Riddles + Cryptography = UFM

27 104
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Riddles

The title is not a typographical error, it's part of a game we will be playing today. I don't want to write about my life experiences today neither do I want to write about love or heartbreaks. This is one of those days when you just write for fun. I don't know what you do for fun, and we can't possibly play green light, red light. I can't even play that game without thinking about the squid game. So, what about "Riddles"?

Riddles can be defined by Cambridge Dictionary as:

a type of question that describes something in a difficult and confusing way and has a clever or funny answer often asked as a game

something that is confusing, or a problem that is difficult to solve

I was just thinking the other day, do you realize how proud stages can be? Yes, we know you are indeed wise, we have come for your wisdom on a particular matter, and instead of giving a solution you only add more riddles. You might think me weird for this but I hate when I'm seeing a movie and the wise or all-knowing guru starts to speak in riddles instead of giving a simple and direct answer.


We can cite a few

The Lion King 3: Timon searches for his Hakuna Matata

Rafiki and Timon

Image Source

Timon, the meerkat, had left his family because they claimed he just didn't fit in, so he decided to find another place where he did. On his journey, he got lost. Just then he found Old Rafiki, the Baboon. Rafiki decided to help him, but did he?

Timon wanted a place where everything was beautiful and perfect and Rafiki knew just the place, but instead of just drawing him a map, his reply was:

"To find it, you must look beyond what you see"

Do you see what I'm saying? Don't worry, I'll leave a reference link so you could see it for yourself. I apologize to those who haven't seen "The Lion King" yet.

Merlin and Kilgharrah, the dragon.

Image Source

The great dragon, Kilgharrah, was known for his wisdom and his never-ending riddle. I thought it was cool but when he keeps adding more confusion, it only gets annoying.

"Arthur is the once and future king"

"There is no right or wrong Merlin, only what is and what isn't"

You saw what he did there? I still can't make any sense of it.


In the past, Riddles and Puzzles served as a means of sending secret information. Sometimes I do wonder how many hours were spent trying to conjure up a Riddle. Some of those riddles remain unsolved till this day, a lot of mysteries that remained unraveled.

Some of these wise sages even went as far as burying their secrets with a lot of riddles to serve as a key. One wrong move and the secrets would be lost forever. They invented different security mechanisms that were considered advanced during their time.

Can We Say Riddles Gave Birth Cryptography?

Cryptography as defined by Wikipedia is about constructing and analyzing protocols that prevent third parties or the public from reading private messages.

I remember back in high school, my friends and I would communicate secretly in class using Cryptography, we would talk about how boring the class was getting, sometimes the teacher would catch us but wouldn't understand the jargon, it didn't work for our Mathematics teacher though. He knew what it was and took the paper home, luckily we didn't write anything implicating so we were saved. Contrary to what we thought, he found it interesting and encouraged us to learn more.

There was one I learned while reading a children's book. Unfortunately, I do not remember the name. I still have a lot of diaries that were encoded using this system, a lot of people have tried to have a look in the diary but still can't make sense of it. I mostly use the PigPen Cipher although I tweaked it a bit by adding a key, without the key, you can't crack it. I won't be sharing it though, I will be showing one that is much easier.

The Atbash Cipher

It was very popular in the 1800s used by the Hebrews in translating text from the Bible. I learned this type of cipher when I read the book "The Da Vinci Code" by Dan Brown, probably one of the most controversial books of all time. I would be amazed if you haven't read it or at least heard of it.

The Atbash Cipher is quite easy which is why I will be using it for this little challenge if you are game. There will be rewards for the first three correct answers to the three questions.

The Atbash Cipher uses a mirror technique that suggests all is not as it seems which is similar to the Caesar cipher. It uses the substitution technique which suggests "A" isn't "A" and "B" isn't "B".

Unlike the Caesar Cipher, the Atbash Cipher has no private keys so it can be deciphered by almost anyone with knowledge of the Atbash Ciphering technique.

Image Source

It's A-Z arranged backward from Z-A.

Example: "Z WLT" can be translated to "A DOG"

Easy isn't it. If you find it fun, congratulations, you are now a nerd.


Now, let us have some fun

I mentioned earlier that today would just be about having fun, don't let the fact that your Bitcoin Cash is dipping a bit bother you too much, it just means more opportunity to earn more before we are back to the bullish market again.

Question:

  • r szev yizmxsvh, yfg ml uifrg, gifmp, li ovzeva, dszg zn r?

  • dsviv wlvh glwzb xlnv yvuliv bvhgviwzb?

  • dszg xzm blf slow rm blfi ovug szmw yfg mlg rm blfi irtsg

Translate only one of the three (unless it had been answered). Write out the English translation as well as the answer. One question to one person, have fun.

References

Timon meets Rafiki

Merlin and the Dragon

The Atbash Cipher

11
$ 6.70
$ 6.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
+ 7
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Riddles

Comments

Nice game bro

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, I came late.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sadly, yes...but don't worry, there will be others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello bro, I guess you've made a very terrible mistake here in that you gave the third question winner's prize to a girl when it was obvious I got the answer to the question before her na. No na that's wrong very very wrong. I guess my effort has been denied me and this is not fair at all I have to say

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oops...my bad..i didn't see that, I apologize

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes I guess he made a mistake there cos I also saw your answer after I posted mine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't see it, it was tagged low score as spam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot I really do appreciate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi friend this one na difficult question but let me try Sha. Answer to question number 2. A. Where does today come before yesterday? B. Answer: since the letter T comes before the letter Y, the today comes before yesterday which in alphabetical order of arrangement according to the dictionary it's so.

$ 0.40
2 years ago

Congratulations, winner number 2...that was really smart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot dear for the prize but I guess you awarded the price that should have gone to @ pheazer to deeepensiverse. Maybe, you go back a day have a critical check on it to understand more about what @pheazer's complains are which is true cos I've seen his comment before that of deeepensiverse thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for pointing it out, it has been addressed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ..yeah ok. Thanks for doing the right thing but I guess that girl was lucky enough to have received a prize that wasn't even made for her but rather for me and the others who did justice to the competition questions within the space of time Meanwhile, I say thank you for my own gift, my children and I will appreciate it a lot good morning

$ 0.00
2 years ago

3) what can you hold in your left hand but not in your right? Answer: your right elbow

$ 0.40
2 years ago

Congratulations, looks like we have our third winner

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yayyy💃💃💃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The answers are these.

  • what can you hold in your left hand but not in your right hand?
  • answer - your right ELBOW.
$ 0.40
2 years ago

It gives me a quite time to solve it but I do have fun and I learn something new.

  1. I have branches but no fruit or trunk, or leavez , what I am?
    • Bank Ps. I think this one "ovzeva" must be "ovzevh" to make it a leaves. Correcte if I am wrong Sir😊
$ 0.05
2 years ago

I saw that but once could use Z for S 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh...yes, nice observation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is tough i must say but thank God i took my time to give it a meaning. Now heres my translation and meaning to the first one viz;

  1. Translation: I Have Branches But No Fruit or Trunk, What Am I?
  2. Answer: Iam A Bank. Hope i got it right?
$ 0.40
2 years ago

Congratulations, winner number 1, you got that right...prize loading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I can't believe you said i've in the midst of a thousand persons that answered the questions correctly. Thanks a lot. I'm eagerly expecting my prize Thanks bro!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really fun 🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have branches, but no friut, trunk or leavez what am I ? A bank I guess 😹

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am seriously confused. This puzzle or riddles is brain 🧠 racking.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

One more question left unanswered

$ 0.00
2 years ago