No hurry, take it easy

21 51
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Race

Greatwolfman gets on his knees to meditate...

Breathe in

"I'm going to take things easy from now on, I'm no longer going to chase things that are out of my control" - I say to myself each time I wake up only to end up repeating the act, I don't think mediations work for me, it's pointless and a waste of time, I resolve.

I might be wrong so let's just take a look at two different schools of thought then you can be the judge to decide which of them you find to be true.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
A big thank you goes out to my 
"sponsors"

The fastest person wins the race

[Image Source]

This school of thought is built upon the fact that life is a race and we have to keep running if we ever hope to succeed.

This feels like a hassle to me if I have to keep running, aren't there breaks after every lap in a race, who makes these rules?

I was raised with this school of thought, a second position prize was often regarded as a loss in my house which meant we always had to push ourselves to work harder contrary to the way we survived pre-school where we were often rewarded as all winners.

I became so competitive that I kept on pushing myself to do things that weren't even necessary at the time which in one way or the other affected my social construct (by the way, it didn't help my chances at making new friends). A part of being so competitive means you are also going to be a sore loser.

High competitiveness and sore losing are like 5 & 6, you can't have one without the other. I got so aggressive when I lost, my anger issues became something else until one day something happened but that's an article for another day.

Why does life feel like a race where the faster people are referred to as winners while the slow ones feel like losers. It feels so unfair. I wish I was raised differently but looking back at it now, I think it all depends on the environment you find yourself in.

Before you make any decision, let's take a look at the other school of thought.

Slow and steady wins the race

[Image Source]

This school of thought is built on the fact that even though life is a race, there is no need to be the fastest one to win. The slow and steady even have a higher probability of winning the race.

"The best things in life often happen when our eyes are closed" - anonymous

This would explain why we close our eyes when we kiss (at least 90% of people in love). The point of this analogy is that we often run so fast that we fail to appreciate the beauties of life.

When I was in high school, there was this girl. I often observed from afar (in a less creepy kind of way), she was my classmate but we weren't close friends (at the time). She always had this "I don't care expression" even when we were late on submissions on different papers.

The funny thing is somehow she always got by and I don't mean just "getting by", I'm talking about the distinction. She redefined what I thought about racing. Just as you've guessed, we eventually became friends. The saying that goes thus - "surround yourself with people that challenge how you think" runs farther than we allow ourselves to think.

Conclusion

Even though we all have a race to run, we are not in a competition with anyone, we all have our races to run and different tracks, some smooth, some rough, and sometimes crooked but it's ours. It's also important to take breaks from time to time to appreciate what you've got because only then will you realize just how lucky you are.


At what point do we say we are too slow or too fast? What are your thoughts on this?

Lately, I feel like I've been on a race and I need to take a break, but how do I know when it's too much or not enough. Every time I try to get some rest the thoughts of the work I have to do just come to my mind and just like that, I'm awake again and working.

I'll end this article with my famous quote from "Peaky Blinders" by the famous Thomas Shelby

"There is no rest for me in this world, perhaps in the next"


[Lead Image Source: Unsplash]

8
$ 3.79
$ 3.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @renren16
$ 0.03 from @Itsfarah
+ 4
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Race

Comments

Everything is negotiable in life. We shouldn't run fast because people are doing same neither should we be like the tortoise who run slowly. What we should understand is that there's no being or doing like another person. Life throws at us differently. Understand who you are and do what works for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so inspiring. I can relate this to my life. There are times that I always compete and compare myself towards other people. And in turns out that I am just giving myself a hard time, thinking that I am already left behind. Seeing them on top makes me feel that I am just useless and can't stand to be on top, same as what the people I looked up. But then, I realized that I should not look at it as a competition, but instead, look at it as a challenge that I need to conquer. I maybe be slow like the turtle, but I will try to keep running steadily, and believe that I will surely win my own race.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

complex interpretation in my opinion. indeed life often makes us depressed in conditions like this, life seems to be constantly forced to recover from stress. these are actually two things related to the problems of life and happiness. Characteristically, people who have a melancholic character will look aggressive when they get a pretty heavy life problem. this may just depend on how we accept it. maybe for me your words are true and be like yourself.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha, thank you my friend, it was truly a complex interpretation, I'm still.thinkmg about it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should run our race with our own pace. Let's stop comepeting with other peoplr but instead, let's start teaming up with them. Life maybe a race, but the most important thing is we will reach the finish line regardless of our place.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's true, teaming up seems like a bright idea but in this selfish world, when push comes to shove, you'll know who your teammates are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Slow and steady wins the race bro. You just hit the nail right on the head now

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A very inspiring one. I really need this, school pressure and also life pressure has too much for my comfort. Life is not about a race we should slowdown and think wisely before we go on this journey.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I didn't add it, we need to think wisely before taking any step and considering our choices.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes we all have our races and that works in our own technique ans having it smooth is great, this reminds me of how pagong wins the race, how the snail win the game, and i just want my life to run like than. Slowly but surely

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't know how I want mine to run but I do know that live is about living and just running through it is not exactly living

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a great motivation tip, this has helped me remember that to succeed we must be well dedicated. And keep pushing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truly there is no rest for me in this world … perhaps in the next… both school of thoughts are true but work in for different situations in life.

If we were to talk about making money and becoming successful or trying to get a limited slot of something the first school of thought would be the best but if one wants to live a happy life and just stay happy then the second school of thought is the best… so yeah .. life is like that

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True but I don't see why we can't have both

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah true sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This life is complicated and that's why we have they saying of "this life is not balanced". There's a common word thsg goes: "don't be faster than your shadow". This is a typical warning on life race, take it easy and don't rush too much so as to avoid stories. I love average and steady though.

Commot the "slow"

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha, average. Well, I get it, I guess that's just life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I agree that slow and steady does win the race... I knew a tortoise story along those lines once... One can't objectively decide when it's too slow or fast... These terms are different for most people...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Our main problem is that when we compare our abilities with others, and try to be like them. Everyone holds different capabilities and attributes, so comparing ourselves with others will only lead us to pessimism. I totally agree with the last quote, there is a no rest in this world.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think the trick to know if it's too much or not enough is to trust your instinct. Giving yourself a break will allow you to clear your head and think better for the challenges and races ahead.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's very true, sometimes taking a break is not such a bad idea to plan your next step or steps. Thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago