Things will fall in place for you, just don't give up.

19 47
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Monday has always been tedious for me despite not working in an office, I really don't know why it has always been like that but I think I am not just lucky with Monday's.

I remembered what my days use to look like when I was working with a company in Ikeja, I leave home as early as 6am and won't return until 9 or 10 pm every day. It was terrible because I had health issues I was struggling with but survival was the top priority.

I didn't allow anything to stop me, seeing people out there drives me to never give up. The point is that my situation wasn't the worse then, I see people without leg work as LAWMA agencies. They mostly do their daily work by picking up dirt on the bridge, I was always like if these people come here every day just to make ends meet then I should be able to do better because I have what they don't have and I don't hesitate to tip them due to the inspiration I draw from them.

I have seen a driver died in traffic and I couldn't hold back tears, why? He never planned his day like that, there are a lot of things happening to us that we mustn't ignore. Our health is one because the quicker path to death is ignoring the red signs our health is giving us, there are times we get caught up in lots of life struggles and it is important we keep our heads high.

I have learned that people would go out there without feeling good just to put something in the belly and put something on the table for the family.

Today, I saw someone that made me remembered my working days with companies.

I am the kind of person who hates to see people who are in need and can't help, helping for me doesn't have to be giving money to people. It is far beyond that, there are countless ways to help people out of financial problems, I do say you haven't helped someone if you only help them with a meal and wait until they beg for the next meal from you again.

I would rather help them with something doing so that they can earn a living and I back out if the person is not showing any sign of seriousness.

I was fortunate to help a lot of people with jobs when I was working in the sales and logistics department at my last place of work. I have met disappointment because some of these guys got the job and eventually messed up but it never stopped me from helping more people.

Many of them end up not appreciating my tiny effort while some still call to check up on me to date, it doesn't bother me because I sometimes don't even remember some of them exist except they call or a memory of them comes up but there is this particular guy his story amazes me a lot.

He was in his mid-twenties, I think a year older than me then if I am not mistaken but I was just fortunate to have the job even though the pay was nothing to talk about. His friend who was a staff approached me to help him get a job for his brother.

I took his CV and we had a long conversation on call, his qualification was too much for the job. I felt he was too educated to work as a bike salesman. He kept calling me for over a week but I was searching for something better, even van sales would still befit him than riding a bike.

After much disturbance, I told him why I haven't gotten a job for him. He eventually agreed on doing the bike job since he could ride and I made sure he got the bike in two days.

He started working and was very respectful, he did the job with all his heart. I took him for the brand I was working with because I wanted to ensure that he wasn't used anyhow by those silly bosses.

I placed him with a store and the owner really liked him because he is hardworking, unknowing to me store owner was still in service and she works directly with the governor's office.

As time goes, she called and asked if I could recommend the guy for her, and I did it without thinking twice. Few weeks after the recommendations, the guy told me he went for an interview that has to do with working with the state government and that was all.

The guy got a job with good pay, I was really happy for him and his story taught me never to give up on whatever I am doing because even if it doesn't give me success, it can link me to success.


I have only seen him once since he left my place and we don't communicate because I believe I have played the part God wanted me to play in his life. I was waiting for a bus when a car drove past me at the bus stop, the vehicle reversed and I shifted back because I still love my leg.

The driver was shouting, Oga! Oga!! meaning "boss" in English. I bent to look at the person because a lot of people call me that. Lo and behold, it was the guy in the story.

I didn't believe my eyes, he was looking really good and bigger. He told me to hop in which I didn't hesitate to do because I knew he was going to save me the stress of struggling for the bus with the crowd at the bus stop.

We started this long discussion as he promised to drop me close to my street, he apologized for not getting in touch with and I made it clear that I am not. Saying I don't remember him would sound disrespectful, he ask what I was doing and I told him I am into fish farming.

He smiled and replied, boss I know the future is bright because you will enjoy every good you have done. I felt fulfilled in me even though I have nothing to show for it and seeing people who have passed through me doing great is a big joy for me.


Does that mean I am not serious with my life?

No, even though I made wrong decisions and lost big opportunities, I still believe that the future is brighter than the present.


He offered me $6 for the bike but I turned it down and he felt bad. He sounded like it was small and I took $1 out of it to show how much I appreciated his gift.

I finally got to my destination and alighted with a big smile.

The things we are going through today might make it look like we are not making progress because others are doing.

That's not the case, we all have an appointed time and when it comes we must be prepared for it. Staying idle is one thing I don't encourage as well because smaller offers can sometimes bring bigger opportunities and we must try to always do our best in any position we find ourselves.

Lead image

9
$ 6.31
$ 5.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Oh! I love random acts of kindness and it can be infectious! Continue being a light in anyone's life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think we all have that purpose in common in life and we mustn't hesitate to do it while we can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's just life for you, we giving up simply means we don't believe in ourselves. No matter how tough it might be we just have to keep on going.

We should also try to put smile in people face in everything we are doing, a successful person is not determined by the number of house ,car etc that you have, but the number of people that has become successful through you. Keep being you , and I believe you'll reap the fruit of all you do one day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I feel happy doing it, I have been put into trouble several times for helping and it is hard to stop.

I believe it is one of the purposes why is I am here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, your kind is rare

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a great heart, some people will find it hard to bear seeing someone they help doing better than them. You might be walking with your foot while those you have helped are riding in a car but when your time comes, your lifting will be a record-breaking

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen, I claim that. You just gave a prophetic declaration sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I appreciate your efforts of helping others in this way and I am also glad to hear the story of the boy who was at good post today. You are right, it's not matter what we are doing today but the thing that matters is the outcome which we are going to receive tomorrow for the thing we are doing today.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The present truly doesn't bother me as much as the future does and we mustn't forget that the things we do today would definitely influenced the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People who help others will themselves find help, that the principle the posterity works with. Despite that some of those guys you have helped won't look back, just continue to be who you are. Remember Abraham, in doing good, he entertained angels unknowingly and he got his reward.. Don't stop doing good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Definitely, I won't doing the best I can to help other. I know favor will shine on me one day, we are Nigerian - we don't know how to give up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naija isn't easy for anyone and we are all doing all we can to survive, but I believe things will work out well for those who remain persistent and never give up

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Perseverance is very important for Nigerians but if we don't give up, Iyanu ma shele.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly Sir 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a big heart buddy, may God bless you more than you deserve, and you are an inspiration to everyone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If I don't do it, someone else will. Helping is one of our purpose in life and we must always do that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so very kind man and you did a great job, and i know you did nothing in return but for him you're an angel to him and he won't forget you for the rest of his life, god blessed you more because you have a kind heart for everyone. Keepsafe always.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I say amen to your prayers, thanks for the wishes. We should ensure we help people the best way we can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All the statements are on point in this article. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago