Sometimes the only way forward is go backwards.

12 44
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Sad

I chose this topic carefully to explain how I'm currently feeling. I had to make a decision to step back from the team as the head coach in hopes that a better coach would bring better success.

Oh, if you are getting confused, I am the head coach of my departmental team, or at least I was until yesterday after we suffered an humiliating defeat in a competition. The failure of a team is the coach's responsibility and not the players, the boys played really well but the other side were better. It was not a happy day for me.

[Image Source]

Back in my high school days, I was feared as one of the dangerous defenders the school had to offer, I was given the power to choose my defensive team and groom them to my taste so that they can perform at maximum level, we went a maximum of 9 matches without concerning any goals because of this and now I shall return to play for the team as a defender.

Even better, the new head coach has decided to implement the same tactic that gave me the power to manage the defensive part of the game and I'm really looking forward to whoop those lazy boys back to shape.

The title of the article is both metaphorical and literal in the sense that I'm actually going "back" to play as a defender for the team to succeed.

Now, this might just be a game if football to you but it's more than that, it applies to real life too. I mentioned yesterday how a plan is only as good as it gets until the game begins, remember? There is no amount of practice that could ever prepare us for this game called life, what works for A might not work for B.

There is so much emphasis on individuality and the need to be independent that we forget that living and surviving in this world is not a one man's game, there are other people involved who will carry out specific roles during the course of your life. The goal of every game is to win, same with living. We all want to be successful in our endeavours that we are willing to put in the time, work and effort to see this plan fall through, just like any game, they will be mistakes that would need correcting, plans that would fail and lessons to be learned, but that's just life.

You won't win all the time and that's okay, as long as you don't give up, pick up the pieces and fix them, the road to success involves a lot of consistency.

I'm not sure if this article is just another therapy session after what happened yesterday, but whatever reason it is, the fact that I'm admitting this mistake and willing to work on it is progress to me, I suppose.

We have one more shot at this trophy and I'm determined, we are determined to claim this victory, perhaps we should have done this years back but I don't think it's too late, we need to put up a better fight next time.

It's not all bad news, the girls might just redeem us if they win the trophy, we are counting on them, as I write this article, we are all going to the field to support our ladies, they make us proud each day. I bet it's going to be a really good game, I only feel bad for whichever team they play.

I guess whatever a boy can do, girls can do better.


Speaking of consistency, I've been working on that too after my long break (4 days) of not writing a single article. I wasn't out of topics, just too tired to put them down due to other "engagement", lectures are on a pause for now due to strike, I know I should work on my projects and books while I have this time and I will but I need this week to rest a little.

A little rest never kills anyone - said the boy who has a lot to do with limited time to do it.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
A big thanks goes out to my sponsors 

Lead image Source: Unsplash.com

12
$ 4.86
$ 4.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.02 from @Mictorrani
+ 5
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Sad

Comments

Letting go is great but then we should also learn to be able to bring back somethings from our past because it might be a life saver. Although switching from a coach to a defender is funny and exciting ๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love is a remedy for a broken heart. Sometimes we hurt because of love, so to be able to heal the hate it should be comfort with love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is always all about going back to the drawing board in order to know where the problems are emanating from

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We didn't that and are working on a solution

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your service great

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, if we see that things aren't moving as planned, we should just take a deep breath and relax so our head can calm down before we move again.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Heeey, its been a while. Anyways i was captured by your title and didn't regretted that I've read this. Go get some rest ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.03
2 years ago

College life just got so busy that I barely had any time for myself, I'm back now though, writing is resting for me. It's a good way to relax.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As long as we are alive and hopes still there, failure is just a lesson and way to be better in life. Go take that rest you deserve it my friend๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're right. As long as we are willing to learn and try again, we've not failed.

As the girls are now your hope of getting a trophy, you suddenly believe what a man can do, a woman can do better๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh, hahaha, it wasn't sudden actually, I've always known that. It just feels good watching them prove time and time again that they are better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are so touching and right on point.

That life. Like a Yoruba saying that, one hand cat carry the calabash with load on your head

$ 0.03
2 years ago