Rant about traditions inconveniencing people.

20 53
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

On the 28th of July 2022, a traditional festival was observed in the town where I live, it is usually a big celebration for the indigenes of the town but it was not fun for visitors like myself.

It is the sixth year I have known this festival but I still do not understand its importance, I respect the fact that the people still practice and cherish their tradition but the fact that it inconveniences the people doesn't make me like it. This festival actually gives men the privilege to move around to some extent but it is not completely safe for people who are not indigenes of the town, women are meant to stay indoors for 24 hours while the festival is on and any woman who violates the law bears consequences I don't but they claim that it is always brutal.

A festival similar to this was held about six weeks ago. I had something important to do outside town that day and I had to pay ¢40 each at more than five roadblocks mounted by the indigene who were extorting people just because the festival was on.

On that same day, I had to trek for close to two hours from the bus stop to my home at night in fear of being robbed just because the transporter couldn't cope with the extortion from the indigenes taking advantage of the festival.

It is easier to say you won't give them what they want but it doesn't end well arguing with them, they have canes and things that can hurt you. You definitely can't fight against them because you will be outnumbered.


A lot of illegal things I don't want to speak of are done during this festival and I don't think that the purpose justifies the atrocities people commit under 24hrs, I believe traditions that inconvenience the people aren't a good one.

A lot of people had to stay indoors because of the festival, some people eat from the sales they make daily; how do they expect them to cater for three square meals? Students are forced to remain at home, and shops/businesses are forced to close just for the festival. Men are allowed to do business but they won't because of the fear of people taking advantage of the festival by breaking into the shop or extorting the shop owners.

These traditions have existed for a long time but the people promoting them need to understand that the way things are now very much different from the past and they ought to carry out their celebration without inconveniencing the people, these traditions can be very terrible sometimes, the fear it creates in people is not ordinary.

I remembered when I was younger, a lady who left her NYSC camp to visit her parents went missing and it was later discovered that she was caught by the festival observers. She wanted to surprise her parent not knowing that the Oro festival was on, it is a kind of festival that restricts people from going about; every resident of the town must stay indoors while the festival is done.


Law is law, tradition is tradition, I understand it but these things shouldn't be like this anymore. The world has gone beyond all these diabolical things and I wonder why we still dwell in them, I am not condemning the festival but it should have been improved and done in a way that wouldn't hurt people.

They could have just done it at midnight to avoid causing lots of people trouble, observing it like the ancient days doesn't make sense anymore. Then, people were into farming, there were no schools, the population wasn't much and they can afford to stay indoor for days unlike the world today that warrants students to go to school and adults to go to their place of work so that they can provide food for themselves or their families.



The obsession with this tradition has caused setbacks to the towns practicing them but they aren't paying attention to it, how do you expect a company, a bank, or a factory to establish a branch in your town when they know that the town can start a ritual or festival that requires people to stay indoor for a whole day or even more. Will they shut down business or operation because of tradition?

They are losing money by halting business so they will rather stay in developed towns that do not inconvenience people in the name of tradition.

The youths in the town experiencing these things have to journey for hours just to go to work and return, I wonder how this would make life easier for them.


I was indoor all day, I don't have any money to give to anyone just because I want to go out. My family was indoor as well because we don't want to take any chances of going through any problems with the festival. I believe tradition should be a blessing, it should protect the people and when it does otherwise, I don't think it is worth calling a tradition.


Lead image

10
$ 2.61
$ 2.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 5
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

I think some traditions there believed that they should continue because if not, ancestors would be very angry. Hmm. Also, some festivities created hassles to us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some will say that they don't want to invoke the anger of their ancestors that's why they still keep up with the traditions till now

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Which ancestors, the idols that can't save them. Everything is just a blatant lie, they are using these things to steal - that's all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's quite scary! I couldn't believe that it's happening still but a tradition is a tradition as you say until someone powerful tries to break it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I wish someone would break it really because of its negative effects on the town.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

maybe that'll fade as time goes by. keep safe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope so too, it is really annoying these days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

how long will it last until?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The highest I have experienced is three days but it happens frequently and that's where the problem is.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really scary friend. I think first time Iam hearing such thing in the name of festival you get ruined. It is really sad to hear about the girl who went missing, to surprise her parents. These miscreants should be punished and strong rule should be impoed by the law.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The reason why these things can't end is because of the support they get from the government, the government is as well benefiting from these things.

The election is around the corner and the government wouldn't want to hurt the people

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But really too sad to hear. Hope things get well soon at your place

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think by now all those traditions that inconvenience and tend to cause more harm than good to people should be abolished, there is still some tradition that is still okay but not like the one that deals with human life.

You made me remember the egungun and Ogun festival, normally I think it should be done in a better way, instead of extorting money forcefully from people, and not only that, but they'll also move around looking for what to steal, that's very bad.

The world is more civilized than all this, and I wish government should look into this, that's if it is possible 🙄. I'm not condemning tradition, but some traditions does not fit this era.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Your last sentence sums it up, most of those traditions don't fit into the modern era we live in today, and since it is a must we practice it, it should be done in a way that it wouldn't hurt people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But it's hurt that our society is far from the truth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right Mary, I doubt this tradition will change for good because the next generation is into it already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Still hoping for the best to happen ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know a lot of these traditions in this country and some of them are not funny at all. I remember when I was in a bus some weeks ago, and some gus were talking about one festival that's usually practiced by the community where we're staying now (we moved there in April). Mere hearing the things that this festival comes with really got me scared, especially because I mostly get him late.

This has got me thinking how I'll survive when the time comes. I believe that our people should learn ways to practice these things without necessarily impeding the movement and businesses of people

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Which area is that? I think it is important to always know the tradition and culture of where we are settling in, I won't make such a mistake again and I wish you God's protection.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's in Akwa Ibom state, on the outskirts of the state capital. It's a family house, so there's basically no other option.

Thank you bro. I only hope God will help us now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago