So unlucky with love...

24 43
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

My friends usually tell me that relationship wasn't my mate but I usually don't believe it until I fell victim but was it really my fault?

I am still yet to recover from the shock and it feels like I am at the edge of losing myself, it is hard to believe that I have wasted the past five years of my life. It better not be so.

I showed her enough love more than I have shown any woman in my life but it still didn't work out, I felt cheated and I think you should hear my story.

I met Sydney at the university gate in 2017, our meeting was a funny one but I believed it was destined. My school doesn't allow just anyhow mode of dress, they ensure that students dress properly on the school premises. It was her first day at school and she didn't understand the rule, I was about to enter the gate when I saw this cute damsel begging the school security to let her in.

Been an old student, I knew most of the guys at the gate because we do gist very well. I interfered and pleaded on her behalf but nothing could be done about it, a law is a law and it can't be broken despite the relationship.

The sad expression on her face touched my heart and I just couldn't walk past her. I had an extra cloth which was my team jersey, we had a match after school. She went on her kneel to thank but I was quick to stop her.

We both went in and this little introduction while I showed her the way to her department for registration, she was moving forward before I remembered we were in the same department, I was in 300 level studying mass communication.

I tried to catch up but she was too fast but I knew she was going to call me for my cloth when she is done. I went my own way and waited for her because I couldn't afford to miss the match happening in the evening between my department and computer science.

Five minutes to kick off, I didn't see her or even receive a call from her. I felt bad helping her, I was left out of the team and I lied that I left the jersey at home because I wasn't feeling fit to play but deep down, I was sad.

Five minutes into the match, I felt a touch on my back and turned around to see who it was, it happened to her. I couldn't even remember her name, she said "I am sorry sir", my bag went missing and I have been going around telling the securities about it but they couldn't do anything about it.

I felt bad she experienced that on her first day, I got tired of the match and left to help her get some cash to go home.

We became friends after she moved to a hostel. We were so close that she comes to my apartment outside the school, life outside was fun compared to staying in the school hostel.

She passes the night for fun and to study but deep in my mind, we were dating. The intimacy was too strong and the only thing we didn't do was sex, I can't count how many times she slept in my arm.

We were together till I graduated and she was promoting to 300 level at that time. I retained my room for her to move in and she moved out of the school hostel, I usually come to spend the weekend with her and I was planning my future with her already in my head.

I was very supportive, I got a good job and made everything very comfortable for her with the hope of getting married to her after she graduated.

I haven't seen a guy around her before and we never talked about it, it was the same for me because I never asked a lady out since I met her.

After graduation, I took her out on a vacation out of the country. She didn't want it but eventually did, I held her hand while we were on the plane and I observed she has an engagement ring.

My system scattered immediately, I asked her and she opened up that her boyfriend proposed to her on the night of the graduation. I wasn't around and it didn't make me experience what happened that day.

She had a lover all this while and I didn't know, I started telling her everything I had in store for her, and she made it clear that I never asked her out.


Does that really matter? I thought the affection and care I have shown were enough to make her understand my feelings towards her, the vacation never happened.

She apologized and I couldn't believe my ears, I wish we could go back in time to confess my feelings but it was too late.

Who is at fault? She is the one right?

She should have told me all the time I was showing her affection or did I make the mistake of not telling her my feelings.

This is a fictional story, I was wondering if such a scenario is possible. I decided to put it into a story since I would only have few words if it was an article.

Lead image.

14
$ 8.44
$ 7.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 8
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Should I say you weren't smart to make the move on time at least to hear her out then? I don't think any reasonable lady would open up about her relationship first unless you ask her or discussion brought the topic up. I guess you were at fault though but life moves on. There are good girls out there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She's not entirely at fault, you too is part of it. You could have made your intentions known but instead you just went with the flow and assumed you were dating, but the relationship only existed in your brain, she might just see you as her "bestie".

Just like Beyonce said, "if you like it then you should've put a ring on it". You didn't claim her, then someone else did, but she should have told you about it, one reason she kept the serious boyfriend a secret is probably to keep taking advantage of you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I thought as much, she should have opened up to me and I would have stopped myself from having unnecessary fantasies in my head...

I take my blame as well, poor me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly boss πŸ‘Œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first, I thought it was your story.. But the vacation abroad I know isn't real πŸ˜… I think it's a lesson to learn there for guys to confess your feeling right away before it's too late. And for the girl, yeah she should have sensed it. But sometimes, if we don't want to lose someone, we prefer not to label the relationship .. Just stay as is for a lifetime..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Lolz, I have only been in two relationships all my life and I define it before taking it too deeply. I hate heartbreak and I take all measures to avoid it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never been in a relationship so I don't have any experience in this kind of things.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Are you serious? Permit me to ask, how old are you? Or did you just choose to stay away from relationships?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm older than you think...🀣🀣 I'd rather not out time into things that are not necessary for now. It's not like I'm ready to get married.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was an emotionally good story, after all the things you've both done together in the end you'll be left with different epilogue, hope you'll find someone who's willing to be your lifetime, anyways it's a good although it's a fiction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The way you helped her for two times and after all the affection you showed to her was enough for her to understand your love but still she was blind.I can understand your pain of seeing the ring in her hand. This story is beautifully narrated, well done.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

She didn't see the writing on the wall, it would have been wrong for her to just assume as well because things could be the other way round.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha this is cruel but assumptions cannot be taken as consent in this case. As you said, the character didn't say anything about having or not having a girlfriend too which is why despite doing everything together except sex, then discussion should have been had to know each other more. She intentionally held that part back too because she didn't want to lose the benefits, yeah, but the mistake is from both. The relationship wasn't built on trust. Maybe the guy was scared of finding out the truth which was why he didn't bother asking if she had a bf or not and that's the mistake from his part too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmmm, relationships really shouldn't be built on assumptions.

I felt the girl knew he was having feelings for her but the guy messed up for not speaking out. Your thoughts are right though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely...yes she knew all along.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a touching story, I will say it's all your fault, you should have make your feelings knows to her, she might not have the intention that you've fall in love with her, her thoughts might be that you're just a friend and a helper to her .

Don't have to blame the girl, you should have act fast, someone behind was faster than you...lol

Love reading your fictional story, it's interesting

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the compliment buddy. That should have been the scenario, he should really have made his intention known to her.

It baffles me how people assume that they are in a relationship with someone without asking them out .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder oooo 🀣🀣 Why assuming when there's time to make it known I real time... But painful Sha 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't you think the girl was selfish taking all those things without thinking something must be the reason behind the love and care????

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, this matter heavy for my mouth ooo, but the facts remains that you dulled your self.... Even if nah k*ss sef........🚢🚢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oga na you fvck up, why you go hide. See the first thing that makes her not to reason same way is that ' no man of this century will go years without touching a girl even if na kiss to show you own the person' .

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Haha, I can hear the voice behind this words. 🀣 My dear, can I just second the motion? 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you can o. That was how my boyfriend told me he as loved me since 2017 but kept it because someone told him not to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice one, you are right. Feelings these would definitely be accompanied by romance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago