Flooding at Lagos Nigeria

12 23
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

"Mmili enwe-ilo" An African (Ibo) proverb which means that "Water has no enemy" Water is like a gift from nature, loved and used by every living things. It as well occupies larger surface of the earth and contains lives.

People who live close to water bodies enjoy the good things from water but sometimes yearly, they have to migrate to another place for shelter.

"I was surfing the internet when I saw a headline if flood in Lagos Nigeria. It caught my attention as the picture in display was showing how a car was almost covered in water and by the sides were houses flooded by water with dirt's everywhere.

I quickly checked into the headlines and I saw so many pictures and videos of this insane flood. It was a horrible sight, a sight to see but will not want to see again. One if the pictures was showing a woman trying to get home, another woman with her little child tied to her back and the rest.

Photo credit: google.com

The water table seems to be rising as time goes on and I keep wandering what river or ocean the flood was coming from. I had thought earlier that it was caused by rainfall. Flood is really an ugly experience. Business owners and marketers were all scattered by this incidence. People were seen gathered in one tiny space just to protect themselves from that mare. There was absolutely no vehicle movement. Some pictures displays some cars being carried away by the flood and I was asking myself what of the driver was inside. Not just that driver but maybe other passengers? It wasn't really a fun moment and I pray they record less loses."

Photo credit: google.com

People will always continue to live in river sides, we only have to be mindful enough to know when the river over floods. Technology has made it easier for us to find out when a flood is coming from a water body. I guess maybe the case of Lagos flood took the whole city by surprise, no one knew it was coming to get prepared for it.

What happens to the environment during flood is always difficult to forget. It hits everything, everyone g on its way and can even fall building that stands on its way. Some years ago in my city before the widely construction of water ways, there is this annual record of death caused by flood in one particular place in town. Annually during heavy rainfall, someone must be drawn. This continued for some years and got people thinking there was a spiritual attachment to that. It has caused the death of both men and women, child and adult. The last time it happened, it took a student as a victim. That was when the government remembered this particular area and decided to work on it.Right now, the water way is well built and the road is wide enough and safe for everyone during rainfall.

Flooding is really a natural disaster that hits badly. It destroys properties and farms and causes environment pollution. This last one that happened in Lagos Nigeria, sources say that two person are reportedly missing. This is the worst part of the disaster.

The authority who are in charge of this situation should do something now and safe the future loss. I believe something can be done to stop or control it. My heart goes to all the victims of this flood.

"Mmili enwe-ilo" water has no enemy, in the same way, we are not enemy of water. I speak to the lakes, lagoons, rivers, stream and oceans. We are not enemies and we won't even be. We need you and you need us to protect you. Our people are suffering because of you now, we did nothing to deserve it. Why would you leave your boundaries and encroach disastrously to ours. We have called upon you anytime we need you and we have been there for you too. Bear our humble cry, our tears is mixed with you. We send our messages in tears and we know you got them. More land we would give you but spare us from this suffering. We have life and you have life too, let us live in peace as we were made in our destination. Hear me now, my voice oh god of water!

Thanks for reading and have a beautiful day.

Copyright Šī¸ Gianna-B, 2022 and all rights reserved

Lead image credit: from unsplash.com

Picture taken by me

7
$ 0.04
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.01 from @BCH_LOVER
$ 0.01 from @Wrinkle
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

How sad, in our country had a flood also hoping for their recovery

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really sad moment for them. Quick recovery I pray. Thanks for your comment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm really sad for the calamity that occurred, especially for the areas and people that the flood has touched. This is heartbreaking; ideally, things will soon return to normal

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope so dearly. Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really feel sorry for this disaster that happened, especially for those places and people who are affected by this flood. This is so heartbreaking, may everything will be back to normal soon, and everything may recover from this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, everything will soon be okay and I wish they record less loses. thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had read about flooding in bangladesh the other week and now, Nigeria experience it. I hope and pray people are safe there. It's heartbreaking to see people being affected by it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I pray so too. I know things will be normal again. Just the lost some people might face in this bad economy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really sorry about the incidence of flood in your country, its so saddening to see cars, people and other movable objects being carried by it... God help us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for your comment dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now and then I heard about the experience of different places flooding and that breaks my heart, knowing how hard when this natural calamity hit us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It really hard and my heart goes to the affected ones and properties

$ 0.00
1 year ago