10 Years of Being Law Breaker

33 50
Sponsors of Hanhan.430cas
empty
empty
empty

Any license has an expiry date. Its validity may differ from one agency to another. Like for instance, teacher's license expires for three years before but today its validity increases to five years. That sounds good. Same also with the driver's license. Before, its expiration will last only up to three years. Today, you can have five years or more depending on the status of your license. Since my license as a driver was dormant or delinquent, my application for ten years was disapproved.

Source: Unsplash.com

Speaking of dormant or delinquent license, I am one of them. From 2012 to 2022, that is exactly 10 years when my birthday comes on April 30, I was a law breaker. I was driving anytime and anywhere without license. Thus, making me afraid with fear when I saw some LTO officers on the street to check someone's driver's license. Even only traffic enforcers or policemen, I got alarmed and frightened of them also. I am like a wanted criminal that hides someone who will punish me for violating the rules.

I think and I strongly believe that I am not only the man in this world having a license not for once and not for twice but thrice. Yes! It's true. This is my third time to apply new driver's license. I have lost my two previous driver's license.

In my first job as a development officer, in short loan officer or field collecting officer, I went to many barangays to collect the weekly repayments of my clients' loan and remit the collections to the bank. One time, I got robbed in the field somewhere in the far-flung area. They got my collections and my wallet as well. I kept my first driver's license inside my wallet. I was not able to retrieve my license since the person who did the crime went out of his place after few days of the incidents. But I applied new driver's license again after few months had passed.

Due to the incident happened, I voluntarily resigned my job. That was a traumatic experience that caused me a mental and emotional problem.

A couple of months, I ventured new business that was a partnership type of business in my neighboring town. Sometime on the year 2011, I remembered having placed my wallet inside my pants' pocket while I was entering a comfort room. Unfortunately, upon checking my pants' pocket, I noticed that my wallet including the said driver's license card were already missing as they might have been dropped without me noticing. I exerted all my efforts to search for them but my efforts proved futile as they were nowhere to be found. I lost again my driver's license card for the second time around.

But for the third time of applying my new driver's license, it remarks me an unforgettable experience. For those who have lost their license' card, you need to secure or acquire an affidavit of loss. How I was able to get my third driver's license? These are the requirements of getting a renewal for the driver's license:

  • Affidavit of loss for the lost license

  • Affidavit of Discrepancy (for some corrections)

  • Medical examination

  • Theoretical and Practical Examinations

  • Payments (examination and license)

Inside the LTO office, there are fixers which are not allowed by our government. I was once advised to pay a certain amount then there's no hazzles anymore to get my license. In my conscience, I changed and refused his offer. But his concern, he doesn't want me to be bothered in applying my renewal of license because according to him I am a government employee. I did not even tolerate that unethical and wrongdoings of them. I told him as my excuse, I will try to experience the practical examination. And he agreed with me and he was also happy for me.

While waiting for my turn for the exam, I have watched more tutorial videos on youtube. By the way, I highly recommend to visit Wander J on YouTube channel as recommended also by my friend. Most of the questions on his videos were appeared on the actual examination.

Source: Unsplash.com

Before and after the examination, I have so many realizations. First, I've learned that I was really a law breaker not the license per see but to the rules of the traffic signs and different warning signs found on the street or highway. Second, I never regret to my decision to take the examination seriously without depending some fixers inside the office because I learned so many things as to what to do so that I will not be ignorant of the different signs and symbols that convey its meaning. Lastly, my patience was tested for long time. I got inside the LTO office before 1 pm and my name was called at 4:30 in the afternoon for the practical examination. But fortunately, I passed the exam with a minimum passing score of 48 points out of 60 questions.

Finally I have my DL card again.

Final Thoughts

I thanked God for His goodness all the time. For ten years of being law breaker, He was there to protect me against any harm and accidents. He blessed me wherever I go. I owed Him a lot.

What made me encouraged to apply again a new license? Aside from our plan to have a car within this year, I was guilty when one of my churchmates said that someone who has no driver's license is a violator of the law. It touched me so much for I am a leader in our group when we have our weekly bible/prayer meeting. I was challenged to renew it for it is almost 10 years also. Beyond ten years if not renewed, I'll go back to the start.

Thank you for reading until the last word of this article.

Thank you for my sponsors! I missed your articles but I will try to read it.

11
$ 1.93
$ 1.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Canah-el
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 7
Sponsors of Hanhan.430cas
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Bisag asa man gyod Ng corruption karon. Bisan Gani school naa pod. Unya kanang imong lisensya ampingi na tawn na nga dili mawala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Habay maayo Ikaw na lay gunit sa licensya. Pagtuon na pod og drive Kay magpalit baya tag four wheels karong tuiga. Dili gyod ka nko pa drivon. Cge ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao gyod. Bisag asa Ang corruption bisan sa simbahan. Hehehhehe. Pero ten years gyod kong Wala license cge og drive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't imagine the stress and anxiety you have to deal with back when you don't have license. I'm curious about the person who robbed you. You know the person? I hope a case was filed against the perpetrator.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know who robbed me. But I was sure that he is the wife of my client. They were gone few days after the incident but they left their children to their parents. It was filed but until now it remains unresolved.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah well. Karma comes back around.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I believe it too. Karma is still effective nowadays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, I am very happy that you were able to get your driver's license again. Thank God and congratulations to you, this time take great care of your driver's license so that those previous events don't happen to you again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much my dear for advise, a sort of reminder.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Once is enough, twice is too much, but thrice is very too much. This time, I will do take care of my license.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were not actually a lawbreaker perse. There are people there who were much worse. It's just that you couldn't abide by the law based on one or two inconveniences

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for being considerate. happy Sunday my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you my friend. Lot of drivers with license but they seem without discipline and we're not able to pass the practical examination.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like what the government do because they prolong the years of validity of government IDs. That's a big help to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, indeed I was happy receiving my new license card with five years of validity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I drove without a license for a few years because the age to get a license is 18. As I turned 18, my first job was to apply for a driver's license. In February, I upgraded my license and took exams again to be able to drive a truck. Driving without a license felt like you had committed a crime and had a conscience trial that no one knew about. While it's nice to know that I'm not alone in this area, it's best to do the right thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What country are you? Because here in our country, the age of 16 can apply for driver's license.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true my friend. We seem like a criminal if we don't have license to drive. What we are trying to protect is ourselves when we meet an accident. Not hoping for it of course.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko king ano na na law ang viniolate. Good thing na may nag push sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga kaibigan. Paano na lang kung naabotan lumampas ng ten years. Back to zero talaga. Tas mas mahirap Ang pagkuha kasi kailangan dumaan ng driving school at Mahal naman Ang bayad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though I drive most times without my driving license and I don't have it but my mind always seems to be at rest because officers here rarely stop and check

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi nga parepareho Ang mga enforcers. May strikto, Meron namang Hindi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same also here. But I am afraid of getting accident without license. It's a big problem really.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahw 5 yrs na d i pud license sa prc sir?? Maajo sie ☺️ Ka expiron na raba karong tuiga amo license πŸ˜… Ma expired na laman wa pay item. Haruyyyy πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ma'am. Mao man ila ingon. Ang ahu pod naexpire na last year. Lisod man lage sauna pagrenew tungod sa Covid. Renewhonon na pod tong akoa license.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahw mao pud lge sir. Arang higpita bitaw sauna uie. Baw laman kaha karon basin higpit na pud ni after election ba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dili na cguro ma'am Kay mi kalma na man Ang number of Covid patients.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we obey the appropriate rules, our mind is at peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you my friend. Because when I have again my license, the fear is gone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true my friend. I don't have peace everytime I travel especially when there law enforcers who will check the license.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa husband ko din dormant license na din sa kanya , ang gusto kung gawin niya is huwag ng dumaan sa fixer dahil ang sabi ko marami namang tutorial sa YouTube at napakalaking halaga ang hinihingi ng fixer ngayon hindi pa din na process ang kanyang license.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huwag talaga dadaan sa mga fixers. Malaking Pera Ang hinihingi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madali lang naman ngayon magrenew. Isang Araw lang makarenew kana agad. Gaya sa akin, kahapon lang nakapagrenew na ako. Tas mura lang naman Ang babayaran. 910 pesos Ang nabayaran ko. akalaa ko nga aabot ng 3k dahil ten years ng expire.

$ 0.00
2 years ago