Reality Check

Avatar for Jumper-01
1 year ago

26 April 2022

Have you ever read a book or watched a movie and just be like “oh I might be that guy” or “oh this is like my life right now”. I remember when we were teenagers and we would look at people in their early twenties and be like “ oh God they are so old” now look at us. It’s like are we becoming those people we use to make fun of not in a bad way though and Don’t get me wrong I love being an adult it’s like the older I grow the more I learn and the clearer things about this world are becoming to me even though adulthood is a scam and it sucks so much it’s all good and I count have wished for worse besides it’s not like I have options.

I am just saying like for people like me in their early twenties please be careful, don’t question your life progress too much you might end up being depressed and It is real. I saw a post on Twitter from a mum who wrote;

“My son just blew his head off with a short gun I am numb”.

He was probably depressed and probably thinking about stuff he wasn’t meant to think about. Like it’s okay to worry about your progress and future but not to the point where you start judging yourself and questioning your existence. Let me give you a rundown of wht I am writing about this today ..

So after having brunch( cos I ate breakfast a little too late today) I did some house chores.. read a little and decided to watch some movies on my laptop. I stumble on a old series I was watching before now titled “single by 30” which is basically about a boy and a girl who were best friends in college and made a promise to get married to each other if they were still single by 30. It is like a back-up relationship( I think I wrote about this already on here or maybe I haven’t? Well that’s a story for another day).

Anyways, the boy said something in the first episode in the show in the part that was like a throwback of both of them like 12 years back in college. He said he doesn’t want to be single by 30 and that 30 is such an old age to be single. Which is something I am sure 90% of us thought to ourselves when we were teenagers. Fast forward to the present day he was still single and it was his 30th birthday but like I said I am not telling you about the show you can look it up yourself it is very interesting.

My point is he never really thought life could be so swift or have other paths or plans laid out for him when he was younger.

Take me for example and it’s not like I am sad about it or anything like that because I love being single and like I have said quite a number of times on here I am waiting till I find “the one”but I always told myself that before I even clock 21 I should already been dating a girl for like a year and preparing to marry in the next 2 years or so but look at me now, I am single and It doesn’t bother me that much because let’s face it today’s relationship can be a drag but not everyone is like me especially the ladies my age.

And this is not just about relationships and love or marriage but even with career paths, family, friends and dreams. Life gives us a new path everyday it is not what we want most of the times but what can we do; perhaps we could make things different, after all they say we are in control of our destiny but if not why not try to make the best of what you already have today.

There is a saying “the past is history, tomorrow is a mystery but today ? Today is a gift so cherish it”and sure reality would hit every now and then but we just have to hit the ground and keep running I guess.

The truth is nobody has all the answers and if anyone says different it’s bs, it’s all about figuring it out as you go and yep it’s a complicated one to figure out but hey that’s just how it is.

Let me end this article with this. I saw a pretty amazing video of a man at a bar who asked the bartender for an advice after a short conversation with him the bartender finally says this to the man “you are so worried about where you want to be that you forget to enjoy where you currently are”

I don’t know about you but it seem like a pretty good advice. Thanks for reading 📖 ✍️.

stay safe

©2022

Jumper.

19
$ 3.08
$ 2.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Talecharm
+ 11
Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jumper-01
1 year ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

This is a critical topic and really for me I have literally nothing planned right now and I just live my life to enjoy what it is now and further wise.. a lot of dreams and if the pattern don’t co-exist within that dream it feels as though we have missed everything. That girl you are giving eye in class could just be your Queen 🙂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not eyeing any girl oh make all of them rest i need to make money first I be igbo oh 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of teenagers wants to be adults, but as a younger adult I am not enjoying it haha . I don't even feel progress in life just yet. But still, I am trying to develop a carefree attitude, just to not get pressured in life haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah that’s the survival mechanism but in truth it is really hard to do .. being carefree especially about career

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of youths are pressured to make it early in life and that's because yahoo boys have raised the scale. These days you will see 17 years old boys living large and driving cars around, anybody not have a strong willpower will be easily depressed by that and think they have failed in life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah it’s like we are our own problem Everbody is so power driven that they want to oppress their neighbors at the slightest opportunity they get

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The future comes soon enough before we even realise it. We don't know how things are until we experience them ourselves and then we know, las las God's time is the best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes oh layla always and always

$ 0.00
1 year ago

“you are so worried about where you want to be that you forget to enjoy where you currently are”

This quote really got me my friend. Like, I just realized that I am really doing exactly like this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same as me I saw that video and thoughts “huh” this really be me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love that saying, yes our tomorrow is mystery we can't determine what will happen in the next phase of our life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah so it’s best to just face it with a positive mindset

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are just in early tweenties Levi, still young for me, lol! I got married when I was almost 30😂. You are right when you said that before we look those in their 20's old already. Haha how things change.. now 20's are still young for me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ikr 😂😂😂 but hey at least you have a partner that you love and loves you back you life turned out great 👍 ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha I never I would have him 😀..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reality Check is always necessary to save oneself from the world of imaginations. As children, we all had dreams of becoming this and that, but here we are, reality has dawned on us. Everything doesn't seem to be working like we all thought. We just hope things gets better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah my brother .. the main thing is to just reflect on life every now and then and move on keep fighting the good fight of survival

$ 0.00
1 year ago

House chores 👀👀... I'm sure you only arranged your bed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nah on the contrary I actually did a lot even cleansed my sisters store

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The last quote got to me, really deep. We often fail to appreciate what we have until we lose it. It's sad but it's also true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Real talk bro

$ 0.00
1 year ago