Noise distraction is draining me.

26 57
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I didn't know what to write today because I still feel exhausted from yesterday's work at the farm. I woke up at midnight and couldn't get back to sleep so I took the advantage of that to write an article. It made me wake up late and tired on Saturday morning, I was having a slight headache so I went for a small walk just to stretch my bones.

After doing everything I needed to do at home, I settled to write my article for Saturday but nothing was coming up in my worn-out head I guess. I engaged a bit on here and noise cash to see if I will be able to draw some inspiration from other users articles but nothing came and my environment today wasn't helping matters due to the noise coming from the neighbors' children who were having a good time making noise close to my window.

I didn't want to spoil their fun so I just switched to watching some comedy videos but while I was watching, it kept coming to my mind that "why are you still struggling with noise distraction?".

It's been a long time since I have discovered this distraction but I failed at containing it despite trying to for a long time, it doesn't have to do with writing articles alone because reading where there is noise is a total waste of time for me, I won't be able to assimilate anything.

I usually don't read outdoor during school days and if I will do because it is compulsory, it will be somewhere far away from the noise.

I mostly read over the night at home so this makes me read very well, my friends at one point thought there was more to my academic performance but it doesn't bother me.


I try to avoid noise as much as possible when having a serious conversation because it completely prevents me from thinking properly and I won't be able to give a satisfying response.

I remembered when I was working with a company as a supervisor, I usually send reports at night and this causes a lot of problems for me. I was always in traffic when it is time for report, I and my boss usually quarrel over the report. I tried to make him understand that I can't work on the bus, the noise on the road drives me mad.

It didn't start today, this might sound silly but I will mention it.

My mom usually says that when I was still a kid, she doesn't take me out to any gathering because once the place becomes noisy, I would cry till she leaves there.

I see people using their phones on the bus, when I try to do the same it becomes impossible except I force myself to do use it for a few minutes and put the phone away.

This noise thing sometimes prevents me from sleeping, I usually feel like the noise is happening right in my head. I sometimes suppress it with soft music, there are times it works and there are days it doesn't, I just have to bear it until I get exhausted and sleep off.

Whenever my fiancée is around, she listens to loud music and sometimes leaves the TV on while writing her articles, I will rather sleep because I wouldn't be able to put anything meaningful down. I prefer to write when everywhere is silent at night, there won't be any form of noise except if the bar in my street decides to disturb the peace of the neighborhood with live band music.


Another thing I observe is that it takes me a shorter time to write my article at night than in the afternoon, just because of the silent atmosphere. It bothers me a lot, what if I don't find a silent environment. Does that mean I wouldn't be able to put down something?

I wish I can change that habit, it is as worse as me not even engaging in noise cash where I don't need to stress myself. When I talk about it, people think it is an exaggeration but I know some people have the same challenge but I haven't just met them while some have been able to control that distraction.

My family knows this already so no one interrupts me when I am busy with writing or engaging on my device. I stopped watching football outdoor at one point because of the noise from arguments, it completely distract me from enjoying the game. It doesn't mean I don't like to talk about sport but not when about 10 people are sharing their opinions at the same time and I don't even know who or what to listen to.

If there is an effective remedy for this, I will gladly tap into it just to prevent myself from going silly with noise.

I hope everyone had a great Saturday? I wasn't available online and I will use the opportunity to apologize for not engaging on articles but I will visit as many as I can before going to bed.

Lead image.

12
$ 6.20
$ 5.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 9
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

I can relate to you brother. I feel distracted everytime I hear noises. With that said, I used to write my articles at night or early in the morning. I want to write in a quiet place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The funniest set of people would be those that read with an earpiece plug in their ear listening to music. I don't know how they do it. I tried it once and nothing i read went it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is either I read the song along or I should pretend to be reading even though it is not entering.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well we are all different, we can't be the same thing, I think the best thing is just for you to focus on what you're doing by taking your mind away from the noise, once you have the mindset that you can't focus in a noisy area you won't, you just have to deal with... what of if you meet yourself where there's noise 24/7 , what will you do just like you said... That means you won't be productive.

I can read where there's noise, and I still do some crazy and unbelievable thing while reading, listening to music with my ear pud at the same time, and I cope with it, maybe it's because I love music, I never can tell, but sir....you just have to leant it in case of tomorrow not today, Nah naija we dey, we can't run away from from noise, it's part of us....🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Living in Lagos alone requires you to be familiar with noise, I have lived here for 25 years and still haven't adapted.

I wish you can share the secret with me so I can just turn up the music from my sound system and still continue to engage online.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have any secret to share, the thing is that human being can't be the same .... just like I said before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay I agree with you, I will just learn to work on myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe you need to stay at the cemetery,just kidding buddy, but noise is really irritating, sometimes I got mad with Adrielle if she is too noisy, my head is aching if too much noisy😀

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lolz, the cemetery is a quiet place but I will be scared as hell staying alone there. It causes me ache as well and it doesn't leave until I have a proper sleep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just kidding buddy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh man were also the same, noise really distract me when I'm doing sonething else its really hard to focus when there's unnecessary noise surrounds you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess I am not the only one struggling with it, have you tried any form of treatment or remedy for it???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just go lock my room so that I could focus and sometime I just go to libraries so that the surrounding is quite but not really effective for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have you tried to go to a therapist on this? I hope you will not think this question negatively but having a therapist might help coping up this one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A therapist here would cost me a lot but I don't think it should be as bad as visiting a therapist since it has been like that for me right from young age.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought you were referring to noisecash haha. But we are in the same shoes. Noise easily distracts me. I hate it when it's noisy and I am resting.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Laughing...Noise is my home, I can't get tired of it. I wish I could find a way to be productive with noise, I do be doing a lot of things on daily basis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can somehow relate to you on the noise distraction. I can't write or think straight when there's noise around me. I tend to get mad easily and exhausted too. Still trying to learn how to cope with it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, it makes me really exhausted mentally. I cherish people who can cope with it, I see them like super humans.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel you :) There are times when I had to stop the hubby playing the guitar loudly or any music because I feel my head's going to explode.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The remedy is to just avoid the noise and always find a cool place, I don't think there is anyone who likes noisy areas, someone once told me to shut my mind towards the noise and focus on what am doing, that's not possible it does work at times but that is stressing me mentally so the only thing is o avoid it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The mind is not like the ear or eye that you can shut, it is not as easy people think. Only those struggling with the noise thing can understand

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also don't concentrate when I am in a noisy environment but what I do most time is force myself, I will pretend nothing is happening around although the concentration can't be 100% but it helps a little

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have tried pretending, my best during that pretense is nothing to boast of.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't begin to imagine how hard it must be for you at times. You could use earmuff, it would help. Funny thing is; I'm more of the noise guy. I can be listening to music and be reading. Well, different strokes for different folks. It was a good read for boss.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do be very happy if I can do some stuffs in a noisy place, I guess I am permanently stuck here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago