Speaking on behalf of the kids.

23 55
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

I believe childhood is a learning stage in life, it is the phase in life that every human must pass through to become an adult.

A stage where we make mistakes and get corrected, I do refer to it as a fragile state because it is a building stage as well for every human. Childhood is the foundation of adulthood, that's why the atrocities in the life of many adults can be traced to their background, and despite seeing all these things from time to time, it still baffles me how parents and guardians still make terrible mistakes that affect the foundation of their child/children.

A lot of kids out there are what they are today because of their childhood experiences, we have molded them wrong when they were still in that stage. Sometimes, the damage we cause them can be corrected and some are permanent, the child wouldn't have a choice but to live with it which is very unfair.


Children's memories are fragile:

Am sure you all saw a clip from an Indian movie where a boy said he will beat his wife whenever he returns from work in the future, that shows how fragile their memories are. The things they see get registered in their head and it becomes difficult to correct them, especially when that thing happens repeatedly.

They get to believe it is the right thing to do, they can't differentiate what's good from the bad, they trust the things they see their parents or guardian do and they replicate those things when they are privileged to do so.

They have a fragile memory that can be destroyed, manipulated, and twisted so it is important as parents to ensure that we protect their memories from things that can have a terrible impact on them in the future.

Some days ago, I read a few articles about smoking cigarettes, and most of the people who ever tried it did it out of curiosity. They were been sent to purchase it, their dad smoked in their presence and they started having the urge to try it as well. Seeing either of their parents do that thing makes them feel it is safe whereas it is dangerous but as a kid, they don't get to understand that.

To avoid destroying that fragile memory, we must be careful with the things we do in their

Kids are bound to make mistakes:

I feel very pissed whenever I see kids being brutally punished for making mistakes because most adults even make mistakes more than kids do.

This point was what prompted me to write this article, I witness something that broke my heart.

A very jovial and happy girl under the age of 10 was emotional and physically punished because she forgot to help her grandmother pack the clothes she spread on the line earlier that day. I don't know much of the family story but her grandmother cursed and beat this young girl for that, she even went on to curse the girl's mother and I felt sad for the little angel.

Everyone was concerned because of how intelligent, beautiful, and well-behaved she is, I couldn't take my mind off the issue, and not seeing the girl to know how she was felt since yesterday made me more concerned.

Parents overreacting over mistakes made by children is unfair, you wouldn't have cursed yourself if you were the one who forgot to take those clothes in. We have to stop treating kids like adults, many of us can't do half of what today's kids are doing when we were younger.

I have an 8-year-old cousin who always insists on watching his socks himself even though he doesn't do it well, I don't do anything but eat and study at that age likewise many adults so why do we have to be so mean to kids for making mistakes?

Sometimes ago, I wrote an article about being disciplined and being wicked, many parents and guardians are wicked thinking they are disciplined. Punishing a child for making every mistake is pure wickedness and you are automatically teaching them to be cruel.

Aside from that, these things create fear that would prevent them from trying new things because they don't want to make mistakes which are part of what every human must make while growing.

It also steals their confidence, you can correct them and scold them with love which will make them not make such mistakes again but many choose to go brutal on these kids which eventually tears them apart at the end of the day.


I didn't have the intention of writing today, I slept so much today as if I was bitten by a tsetse fly but I wasn't, some days I just like that for me.

The weekend is here already and I can't believe I am using my data to watch a match like Newcastle vs Wolves, I just couldn't take my mind off the fact that the Premier League starts on a Friday. It is goalless in the encounter and I am wishing everyone a happy weekend.


Lead image.

17
$ 5.18
$ 4.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 11
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

The brain of kids are like a white board and whatever they see their parents do are imprinted in their brain. Even if they manage to wipe off what has been imprinted there, they will still be traces of it left and that's how they grow up into adults having negative mentalities that have been there since childhood and they manifest it subconsciously

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's painful seeing all these happening cos it doesn't make any sense at all. Such a young girl was maltreated like that. Many don't know that correcting a child doesn't have to be hard all the time cos it will only harden their heart for wickedness.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I wouldn't have taken it seriously if it was just a physical thing but going to far curse and her mother is bad, would have an emotional impact on the young girl.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

innocent and guiltless thinking belongs to children they can't know cause and effect children's tendency to imitate adults' habits is their way of expression. Children's behavior is an example of parental behavior, it is impossible to blame them, only parents must understand where they should be led.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Every parent must be a good example to their children, the children will reveal what kind of people their parent are.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love how you said the lines children memories are fragile, I mean every kids will remember what they saw and they think it always right if you don't teach them what's right and wrong, they will remain it into their memories, and it's hard to get rid of it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, their memory is indeed fragile. Every parent must understand that and be careful of what happens around them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Children’s memories are fragile and it has to be protected. My grandma once to me that “Once a kid know something from a very young age it will stick in his head like writing on a dry rock” and I’ve never forget this. To only kids are even bound to make mistakes but also adults. It’s very pain such young girl go through that pains.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's true. I have a lot of things I learned when I was a kid which remains in my head today, we have to ensure they aren't registering the wrong thing for the future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is true that what kids sees or hear from you will remain in thier memory, as I saw it from Adrielle now.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You can testify to that, their brain is so active that nothing passes it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, and she even imatating my words thru her toys and other kids

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right because they get to learn even their early world from us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Children's views on adult behavior give a strong warning to the environment because children's development has a way of following the way of adults, they learn to be creative with their visual media but considerations are very decisive for parents because children do not know more about the dangers to health.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

If I get your point, kids do not know the negative impacts of the things they imitate so it is left for the adults to do what's right with them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is why children are supposed to be trained well at tender age when they learn Everything they see others do and what they experience by themselves.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have 3 kids. As much as possible, we would like to feed their minds with good memories of us being together and doing our activities together. There are times that when they do mistakes, we reprimand them and tell them the right way. I agree, kid's minds are fragile and we need to take of it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Kids should be corrected with love and not in a brutal manner, I hope many parents learn from you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The way certain parents correct their kids at times is really annoying. Almost like they expect their children not not make mistakes at all. Those children will grow up with feeling of worthlessness. A lot of them gain admission and never wanna come home during the holidays.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

They fail to know that there is no perfect human, the question they are supposed to ask themselves when these things come up is, am I perfect?. I could have made the same mistake.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The story of that 10 year old really touched me. You're right, if granny was the one who forgot about those clothes, she wouldn't have spanked herself. But the child should always remember.

The story of how some people learn how to smoke is something I can relate to. I've seen and heard from people's experiences.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I call that cheating on the young ones because we are adults, it is wrong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago