? Because a lot of people get rashes from kojic since it's mode of action is close to exfoliation too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh okay, but if I use kojic soaps, do i need to use facial scrub, still?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not sure, depends on the kind of scrub, really and how strong the kojicyou use is

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay okay thank you for your help!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now I understand the exact purposes of each item on my rejuv set. πŸ˜‚ You're right, sometimes we really buy products based on ads and reviews. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right? Even my sister does that and i swear, the stuff on her shelf keep piling up all because of ads or word of mouth

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am a user of kojic soap and It has a nice effect on my skin.πŸ’— But thanks for the information .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then that means you were naturally pale, it was just hyperpigmentation on your part

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay sir.Thank you for the info and keep continuing to share your knowledge 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm also a girl πŸ˜‚ but will do!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh my god! I'm so sorry Hanzell.I thought you are a boy. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's alright πŸ˜‚ i get that a lot, no worries

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am so glad to know your true gender.πŸ˜… Btw pls subscribe me and I follow back.☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes correct. All have different uses. Thus as a consumer, we should be things, beauty products to be exact to what we need.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely! Your products should always be tailored to your needs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm using kojic soap and there's a little bit effect in my skinπŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh that's good! It doesn't work on me πŸ˜‚ so i just stuck to collagen and gluta since those are still healthy for the body at least

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What kind of collagen and gluta sis? Can you share it?πŸ€—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm using that froza gluta from Thailand? since it's one of the last few gluta supplements i tested before my internship at fda ended so I'm sure it works

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How much is it? And where do you buy it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This last pack, i gt from shopee for... 230? For60 capsules? but the first few packs i has were samples i could have after testing πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Im using MENA soap..cheaper but effective..but,thanks for the info.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not sure what that is πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Papaya soap like kojic..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm prety sure that's not papaya...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks dear for sharing this thanks for the info I always learn from your science post its wat I look out for and the drawings too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's nice to hear ^-^ and makrs me happy too! How about on this edition?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I now know what melanin is cos a friend of mine back in school days answers melanin as a Nick name thanks a lot I know better now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why a nickname? That's unusual

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This would be beneficial to those who is very concerned in taking care of their skin. This would be a big help for them. Very informative. Keep posting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, i thought so too since i made my sier read this first just to make her hush with her beauty product craze

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago