8 years in a Brainless Job

4 71
Avatar for Glez
Written by
2 years ago

Today serves as my 8th year of working in the BPO Industry. Yes 8 long years of working which taught me a lot.

I can still clearly remember how I started from being the outlier of my team. Imagine out of 20 I always score either the lowest or part of the bottom. I had to work my way up not to mention the pressure of being a breadwinner. I was then advised by my TL that I will be given a chance to work with my stats and if I still fail then end contract which means I have to go back to square one. Find a new job be interviewed get requirements.

I always cry myself out because of fear, pressure and a lot of what ifs. There are times when I would feel like my whole body is shaking just when facing the entrance of the production floor. I am always overthinking and I got this fear of losing my job because I know no one can support my family if ever I would be idle for days looking for a new one.

So I pray and pray. I asked God that if I am not for this industry to just give my hearts desire but then a miracle happened. I was able to get an almost perfect score in my performance and when calculated I hit the average score to get regularized! So that was my hearts desire, to remain in the industry and God answered my prayer. I decided to stay in the company and experienced being left by my first teammates. It impacted my performance but then I have to get going and I know they have to also find what is for them. Out of 20 I am the only one left.

One thing that you might want to know when working in this industry is to always be open of meeting new people and talking to strangers. There's this what we call "reshuffling" where you will be assigned to a different TL and team. You previous teammates will also be distributed to different teams. I was aloof before. I got no confidence plus I do not have much friends especially that I cannot ride on their trips because I have to go home right after shift and work with stretching every penny left so it would reach til the next payday.

Second thing is you have to be flexible with everything especially with schedule. Since this is an industry that is active 24 by 7 plus the customers schedule is way opposite to ours then we have to adjust. Expect a night shift schedule, not fix and worse split rest days. You got to work with your performance in order to bid the best schedule. As for me, I always get the schedule I wanted which was 4am to 1pm shift. I do not care much of the rest days as to when as long as its not split. I always do my best and listen to tenured taking calls so I could gain more knowledge so as strategies.

I was happy taking calls and meeting new friends. As time goes by I got used to the usual schedule until I got transferred to a different LOB ( Line of Business). From then on, I was encouraged to move up and so I did try without thinking if I would get the available position, at least I tried, also to avoid what ifs.

I was able to get the position though and is currently on the same department for the last 3 years if I am not mistaken.

At times I think of quitting but then I ask myself where will I go? How will I adjust?

You see, I became a mom and still a breadwinner. I have to make wise decisions to make sure that it won't affect my children. I also feel tired because this industry is not healthy. I wanted to stay fit for my kids so I am working now and researching how can I go about being healthy without compromising my job, my finances.

I love my job is an understatement. This company has a great impact and sentimental value to me as the first company who accepted me after I graduated from College.

I always put my heart into it. Though I feel a little dissatisfied with my performance for these past months. I have been trying to think of ways to improve and work on my way to get an award or be appreciated, I am competitive but only with myself. It is just hard because my performance is something I cannot control, I often pray to God to guide me always so I could also continue to share my knowledge and get a good performance.

Who would have thought,that from being the teams outlier I have reached this point?

Surely not me.

So I would like to thank all the people who was part of my 8 years in this industry. THANK YOU SO MUCH for being part of my journey. Thank you for those who believes in me and motivated me to continue hustling.

We can never tell what will happen in the future but I am so much grateful to everything that I have learned working in BPO.

Working on the what they call a BRAINLESS JOB is never easy. But mind you, this brainless job molded me to become the best version of myself.


...end thoughts...

Cheers πŸ₯‚ self to 8 years and counting ! To more years yeah?


7
$ 8.52
$ 8.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Expressionless
+ 3
Sponsors of Glez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glez
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Congrats sa journey mo sis and goodluck. . just keep on praying whenever you felt fears.. God is with you always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes keep on praying sis mas magiging better ka with God

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't believe in that saying, as an agent, you are always on multitasking. You always need to apply logic to everything that you do, common sense, plus dealing with different people, to make it worst not even the same nationality as we are. Being an agent is a noble job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hndi yan brainless.. Mkadugo ng utak ng eh pati ilong ,🀣..

$ 0.00
2 years ago