An eventful Friday

8 53
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Plans

Where shall I begin? a lot of things happened all at once that I just couldn't keep track of everything. In order for me to explain it to you, I'll divide the story into two parts. The Plan, and the Outcome.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Have you met these amazing people?

The Plan

Yesterday was the final matchday of Infamous "HOD Games" that was held in my school hosted by my department. As I said in my previous article, my boys were out of the competition but our girls were very much in the game, and more importantly, they were in the finals.

To make it more interesting, we also or to the volleyball final, a game I'm very familiar with and knew we could easily claim the Victory. It was indeed a day to claim all of these victories.

This same day, I got a message (a call actually) that I had won a scholarship examination. During the holidays, I registered for a scholarship exam just to kill the boredom, I went for the exams with little hope of the outcome but I ended up winning. I was also going to make use of the opportunity of going back home to pick some little things from home and play with my little dogs. Oh, how much I've missed the two girls.

I had to go back home, a 2-hour journey provided there is no heavy traffic. The competition was set for the evening, 3 pm for Volleyball and 4 pm for the football final. I checked my time, it was 8 am. That was when I made the plan.

The plan was, if I left by 8 am, then by 11 am I would have gotten home, Freshen up and perhaps eat one of mom's dishes. By noon go to the award ceremony and by 12:30 pm I would be off to the garage, by 2:30 pm or 3 pm I should be back in school just in time for the games.

I was going to get the scholarship, see our girls win the football Trophy, and win the volleyball Trophy. It was a good plan but not everything goes according to plan.

The Outcome

Wait, why are you laughing?

As you all know, I don't have a car or a Jet...yet, my best means of transportation is going public. After the hustle and bustle of trying to reach the garage, the last one got filled up so I had to wait for the next one. This process took almost 45 mins, apparently due to fuel scarcity, the cost of transportation has risen so not many people are willing to travel these days.

The journey started, and there was less traffic which was a good sign but just midway into the journey, the vehicle broke down. I was already behind schedule and now this? It took a while but it got fixed and finally, I got home. Everyone was happy to see me, especially my dogs, it was a good feeling but I couldn't stay long.

I was able to taste one of mom's dishes (Thank God). I hurried to the ceremony, I was given a check, I had no idea people still did that when they could just send it to my BCH wallet and save me the trouble of going to the bank just to redeem it, and I went to the wrong bank resulting in more loss of time.

I don't know what it is with banks, they have a way of making a 5 minutes process drag on for hours. All she had to do was to confirm the check but she kept saying "please give me two minutes" but she ended up stealing another 45 minutes from my time. This was not an exaggeration, I timed it.

At last, I was done, so I headed to the garage, this time it got filled up just in time but I knew I was going to be late. No amount of miracle would have teleported me to school at that instant, I told a friend to get in for me but was disappointed, thank God @HappyBoy was there to help cover the shame. We didn't win but I heard it was a good game.

The bus, once again, broke down and it took longer to fix. I was already tired and frustrated at this point I just wanted to get to school as soon as possible. In my mind, I kept on wishing for the invention of a transportation device but it didn't come through.

I'm afraid not much of it can be said about the girl's match because they were unfairly treated. I suspect the referee was bribed to make the referee give them an advantage (By "them", I'm referring to the final year students we were playing against. A lot of fouls in our favor were ignored and the only lone girl was a foul kick, a wrong corner kick and it was allowed. Where is the fairness in there?

I got to school late though, what started as a good plan just ended up differently. The girls may not have won the final but they are winners, to me, they won, no team played better than we did. The joy in their eyes when they were given their medals was fulfilling. In the end, it was a great day. We even won the 4 by 1 relay race (yes, the girls again). They are just awesome people.


I couldn't write yesterday because I suffer from motion sickness so I had to get a good night's rest to recover, which I did. It's Saturday, I have to do some washing today, and also try and cover-up on some of the things I need to do. Later friends.

Lead Image Source: My Phone Images

9
$ 2.06
$ 1.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 7
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Plans

Comments

I'm just reading this🤦‍♂️... I'm proud of the lady's performance. Congratulations brother, i was wondering why you didn't appear for the volleyball match.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats to the team! Win or loss, they were, they showed up, they played.

Sounds like a series of unfortunate events but it all ended up okay, although some not favorable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations to your scholarship dear woah the uniform looks great and cool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As you've said that they're winners even though they lost the finals. Sometimes things do not go as we plan and that's Life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrulations for getting that scholarship. Your girls looks so confident by the way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw those picture's on @Happyboy's status the other day.. about three days ago or something. Including a video yesterday where one lady was dribbling everyone like say na she bring them come field... Lol!

Looks like those babes are trying..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to know that. Anyway, I like the uniform of all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations great wolf on your scholarship. The ladies are sure playing very well cos happyboy posts their games on his status update I was able to see it, they sure are good. It's sad they were ousted in the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago