Adulthood - Scary isn't it?

13 46
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Adulthood

I must have written on this topic a couple of times in the past, most recently on my birthday, I expressed my thoughts on how I felt to be getting older. I'm sure that I am not the only way who feels this way, we can all agree that adulthood isn't always a smooth ride, in fact, it never is but somehow we find a way to just keep on going.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out these amazing people 

The little adult

Contrary to what most people think, adulthood is not defined by age but by experiences. The World out there can be so brutal, parts of this reality are portrayed in movies but the reality is far worse.

Tell that little boy who has to wake up as early as 4 am to go in search of food to feed his little sister and weary mother. Tell that little girl that she's not an adult when she has to ensure that her family lives through another day. These people wake up each day not knowing how it would go or if they would survive it and somehow they do.

The hope that tomorrow is going to get better is what drives them on. Even in their little, they are willing to share because they know how hard it can be when you lack these things, and when they smile, you just know It's genuine. An attribute you won't find in a lot of people.

Responsibilities

I often wonder how my parents did it raising their stubborn children. That idea that little creatures are going to constantly depend on you for as long as you live (even when they are supposed to be independent) is scary. I sometimes imagine what it would look like if I don't take my education seriously or do something very profitable with my life to ensure they have all that they need.

Sometimes, I think I torment myself when I consider the thought of having kids one day, and they wake up one morning with nothing to eat just because I was not "responsible" enough. It's frightening, you have to admit it is.

A plan is only perfect until the game begins

I've seen this happen over and over again but doesn't mean the goal isn't achievable, it just means there is no singular way (or according to how Frederick Taylor would put it in his Scientific Management Theory - "one way") to achieve the task.

This example is more practical when dealing with building construction, just before the construction process begins, the plan is always perfect especially when calculating the project duration but as soon as the project commences a lot of factors begin to come into play and as the work goes on, things start to deviate from the initial plan and you have to adapt to these situations as well as finding solutions for them.

This same analogy is seen in our lives too, and yes I know it can be frustrating but that's just life, adulthood has to do with how well we are able to adapt to certain situations and find solutions because the truth is that there is not going to be an end to these problems and you will constantly see yourself trying to stop one of them.

What to do?

[Image Source]

There is a popular analogy I usually employ when faced with such difficulties. Think of this life as a river and the challenges that come with it, the waves. When caught in a sea of waves, it is foolish of you to try and oppose these great forces, instead, you try and adjust to these waves and flow with it, eventually, it will take you to shore.

Please don't mistake " flowing with the waves" for "being complacent and doing nothing", the analogy simply explains that instead of trying to fight against the problem, accept it instead and find solutions to it. Trying to fight the inevitable is only going to make it worse.

It is important that you start now (if you have not), the time continuously move forward unless you have a time machine that enables you to go back in time (even time traveling has its problems and complications). Don't waste any more time, keep planning, keep working, and more importantly keep praying. Do your best, fight your battle...Success will be yours.


8
$ 9.62
$ 9.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.02 from @McYusuf
+ 1
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Adulthood

Comments

i must say, its a zigzag adulthood because of ups and downs. but keep going

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adulthood fills us with responsibilities and that is why many want to run away from it, it is better to accept it and live it to the fullest. Be happy every day with what you have and what surrounds you. Adulthood is beautiful.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for this advice, I'll take it to heart, I'll learn to appreciate what I have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reaching to the point of adulthood especially when my dad told me of its challenges and the responsibilities i will be shouldering, then i quickly felt like i should never attain such age but it has now come and i cannot help but accept itπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly, we have no choice but to do that, sighs, we will be alright

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adulting is difficult yet it's worth it and so great to being adult even there's a lot of responsibilities ahead. Even most of us are scared of what's waiting for us in adulting stage we still wanted it because that is what life is.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't think I want it but time is not going to pause for my sake so I'm doing all I can to ensure I'm ready for anything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adulthood comes with lots of responsibilities which are not funny.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The fact that one small human would depend on me one day is frightening yeah looking at the way I'm not close to being independent

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I guess that is why we need to do the work now so that they wouldn't have to suffer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously. Adulthood is scary. Which is one reason I still find it difficult to barge into a relationship with someone. The responsibility and every othe thing.

Our parent really tried.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They really did. I can't imagine how it must have been for them each day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's our right to keep supporting them in prayers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago