What was your childhood dream??

41 56
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Isn't it funny how every child grows up to have a dream, having a dream isn't the issue but how the dream develops in the kids is extraordinary?

A lot of things remain a mystery to me despite science having numerous proof, facts, and explanations for them. This is not important for the article but there is a connection, the first of it is how egg and sperm meet to form a life that stays in the belly for some time before coming into the world through the women's virginal which seems unbelievable.

The kids learn from what they see and hear as they grow but no one teaches them how to dream. The things happening around them plays part in kids having dreams but why should they worry when they have everything they need to themselves.


I remembered when I was a teacher, we had this profession day and I was surprised at the reaction of the kids. A girl of seven clearly said she wants to become a doctor so that she can save lives.

Another kid said that he wants to be a soldier so that he can take down the bad people disturbing the world but as beautiful as these dreams are, not everything comes through.


Many of these kids get passionate about their dreams, they study and work hard towards it but a lot of factors ain't making things work out as planned for them.

In my case, I started dreaming of becoming a pilot even before I clocked 10, and I didn't know what inspired that except for the fact that airplanes fly over our building always.

I was so focused on my studies because I believed that I needed to be on top of my game to achieve it. At a point nothing was happening when it ought to have been happening, life hit me hard and I saw the dream faded away gradually, who do I blame for it?

My parents? Or does destiny have anything to do with it?

A lot of factors are responsible for a kid's dream not coming through but I learned not to blame anyone for my failed dreams.

I have seen parents make the mistakes of trying to force their dreams into their kids, it is a very wrong thing to do in life.

We have seen a lot of instances where kids pretend to be doing what their parents want and in the end, they eventually switch to what they want for themselves. In some instances, the kids go with their parent's dreams and life becomes miserable because they don't have an interest in what they are doing.

Kids can't be right always, there are times they just go with the crowd. They want to be a doctor because their friends want the same, the parent must guide and put them through as they grow so that they don't get obsessed with the wrong dream.

I hate to look back at my unfulfilled dreams but there are times I just can't help but dig into that memory.

Nothing would have stopped me from becoming a pilot if I had the opportunity, my aim for joining the military was to fulfill my dream but all effort wasn't enough. If I was taken into the Air force, might probably be one of their best pilots.


Many parents do not care about what their kid's dreams are probably because of misunderstandings between the parent and both sides start showing a nonchalant attitude towards their kid's futures.

Disagreement between parents should never interfere with the dreams of their children. Parental support is much needed for every child to accomplish their dreams and every child mustn't be deprived of that.

It is easier for a bird to fly with two wings while carrying anything with its legs, having just one wing would make the bird useless and that means both parents have roles to play morally, mentally, physically, and financially.

Fulfilling dreams requires the use of money and parents mustn't wait until a child becomes old before they start running around, we must put the financial part of our kid's dream in the heart always.

It is important to plan the financial aspect on how to help children fulfill their dreams before they even come to the world.

How is that even possible?

Don't do more than you are capable of and always put into consideration that things can get either good or bad later. It is not necessary having excess kids when 2 is what you have the ability to train properly.


Life is not predictable and people leave the world without notice, I once read an article of @Esthery97 saying she would have been able to fulfill her childhood dreams if her dad was alive.

A lot of kids have forsaken their childhood dreams just because something happened and the family couldn't continue sponsoring them to achieve their dreams. It is not necessarily death, one can be alive and still not be able to make an impact, I pray that wouldn't be our portion but whether we like it or not, we will leave the world someday with notice.


Supporting a child's dream involves preparing the future for them even when we are long gone.


It is no one's prayer to leave the world soon, but when it happens we don't have the power over it. There are lots of investments that can help kids achieve their dream even when we are gone or when we don't have the power to work anymore.

In a nutshell, the dream of every child matter and mustn't be treated like it means nothing.


All images were created by me using the Canva app.

19
$ 7.27
$ 6.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 10
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

I often see that parents force their children to choose the profession of their choice which is not right.Children should have the freedom to choose the profession of their own will and parents should support them at every step,both financially and morally.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ever since when I was a child I dreamed of becoming a doctor, but as I grew up, there are also changes that happened in myself that I just can't explain, and that hindered my dream of becoming a doctor.

Instead, I've become a Secondary Teacher, majoring in Biological Sciences. I couldn't still get rid of my love for Science.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always wanted to become an archeologist as a kids because I thought it was super cool to dig up old things and be the first to see them in a super long time. I didn't become an archeologist, but I did become a historian, so I guess it is not too far off...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are still well on track and I believe you are still connected with things from the past.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We started dreaming its because of the surrounding we've witnessed. Just like my young age, I been started dreaming when I literally witnessed of perks being a teacher eventhough I still not deeply understand what will be the contribution at this profession but because I already set my mind and dreaming in my own understanding, thats why my dream was started on set.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As kids, we do not understand a lot of things but the dreams starts like tiny light and grew bigger as we grew.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly✨ The more age added the more life understands😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I am in my elementary days I dreamed of becoming a nurse hahaha because I loved their white uniform and their cap. But when I get older I want to become a cartoonist because I also loves art. But it never turns out that way because I am now in my last year in senior high I took culinary arts far from being a cartoonist.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dream changes as we grow but as long as you find satisfaction with what you are doing, I believe that you are on the right path.

Are you happy doing culinary art?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and I am happy also with what I'm learning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My biggest dreams is to ne a teacher someday but due to poverty, i did not pursue on reaching it, instead I start working for my families needs and welfare, tho I did not reach my dreams I'm happy that I was able to help them especially my father before he was gone into this temporary world

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you are happy even though you couldn't fulfill your childhood dreams. Family is important as well and I believe that your happiness matters more in life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my goodness!!! Why is everyone dreaming.. hehehehe 😆😃 Most of the article I'm coming across today is all about dream and I think I've had enough dream today...lol Looks like a prompt world? I don't know 🤷

According to your own perspective , helping children to achieve their dream will give the child the moral to keep on going. A child should be supported morally and financially.

In a Situation where the need of a child could not be meet, such a child will feel discouraged because he could not see the possibility of getting things done.

Parents should make it their primary obligation in helping their children to make their dreams come to reality.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is kind of a prompt thing but I had this drafted before the prompt but I was able to complete it yesterday.

Parental support is needed at every level for a child pursuing his/her dream, we mustn't let kids wander around like a lost souls while pursuing their dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, I wish all parents could understand this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes parents want their kids to be what they want but kids have something else in mind As for me I don't support parents imposing dreams for their children simply because what parents want might not be good for the child but they should allow them to go for their dreams then they can guide them all through

And thanks for coming to read my content, I believe what am doing is what God wants me to do if not I would have pursue the dream of been a doctor long time ago

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love how you have admitted and accepted what life has brought but you not giving up on dreaming again is a great inspiration for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In third world nations, parenting skills does not give space for the child to have a say in decision making. Some of us have become victims of some of these decisions.

In some other parlance, parents who are not literate do not have enough information for which their wards can benefit to better their lives.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's vice verse, the parent not giving consent to a childhood dream and parent giving consent but not having enough resources to back it up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am 100 agree with you , sometimes parents doesn't give us right to decide where we have to go or what is our interesting Field

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a kid, I dreamed to be a teacher, a doctor, a steward, an engineer a businesswoman, but I became a comp scientist and now a caregiver 🤣🤣🤣 it went down haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think there are still touches of your dreams in what you are doing now or don't you think so???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Luckily i go that what i wanted. But in most of causes parents decide by copying surrounding people and runied their children future and life completely.

I wanna become a doctor . Finally i got admittion in medical college/ university. Now i am medical student at 4 year. Sometimes your luck works . I wish of best of luck 🤞

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Congratulations in advance and you have got wonderful parents because a lot of parents have messed up their child dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My desires was influence with my Dad's Passion which is to be a great cook, I thanked God for having such supportive parents because they allow me to live that dream of mine instead of opposing it.😌💕

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's great, you are fortunate to have a very supportive parent that helped you achieve your dreams.

Are you a chef now? Tell me more about you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so lucky to have a lind parents .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While I was growing up I wanted to be an astronaut, later it changed when I got to secondary school into a mechanical engineer. Finally discovered my afinity for numbers and attraction to physics. Now I'm a theoretical physicist making money from airdrops and read.cash hahahaha...

Our dreams change as we grow up due to environmental factors and sometimes death in the family. My dad died when I was in ss3, everything changed. But I'm glad I still achieved much more than my expectation. @esthery97 is actually right regarding where she was mentioned in the article, a dad's death influences a lot of things.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, you have quite a good journey brother.

A lot of natural factors end dreams and that's why we must be able to dream again. You didn't let the setbacks stopped you from dreaming something big.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Altogether it's the grace of God that matters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dreaming is a source of motivation for most people. When I was a kid, I used to say that I would be a trader to those who said, "What are you going to be?" I would say that they travel a lot as the reason. Now I am living my dream come true and doing trading business.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My dream was to be a doctor and I took it seriously while in secondary school. I loved biology and I still do till now but after attempting jamb 4 times, I ended up with something else. Trust Nigeria universities to change whatever dream you have 😂

Luckily for me, my parents allowed us their children to study whatever we want, unlike some parents that will say "medicine or nothing", and sometimes end up jeopardizing the future of their kids.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Our education structure has destroyed a lot of dreams as well but I am glad you have supportive parents that still stood by you regardless of what school did to the dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is quite disheartening. While you are thinking of what to do with your life or before you even start thinking a career has been chosen for you. Some children argue it out and win, but majority have no choice but to yield to their parents choice. That is why we have many that are unsatisfied with their work and career, the passion was not their's.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There are lots of young in different fields doing things against their wish, I just hope many parents out there can be reasonable let help their children build dreams instead of imposing one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should support our children in their dreams in proportion to the effort they put in to achieve them. This being said, if money is an obstacle, hopefully as parents we can find a way to guide our children in the best way possible and find the opportunities that may lie hidden away. Being an advocate for our kids in these scenarios can certainly help, even if we cannot afford to support their dream ourselves. Perhaps we can find the right organisations, sponsorships etc to help them out if they have a natural talent that should not go unnoticed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right my dear friend, there are opportunities out there a child might be too young to go after but as a parent, we can help them pursue it so that they will be able to accomplish their dreams perfectly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps I should say ignorance is one of the factors of a child not becoming what he or she wants to become. A situation where parents are ignorant of such dreams and instead of seeking help from people, they keep mute and do not have time to study and understand such dream. Also illiteracy also is a big hindrance too because when parents do not have money to help with necessary facilities for the child, it becomes difficult for them. The children of the rich have this opportunity than children of the poor. Aren't we seeing children from good home background doing well because they have parents who are willing to support their children.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have a point, ignorance and illiteracy are big factors that have played roles in killing a lot of children's dreams.

I have seen a parent who doesn't really care, they just pump money into a child dream without following up, and at the end nothing was achieved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, interesting My dream when I was young my dream was to become a nurse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago