Face Behind The Mask

7 17
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

"It was raining as I walked down towards the petrol station. Most times it rained for hours especially in the evening. On a cold night, my home was far away from the market. I had gone to get some cosmetics for myself when it started raining and I had to stay in the cosmetics shop for a while until the rain stopped.

It was 7:30 pm and I had to hurry home . When I flagged down a motorcycle, the motorcyclist charged me at a higher rate he said he would take me to my home at $700 which on a normal day when it's not raining it would be at a price of $400 naira. I was shocked and asked him if he could cut down the price a little bit but he refused and said he would only do that if I paired up with someone that is going in the same direction as myself, and that he would consider taking us at a price of $800.

I needed to get home and began to ask the people around waiting for the bus and tricycle if they would buy the motorcyclist idea and pair with me. I asked around for two minutes and no one wanted to buy his idea because it was costly at that price . Then an old man in seventies came to me and said he had agreed with my idea. I was happy at first but the thought of staying with an old man on a motorcycle made me weak. It was getting dark and I needed to get home on time. So I reluctantly hopped on the motorcycle and so did the old man too.

He stayed behind my back as I felt his heavy breath behind me with discomfort. As we rode off the long ride, he dimmed it right to ask me questions . He introduced himself as Mr Peters. He asked for my name and if I am a student including what skills do I have?What is my favorite food? What am I still doing at the market arena by the time of the night ? if I am married? I answered all of it one after the other. As we were talking I noticed he clung so hard on me. He smelt so nice and looked so polished. His skin was caramel and he looked like mixed race. I began to wonder what he was doing at the time of the night too. He felt cold so I decided to give my cardigan to him so as to warm up himself. He was going to alight before me .

When the motorcyclist reached his destination he alighted he said you are a smart lady. He gave me a card when he paid the motorcyclist. I was speechless because he gave the motorcyclist $1000 instead of $800. I wanted to tell the old man that it is $800 he was supposed to give it to the motorcyclist but then the motorcyclist winked at me so I had to let go of it. The old man pleaded to take my cardigan home because it was so cold that night. I had to let him go , he said his phone number and address is on the card he gave me. He bid good bye and I rode off.

The next morning, I went back to the biggest textile industry because it was the address on the card the old man had given me. You would not believe who I saw was sitting in the CEO room. It was the old man, he was the owner of the textile industry. He was so happy to see me and smiled at me. He introduced me to his workers as his personal assistant. I was so confused because I can't remember writing an application for a job here and I know I needed a job but not in the textile industry. I didn't know the best way to react to this new job.

I left the office with tears in my eyes as I didn't say a word to him. I know he felt so embarrassed at my attitude as I walked down the stairs. He instructed the security guards to bring me back to his office. While I was back at his office, he said he loved the way I had a conversation with him yesterday and could not stop thinking about me, so he had decided to make me his personal assistant. I smiled back at him and he said he had ordered another cardigan for me.

I started working in the textile industry until I discovered that his wife and kids died in a plane crash few years back. I felt so sorry for him and also saw a national identity card which I saw his real age. He was forty five years old and I mistook him to be in his seventies. The sudden death of his wife and four kids had affected him so much. He later asked me out on a date which I accepted"

This encounter with the old man happened twenty five years ago. Now we are happily married and have three kids. He is a happy man now because he had removed the mask of depression. It's our silver jubilee today and our first daughter Kimberly is getting married next week.

Unsplash image

Thanks for reading and have a great weekend.

@Gianna-B, 2022 and all rights reserved

lead image credit: taken from unsplash.com

10
$ 1.24
$ 1.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @J.Matty
$ 0.02 from @Bisolammy
+ 1
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

Awww, i love how destiny works to bring you together. Lovely story of hope and second chances to be happy. In a world of uncertainty there are things that are still certain and that's how our Good Lord gives hope to the weary and guide us all to our destiny. Love it!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What great story! while reading it, I can't help but to smile at the ending of the story :) Congratulations to both of you, may you have more years to conquer! ♥️ And ofcourse, congratulations to your daughter ♥️ All the best for you and your family.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love your story my friend. Your destined each other. While I'm reading this, I felt like I watching movies or series. God bless to your family my friend. ❤️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh my God!!! It's so amazing how you met your man. Congratulations to you both. I wish you a happy married life. Have a wonderful time

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you my dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Beautifully placed my dear friend, I deduced something from you story, always be nice to strangers because you don't know who you might be helping. Such a lovely story my dear

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago