My Hobbies... They define me.

27 79
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

I have sincerely written about my hobbies probably just 2-3 times since my youth days, I remembered one was in a job interview while the others had to do with blogging challenge.

People who have met in reality will choose the virtual part of me because of my introverted lifestyle, people don't find anything cool about me except my hobbies. I remember having tons of hobbies as a kid, I love doing a lot of things then but things became different as we grew because we become wiser and did things that were best for us.

My Hobbies...


Cooking

Did someone just laugh?

I know you do be wondering why a man would choose cooking to be his hubby, I am confused as well because I didn't know the limit I crossed that made me so passionate about cooking. I don't know what it means to you but it means a lot to me.

Art: I love playing with colors and if you cook very, you will understand this.

When preparing my meals, I love trying art related things like making images or shapes with my meal.


Legacy: My mom didn't have a female child, she has four boys who were raised like females when it comes to doing chores. We didn't learn it the easy way, an experience forced us to learn cooking and it looked like she handed her cooking skills directly to me.

After the experience, I was eager to learn varieties of food and I took over the family kitchen since then, I was barely 12 when I started trying out those kitchen skills. It was terrible from the start but I got better and have won people's hearts doing so, there are times I intentionally do my thing in the kitchen just to impress someone.

My mum is a great cook and she worked as a caterer before becoming an evangelist, the taste of her meal is awesome and I think I inherited that part of her. I don't get tired of cooking except when I am sick, the heat from a frying oil can make me feel uncomfortable.

My mom doesn't like purchasing food and it became one of the family trademarks, which automatically makes me cook almost three times every day. I got very good at it and even if people don't remember me for anything fun, they still appreciate my cooking.

I once had a small snacks shop at the motor park when I didn't have a job, I was able to make a living out of it for some time before securing a job. That wow expression on my customers', family, and friends' faces inspires me to do more.

Football

I wouldn't have believed it if someone told me that I wouldn't become a footballer today, I loved football so much that I do sneak out of the house to play it with my friends.

I played on the street and at school, went to several auditions but wasn't lucky with it. I was called Papilo because of my height and scoring abilities but life took football away from me suddenly. I sustained injuries frequently, defenders aren't always happy to have me around so they don't go easy on me.

That particular year I sustained an injury that ended my dreams of becoming a footballer, I was indoor for months and I couldn't do anything with my leg. I felt terrible then seeing my friends march in group to the field, I always wish I could go with them but my leg wouldn't allow it and the doctor warned me that, if I continue stressing the leg I might cause permanent damage. I had to stay away for a long time so I diverted my attention from playing football to writing about football, doing that still makes me feel connected to it.

I don't have a bad day with football even when my favorite team loses, I just love to see players in action. If you check my blog, you will see more about my passion for football.

Writing.

I started writing short stories when I was young and it runs in the family but it meant nothing to me until I wrote content on a newspaper blank space and left it on a bench outside my mom's shop.

A journalist in the neighborhood came to buy something so he picked it up while waiting for the food he wanted to buy, read it, and folded it into his pocket.

I was wondering why he did that, why would a journalist keep that? Did it make sense?

I got a diary and started writing kinds of stuff, I left home to live with a family friend at a time. Life was so boring for me and my diary became my companion, I became so addicted to writing. It is the best way I could express myself to people and comfort myself at the same time.

I wrote short poems then and send them to my friends, they loved it so I kept improving on it, and luckily for me, crypto blogging encouraged me never to quit writing.

Photography and graphics design:

These are hobbies I developed because of blogging, I realized the importance of using my image and I started capturing/creating my images.

I enjoy doing it a lot, my gallery is filled with images I haven't even used. I capture moments as far as I find them good for blogging purposes.

These three hobbies of mine make me independent when it comes to having fun, I don't need anyone around to do these three things. They save me from boredom and I am glad they have all had a positive impact on me which can't be excluded from my life journey.

17
$ 6.26
$ 5.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Majokdit
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

Omo, your food looks delicious, belike I feel like eating it through the image. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Future step is we'll see you combining hobbies: Opening your own football-themed restaurant in vicinity of football terrain. (!) Always enjoy reading your articles!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Owning a football team would be a huge achievement for more, it would be great.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When you have so many things you love doing you get confused which ones would be your actual hobbies. But I think I have a couple of activities as my core hobbies. Reading is one. As little as I was at 6yrs, I could read a novel. I never allow an opportunity to read pass me bye, even in the toilet or when eating. Football, what man does not love Messi and Ronaldo, lol. I can't go a day without watching football as I don't play that much. Music, give me music and take my food. I have over 200,000 songs ,different genres, on my play lists. For me music is life itself. Travelling is another thing I enjoy most, but the insecurity in the country is trying to kill my like for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I love the fact that you love cooking, momma did train you well and you trained yourself better. Looking at those meals up there makes my mouth water you'd have to make some for me or I'd cry now🥺🥺.. I love cooking too and mostly love writing because it a companion that never left me when life threw in a huge blow, writing is my solace and it became one with my soul, I also love reading too, gosh!! I love reading novels no matter how big it is. Funny as it is I loved playing football then and find it fun though I stay as the keeper most times. An injury on my wrist during a competition and some other personal stuffs kept me away from football.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

It is great to know that you play football, my football dreams were cut short due to injuries as well. I love reading but I usually get scared of Novels when it's too big.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, big scary one it is.... But you don't need to be scared you can finish it up

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the encouragement, I will notify you if I eventually finish a huge one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well then I'd wait.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We're both the same in writing and cooking. I am the chef of the house. Haha. Well, for us men to cook for our family is a honor.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's great, you must be a really good cook.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have a lot in common, I also love cooking and I guess I inherited my love and passion for it through my dad since I believe that he is a great cook. I also love writing as well as photography, it just felt satisfying whenever I did capture a great scenery of places and special events, it's like were keeping memories in time.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are well on point, photography makes lots of sense because I draw so much inspiration from capturing those beautiful shots from nature.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have such beautiful hobbies and oh my oh my! Those meals looks sumptuous, your wife won't have much issues... I'm pretty sure that journalist stole your article, great one George, I knew you were a really good cook, but I never knew you were also good at mobile photography.... These are lovely hobbies George, you're doing well indeed.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah I like photography and I hope I can learn more about it on a large scale for business purposes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why wouldn't a man be able to have cooking as his hobby? I'm a woman and I hate cooking, my fiance loves it so he is the one that always cooks. Luckily we don't have to live in the 50s anymore where women do the cooking haha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are a lucky woman, I know how women feels when they have a man that cooks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also love cooking 😁 my mom trained my like a female child when I was very young and that's because I am the first child. I started cooking at about 10 years with just a few foods, and over the years I learnt how to cook other foods on my own with the help of tutorials online

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I do learn cooking online as well, it is fun trying new things. I guess you started cooking before me, you must be a great cook.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also love cooking 💓 but am not that good. That's a wonderful hobby ❤️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Good? Don't underrate yourself as long as you can make edible meals.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am truly amazed to know how well you can cook. I would like to taste these mouthwatering foods someday. So writing and photography are also your hobbies along cooking.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I will come over to the Philippines one day and make delicious meals for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Esther is lucky to have you hehe..a man who knows how to cook could easily win a heart of a woman...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hmmm, I think that is true. Men who love to cook usually have this caring attitude for women.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The only thing I know how to prepare in this life is fried egg spiced with enough pepper and tomato... Lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That one self na cooking, some can't do that bro. You are awesome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago