My fears are my biggest motivation.

26 82
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

I really don't have any fears, that's the lie I tell whenever I went for an interview during my job hunting days. Fears are been handled like a taboo, they relate it as something you shouldn't have. Interviewers feel like you are perfect when you tell them you don't have fears, the real questions should be what are your fears, and how do you intend to tackle them?

This would make the interviewee feel at ease to open up but that's not the case. Having fear doesn't make me incapable, they are just things I put into consideration when I want to take any step in life.

Is there a man without fear?

There is no human without fears but the major issue I see about human fear is that people see it as a personal weakness meanwhile, it shouldn't be so. Our weakness should be a strength to us, it should be the reason why we don't want those fears to take us down.

My fears should be an inspiration, being scared of poverty should make me want to achieve greatness. It should motivate me to work hard and get the best results out of life, being scared of sickness should inspire me to do the things that would make me stay healthy.

It is weird to refer to something as your fear and you aren't doing anything to prevent it from happening, that's not fear. If you are scared of the dark, shouldn't you go around with light in case it falls dark suddenly?

I have many fears in life, my background created lots of fear for me when I was growing up, and more keep showing up while growing at every stage in life.


The fear of the future:

The ability to see through to the future would have made life so easy for everyone, the uncertainty about the future is a big fear for me and almost everyone even though we keep comforting ourselves that tomorrow will be great. It is unpredictable and in it resides all other fears we have as humans.

The fear of marrying the wrong person in life is about the future, the fear of succeeding is about the future, and every human fear has to do with what will happen next?


The fear of making mistakes.

This used to be one of my fears because I am more of a theoretical person than a practical type, I am always scared of making mistakes in life.

I grew to understand that mistakes are part of life and they are inevitable but that doesn't take away my fear. Instead of allowing the fear to get the best of me, I put a lot of effort into limiting my mistakes and there are times I make more mistakes for trying to reduce my mistake.

The fear of what people will think about me, the fear of falling below people's expectations comes with the fear of making mistakes for me even though I teach my mind to admit to mistakes when they happen. Are mistakes even evitable?


The fear of not fulfilling my dreams

This is my biggest fear, I am a big dreamer with hundreds of dreams and it would be a terrible thing not to be able to fulfill them. It use to be about me wanting to do this and that but at a point, it became will I be able to do this and that? I didn't just start doubting myself but a lot of personal and social factors have given birth to those fears.

I am not expecting everything to come to reality but achieving the majority of them would make me feel fulfilled in life. These dreams aren't just personal dreams, it involves a lot of people who don't even know about them. My dreams include my parents, siblings, friends, wife, children, and business, it is a long list and this should tell you how huge my dream this and the fears that come with it as well.


Fear of not living as long as I wish.

This is beyond my power, some fears aren't things we have control over and we can just hope for the best. Despite not being sure of how long we will live, we all have to walk on the path that will guarantee us good health.

This fear came up when I had a worn-out muscles a few years ago, a healthy guy like me had to go around with a strap to hold my thigh muscles together just to talk 10 steps.

The treatment led to the doctor discovering that I had high blood pressure, it is a hereditary thing and it became a fear for me. It mandated me to watch what I eat, rest when necessary, and seek medical attention once I notice anything usual in my body system.

I have been living in fear since then, I need to live as long as possible to fulfill every bit of my dreams in life and also remain healthy to enjoy the fruits of my labor.


The fear of not making heaven.

I am a sinner and I go around committing sins unknowingly, I seek forgiveness always but there are times I get scared about it. What if my sins are too big? What if repeating one sin continuously will make me lose heaven?

It is hard to live in Nigeria and not commit sins, please signify if you aren't a sinner. If you refuse to, you will be forced


Fear of losing my loved ones.

This is beyond my control, I always pray not to lose anyone. My mom and siblings have been through a lot, they deserve to enjoy life to the fullest as well.

I wish to take my mom around the world to enjoy her hard work, the fear of not fulfilling that is a strong one and I pray not to lose her when it is time to stretch, relax and eat the fruit of her labor.

I mentioned earlier that our fears should only inspire us to do what's right, I am working on every area of my life that has to do with my fears.

Converting those fears into strength is what matters, never make the world make you feel like you are the worse person in the world for having your fears. It's normal, let it drive you to success in life.

Lead Image.


16
$ 4.25
$ 3.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 8
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

The fact that a person has fears does not make him weak. on the contrary, being aware of this and acting accordingly forces him to make strong decisions.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We all have fears in life. One of my fears is the fear of trying new things and thinking that it will fail. I always have that fear and sometimes I want to slap myself because it doesn't make sense to fear trying new things or maybe I'm a paranoid person.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This use to be me before, I usually find it hard to take a new step but I was able to do with the habit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we may have fears in life, but that would be not a hindrance not to making moves. if we let fears conquers us, then there's nothing we can do.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Our fears should inspire us to keep moving and not stop us from moving, we all have to understand that very well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The fear of making mistakes is the one I don't like, because i felt if I should do mistake, i will start all over

$ 0.02
1 year ago

We are all scared of that but it is for our own good because mistakes helps us become a better person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love how you're able to express your fears in here and it's realistic. You even confess that you're a sinner, believing that Christ did gave His life so you could live without sin is a gem. Sin means unbelief, sinning (stealing, adultery, drunkeness etc.) is the fruits of such unbelief in God. Jesus said that worrying will not even add one day to our lives. Live today and let God hold those fears...

Sometimes avoiding mistakes cost us more than allowing it, "there are times I make more mistakes for trying to reduce my mistake"

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I must admit that I am a sinner, hiding from the world is pointless when the Almighty God sees it all from above. Converting our fears to strength would do us a lot of good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is relatable for these are the kinds of fear that plague as all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Every human has almost the same fear but the way we handle them is quite different.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our fear should be the driving force for us. Sadly, most people allowed their fear to cage them and limit them. Courage is not the absence of fear but the presence of fear and yet the will goes on. There is no man without his fear or concerns...it's about how he choose to channel it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hmmm, courage is not the absence of fear. This is a huge one, channeling our strength in the right direction is what really matters...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, brother. That's what truly matters. Finding that strength from within.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A man who allows fear to control him will likely not achieve anything, using our weaknesses to strengthen ourselves is really good. Thumps up for the article.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's true, allowing our fear get the best of us usually doesn't end well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A man without fear is a man full of faith. I believe that if you think that your faith is suffice to everything that will going to happen, then there is nothing to be afraid of. But you know, we're not perfect so we still have phobias and self-doubt that creates new fear within us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Regardless of what our fears are, we must ensure that our faith stands strong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We all have fears. What i fear most is loosing my family to some disaster or attack. I just hope that i can deal with this part of me to know that nothing will happen to them.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Peju, nothing will happen to them. It is okay when these fears come up but we must always tell ourselves that no evil will befall us. Just have faith.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do have fears too, a lot. But only in God I rely on so that I can overcome it, as much as possible I dont want it to happen, and God is my only hope whatever happens.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

With God and hard work, we will all overcome our Fears.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The fear of what the future has for me is what I am holding onto. I am really scared of the future, I wish I could just see the future and know what it holds for me.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It won't be exciting anymore once we have the opportunity to see what's ahead, we just have to keep working hard to make a beautiful one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fear is like the wind that whips a ship on the high seas: Either we let the wind take us where it wants or we fix our sails so that it takes us where we want.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right sir, it is either we get the best out of it or allow it to take us to a wrong destination.

$ 0.01
1 year ago