Destiny

7 29
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

"There's nowhere you can be that isn't where you're meant to be"... John Lennon

Today after my evening workout, I came back home to a radio argument on destiny. The program has guests who have authored amazing books about destiny and life paths. As I walked in, I heard one of the guests saying that "anything good and morally accepted can be anyone's destiny as long as the person is successful with it". According to the speaker at that time, he said that everyone is born with a particular destiny and that's what the person is going to be in the future. He said that destiny is a gift from nature from birth.

My Dad was busy with a book as this program was going on but as I heard what was said, I stopped to hear more before turning on my phone's radio on the same channel.

This is the first time since this year I am listening to radio. My dad always turns it on to listen to the news and some country songs. He listens alone every time and does it as a routine. I have a radio app on my phone but since I got my phone, I haven't opened it till today.

Do you have a radio app and when was the last time you opened it? Lol! A lot of people especially youths don't listen to radio nowadays. Maybe because it is like an old tradition even though it is modernized to be everywhere in our gadgets.

What is destiny and how do you see it as?

One of the radio speakers said that destiny ("akaraka" in my native language) is whatever a person does with perfection. He gave an Instance of a person who plays football as a profession and a person who sings. According to him, they are happy with what they're doing and doing it perfectly, "that's their destiny" he added.

"Anyone could play football as a passion and hobby but there are those whose it is their destiny to be footballers and singers. That's why some people will spend years hoping to be a footballer or a singer but in the end, they find themselves doing another thing".

The second speaker who has authored many books used himself as an example and said that: "during his early university days, his parents wanted him to study medicine and become a doctor" I guess some of us went through this kind of experience from our parents and guardians. It happened to my cousin sister who studied pharmacy and after she graduated, she went back to the university to restudy medicine".

According to the second speaker, he added: "I was asked by my mother to study medicine. She wanted me to be a medical doctor and probably become a mother of a medical doctor but he had no passion or intent if becoming one. I had to study linguistics and today, I am successful and have popularity in the field. I am destined to do what I am doing now, not a medical doctor I was told to study".

Truth be told, twenty percent of students in my own university are not studying their dream courses. This is so true that in my class, more than ten students have changed of course. The more they leave for another course, the more we welcome others from another department.

That's not even a new thing to me because I have my friends who have changed courses and some after graduation, and come back to restart a fresh course in the university. I don't really know the real course of this but I guess maybe some of these students were misguided into studying What's not their dream courses of study. I am happy I am studying my passion.

People should know that it is not about their choices when it comes to choosing a course of study but about who is going through the process.

"It is not in the stars to hold our destiny but in ourselves"... William Shakespeare

Since my secondary school, I can recount numbers of students who dropped out of school because they are all of a sudden felt they are wasting their time. How can decisions like this be linked to destiny? Yeah, it has a strong connection. Taking school for instance, I believe that everyone isn't destined to go to college, to the university and become a successful person. So many rich men nowadays have no school record. So I think it is not my destiny to go to school or pass through the process.

The second speaker added that: "when a child has passion in farming and agriculture and is always doing things related to it, it could be that the child's destiny lies there". He also said that some people fail in life because they left what they're doing to do something that isn't their destiny. How true is this? Always true.

"The only person you are destined to become is the person you decide to be"... Ralph Waldo Emerson

Thank you for being with me once again, I appreciate you all my Readland family. Have a perfect week

@Gianna-B

Lead image taken from unsplash.com

7
$ 0.62
$ 0.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

I have a radio app on my phone but I never opened to listen to it since I do go to YouTube, listen to music and even get notified of current news. Why do I need a radio again? 😂😂

We all have different destinies from heaven and what work for someone can never work for another fellow. We all are destined in various areas and it is good if we are walking on that path because if one do not identify what destiny is for them will always jump from one place to another without any impact.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are what we want not what people think we are. We should be doing what we love not just what they want us to be.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"The only person you are destined to become is the person you decide to be"... I really love this quote, and I agree with this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When you are satisfied , happy and at peace with the way your life is going,even if it's simple , then it is your destiny. But when you are restless and feel something is missing ,kept looking for more despite the luxuries and achievements then you haven't found your destiny yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love listening to the radio. The fact that I can learn a lot and also get entertained pleases me a lot. May whatever we do be towards our destiny and not be a waste of time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Till today I still listen to radio with my phone and it happens always whenever I'm reading or writing A articles here. Aside the different talks in radio, I also love radio because of the diverse musics...I get to know new songs that are not on my music playlist

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thank God I was blessed with parents who never wanted to force me into a particular field of study. I can't even imagine what life would look like doing things I don't have passion for

$ 0.00
1 year ago