A little love and appreciation

5 41
Avatar for Greatwolfman
1 year ago
Topics: Lesson

Last night, as I was going through some articles, I stumbled upon one written by @Jumper-01 - Reality Check- and a quote got to me. We all know this to be true but somehow we don't do anything about it. We know we have to appreciate what we have now but somehow we don't until you lose it.

On my way to work this morning, I needed to make a withdrawal so I went to a POS stand, the man who attended to me had only one hand, the other must have been amputated for one reason or the other yet he didn't let that disturb him as he continues forging ahead, my hands are complete but I didn't realize how important it was until I saw someone without one.

We need to start showing appreciation, however little for all of these blessings that we have.

Show a little appreciation for your body

This is a lesson that keeps escaping once I feel better. The last time I was not feeling too well, I remember laying on my bed just wishing I had enough strength to get up and get a cup of water or at least get-up. I saw my brother and sister moving about and I got jealous, I can recall I made a silent wish that I needed to get better so I can continue my semi-active life again.

I had put too much stress on my body and it took its toll. When I first saw the signs, I should have started treatment but I kept on postponing it until it became too much for my body to handle and it knocked me down. I kept on beating myself up mentally -"if only I had just taken my treatment medications early"

What would you do if a part of your body stops functioning the way it's supposed to because of an action you could have avoided if only you had given a little care to your body? Exactly, Don't wait for it to get to that level.

Love your neighbor

If you interpreted this wrongly, may God heal your mind and body. I once lived in a neighborhood where everyone in there is fighting with the other, as the new resident I was forced to choose sides, a box I didn't want to be found in, why partake in someone else's feud when it didn't affect me.

It got so bad that one night, one of the neighbors got robbed (by the way, only her apartment) and no one came out to help or at least alert security(if they weren't in on it too), fortunately for me, I wasn't around because I went to school to study for an exam overnight.

When I heard the story, I suspected it was a direct hit since nothing happened to the other residents, about a week later a similar occurrence happened, this time the other resident was the only one affected. In a neighborhood where there is no love but malice, of course, I had to move out.

Love is essential to co-exist with other people, it's also healthy, when there is love, there is cooperation and peace Imagine if they had lived in love and peace

Give a little back

I was browsing through YouTube yesterday and I saw a video by Shaq where he said every time he goes to the mall, he must buy something for a random person there as a way of giving back.

Nothing puts a smile on one's face like an unexpected gift, I'm sure we can all agree on that, if rusty visits you right now with about $1000, wouldn't you jump for joy and even remain happy for the rest of the month?

You don't have to make millions to be able to do this, even if it's just paying for someone's cab to a particular place or helping out with a task, it's all part of giving back, but you have to do this from the bottom of your heart, of your own volition, not because you read it in my article.


Every act of love and appreciation is like sowing seeds, seeds grow and bear fruits hence multiplying. Plant a good seed today, one smile on a face at a time. This is all we need to make the world a better place to thrive and grow.

Image Source: Unsplash free images

14
$ 4.00
$ 3.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 7
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
1 year ago
Topics: Lesson

Comments

I've also learnt to appreciate myself no matter what because alot of things are happening and it is so sad seeing people who are far worse than you. I'm so glad all parts of my body are complete. I'm new here and its nice meeting you, I will like us to connect together.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can always be appreciative in simple ways not just to others but to ourselves as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I began to learn to appreciate my body after a friend lost her life during a plastic surgery. It was a sad occurrence and till today, I am appreciative and content with myself no matter the criticisms

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The human race has never been so discontented as it is in this generation. People are no longer grateful for the gifts we don't talk about. You who don't the shape of your ear, there's someone out there who has no ear at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We need to show a little bit of more Gratitude to God for all we have now even things that we take little like our health is the most important thing we need to be grateful for

$ 0.00
1 year ago