Visit To A Dentist

27 53
Avatar for Giddyboy
1 year ago
Topics: Randomly topics

Last week, I went to the dentist to get my teeth checked and make sure they have healthy gums. Fortunately, none of my teeth had a cavity in it but I had complained earlier that my teeth is becoming sensitive. So, my dentist thought it would be best if a general scaling and polishing procedure was done on my teeth. When I made the appointment, I wanted to make sure that other parts of my teeth were ok and that there were no other cavities forming or anything like that. If I had continued to wait, then I could have gotten more cavities in the future or even ended up losing teeth. I paid extra for some procedures that weren’t needed, leaving no stone unturned. 

I was really relieved that I had no broken or bad tooth. The process of getting a tooth pulled is pretty simple once you've been numbed up with some Novocain. If one of your teeth has a cavity, you won't normally feel much pain from pulling it. However, you could end up paying more than $500 to get one tooth removed whilst undergoing the other procedures. Sometimes your dentist may even suggest pulling multiple teeth at once to save you time in between appointments. I don't mind visiting the dentist as long as they don't find any more cavities in my mouth. It's not the most comfortable experience, but you have to admit that the end result is worth it once you end up with a clean mouth.

When it was time for the dentist to look at my teeth, she asked me what I wanted to achieve in life. I told her that I want a perfect smile. She said: "I can make your teeth look beautiful. But if you want a beautiful smile, you need to do it yourself."
So I went to the mirror, looked into my eyes and said: "I hate you".
"Why?" Said the mirror.
"Because you hate everyone else too" I replied.
"Don't hate me" said the mirror. "Love yourself and I will love you too. Take care of yourself and I will take care of you."

I replied: "I'll try".

The mirror replied: "You should not just try. You should succeed."

That's when the dentist made me realize that if we take care of ourselves first, everything will fall into place and we won't have to worry about other people so much. The dentist taught me that if we stop hating ourselves, it will be easier for us to like others as well. I realized that how we feel about ourselves is how other people will feel about us as well. We must like ourselves before others can like us. So if anyone wants a beautiful smile, they need to stop hating themselves first and treat themselves kindly and with love. lol. I don’t think that conversation happened. Hihi. 

All my adult life, I had never had a cavity."

"What did you use to brush your teeth?"

"Toothpaste."

"Any brand?"

"No, it's a generic brand."

"You mean, 'store-brand'?"

"Yeah, just cheap toothpaste."

"Well, I need you to start brushing your teeth with a good brand of toothpaste. What about flossing? You do that, too?"

"Nope."

"What? So, you never floss your teeth? That's how plaque builds up."
"No, I never flossed. Now that you mention it, I don't even own a flossing device.

While I was at the dentist getting my teeth checked. As it was my first visit, the dentist did a general check up. I noticed that she was feeling around my gums and said, "Do your gums bleed whenever you brush your teeth?"

I quickly asked, "Is it a cavity?"

She replied with a smile, "No, it is just swollen, I am glad you came for a checkup."
Then I asked the dentist, "What can be done??"
She gave me an uneasy look and told me to change my toothpaste. Then I remembered I have been using my family’s toothpaste since I got back. 

I was then prepped for the procedure. To my surprise, the scaling and polishing was done in less than 30 minutes. I still feel pain from the procedure, but generally, my teeth feels like new. 

Cue

When you’re working with a smile that gets you compliments, you get pretty attached to it. So imagine if you go to the dentist and they tell you that your pearly whites are swollen. If you’re like me, you might even feel a little itchy for a minute or two.

Denture cream works wonders on regular swollen, sore lips and mouths - but did you know it also works for gum swelling? It’s an old-school remedy for a simple scenario - swelling in the gums that accompanies getting your teeth cleaned.

The soothing, greasy texture of the cream seeps into the gums and softens any inflammation that’s going on. While most people are familiar with using it on lips, you can use this cream on your gums at home - without dentists and without going to the drug store.



22
$ 5.17
$ 4.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 14
Sponsors of Giddyboy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Giddyboy
1 year ago
Topics: Randomly topics

Comments

It is nice when we have a beautiful smile and we need to take care of ourselves and love ourselves so that there is a reason to laugh. I'm going to the dentist today because I have a toothache. When we start to have a toothache, it is usually too late 😊, but I hope for a successful repair. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In our body teeth is one of best important part.Luckily your teeth is good. Before I had lot of problems in my teeth but Alhamdulillah now none.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't visited my dentist in a long time since she moved. I have to find exactly where her clinic is now so I can go there or I might have to change dentist.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

"The dentist taught me that if we stop hating ourselves, it will be easier for us to like others as well."

You think I hate myself that's why I can't like others? 😅.. I want to see that dentist too to have some chitchat lol

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehe. I don’t think you hate yourself. You look very likable, so you must love yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂 Maybe you need to see more than a dentist Jane

$ 0.02
1 year ago

My dear friend, you are very lucky that your teeth don't have many problems, my teeth are very bad, and despite a lot of care, I have to see a dentist every 6 months. You said very nicely that no one will love us unless we love ourselves.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sorry to hear that. Why do you have to visit every six months?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, I never knew mirrors usually talk. Lol, you're right, giddy. We need to like ourselves first before others can actually like us. It'll really be easier for others to like us once we like ourselves.

And I really did believe the first story wasn't fictional.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I kinda don’t really understand what you mean by “first story”

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First story, maybe not the first, but I'm referring to your visit to the dentist and the dentist actually telling you to take care of yourself and by so doing; not having to worry about other people.

You said, the conversation never happened and that you've actually never had a cavity.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh. I see.

From the third paragraph to where I said the conversation never happened is fiction.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow, so you never experienced toothache? Oh I was always crying because of that when I was a kid.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I have always had healthy teeth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will need to get the dental cream too. I cut the side of my mouth when brushing and it hurts for weeks. I thought i had a problem.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

No you don’t.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So you were talking to the mirror your yourself? Lol 😂 thank GOD all went well. Perfect smile makes guy look more handsome and I think that’s what you’re aiming.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I think I am more concerned about comfort that being handsome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will have to visit a dentist soon with what I have read, I haven't visited anyone before. I want whiter teeth, better than the ones I have now 😅

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, you should.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

this article reminds me of my missed dental appointment, hopefully I can visit next month. My dentist won't be glad seeing me after a few months late for my scheduled quarterly visit.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Geez. That’s a lot of missed days. Your dentist sure will have one or two things to say.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow I didn't knew tooths are also flossed, my teeths are okay a bit uneven that kills my perfect smile lol. Will have to visit a dentist to align my teeths or I wouldn't get the facial perfect smile.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You might need to get braces to perfectly align your teeth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you are very satisfied. I haven't been into a dentist and I guess it's because I do not eat chocolates when I was a kid before, well I don't know.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I think it’s still best to go for check ups once in a while.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right, you really need to have your teeth checked by a dentist.

$ 0.02
1 year ago