Lady Deborah's murder

5 20
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

This i believe is a world of freedom and because we humans know the value of doing what we want and how we want it, we created a law that guides us. Every nation has its law that guides them, and so is our workplace and offices, our school and our churches, even our family have their rules and regulations. We can be free to do what we want while observing the rules that guide us. This is life, sometimes we break this rules and regulations and get punished for it by the already established law that guides the level of offence we might have committed. In all this punishment, no life is worth taking as punishment, this is because life is sacred, anyone can misbehave at anytime, we are humans and we can make mistakes. Nobody is above mistake and every living humans can recall that they have made mistakes and broken one or two rules in their past.

This is a heartbreaking story of Deborah,a student who was lynched, gruesomely murdered and burnt in her school, here in Nigeria.

Few days ago, the news broke the internet with so many headlines that a Christian student was killed by Muslims for blasphemy against prophet Muhammed. When I first saw the headlines, I tried to ignore it but the news kept troubling the internet. So many of us on this platform might have heard of that trend.

I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the video of how this young lady was beaten, stoned to death and was burnt right in her school. There was not even a school security who came to her rescue or even if they couldn't handle the situation, called the police for help. That was how someone's daughter who left home to school never came back again. This is really inhumane.

How did it happen?

According to the news, the deceased lady confronted her classmates posting about religion on their WhatsApp group, she told them to stop posting religious contents on the WhatsApp group that the group was meant to be for students information, for test and assignment updates, not for religious matters. That was how she was accused of blasphemy for allegedly insulting Prophet Muhammad.

She happened to be a Christian and it seems there were more of Moslims in her school. This happened in the northern Nigeria where majority of Northerners are Moslems.

After the ugly incident, some of her killers were seen on the screen claiming they killed her and burnt her body. They said she deserved to die for blasphemy against prophet Muhammad.

Dear readers, right now in Nigeria, every other religion is against her killing while some Muslims are publicly supporting the death of lady Deborah. This leads me to wondering how some people can be heartless to their fellow human being. This is also my first time of hearing people being stoned to death by Moslims in my country. Not just that she was stoned, they went ahead to burn her body, I couldn't believe what I saw on the screen. . Right now she has been buried and is resting in her bossom and the news has it that two of her murderers has been arrested and are in police custody.

I just hope that justice will be done soon her family be well compensated for their loss. The school were this crime was committed has been closed indefinitely and all students has been ordered to vacate the campus.

The ugly scene

I am personally not against any religion but I am fully against killing people all because of some religious beliefs. From my view of what happened, she was exercising her rights to speak.

There are many other ways to correct people even when they are faulty, not by killing them, no! killing is wrong no matter what. I use to think that this was a believe in the olden days but so surprised it happened now. What is bad is bad and should be stopped. I don't think this is how Muslims takes law to their hands. I have Muslim friends and they are good people. We associate together and live well, but for this to happen, it totally outrageous. For a religion to do this to it's own fellow human is inhumane. An instrument of peace should be used for peace building not causing disaster.

What bothers me most is that this incident occured in a school, where peace is taught and a place where people are educated. What is wrong can't be right, we must have to show love regardless of our religious differences.

Late Deborah Samuel

Thanks for reading and have a lovely Sunday

Copyright Šī¸ Gianna-B, 2022 and all rights reserved

Image credit: all images uploaded from by me.(Pictures from Deborah's murder)

4
$ 0.75
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ezelazra3
$ 0.02 from @Oikawa
+ 1
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

On hearing the news, it shivers down my body. I asked why have people taken it as a responsibility to kill for a prophet. And doing so in the cruelest manner. It is just so bad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes this is one of the trending cases and in Nigeria right now. I actually feel very bad for the girl because there is no way you can fight for God. If God is angry, let him fight for himself. Also, a good Muslim doesn't kill. I'm sure God is not happy with those that killed her and I hope she finds peace afterlife

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for your wonderful comments dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I came across this particular story on the internet, and i felt so pity for the girl, my mine got broken into tears, and then I realize that there is no love among the youth of nowadays again because if there is love, I wouldn't see any reason a fellow student will kill a fellow just because of religion. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can't still imagine that happening in the name of religion

$ 0.00
1 year ago