Even our lands bled...

40 88
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

The memory of the last year's end SARS protest remains fresh in my head, seeing videos and images of what went down at Lekki Toll gate moved me to shed tears earlier today and it is hard to get my mind off because of its mental impact on me. Already, I had a rough night because I couldn't make it home from the farm and my clothes were wet.

The end SARS experience was something else, I really couldn't figure why a simple protest became a problem all over Nigeria. It started as a simple protest, the protesters were infiltrated and it was hijacked by hoodlums staged by the government.

I remembered seeing a government plate vehicle coming to pick up hoodlums from a disrupted protest ground, all in the name of what?

Shutting the mouth of the youth, depriving them of the better Nigeria they are seeking, greed, selfishness, corruption, abuse of power and it remains a shock to see that the people up there have nothing left as conscience, all they have left is cruelty.

Parents were made barren, wives became widows, children became orphans, people were killed like animals by the people they trusted the governance of the country with.

What led to the protest?

The End SARS protest started as a result of the police brutality on the youths, the people who are meant to protect the citizen were killing the citizens. The journey of youths with great dreams were cut short by the SARS, a section in the Nigeria police that is meant to protect the citizen from robbers as their name implies Special Anti - Robbery Squad (SARS).

They left their job and went hunting down young boys and girls, wearing expensive clothes became a problem, you can't make your hair nice, having a tattoo makes you their target, driving a nice car is a problem. Even youth who made their fortune from cryptocurrency were tagged as criminals, a lot of lives were wasted.

The youth couldn't hold it and decided to make their intentions known through a protest because they weren't pleased with the ill treatment of the youths, they came out in smaller groups across the country and more people kept joining including celebrities.

The protest ground became their home since the government weren't paying attention, they saw everything but pretended that nothing was happening, they heard the cry of the people but acted like they are deaf.

The government took several measures to end the protest but the spirit of the youth were strong and wouldn't stop until their demands were met. They started by throwing police out there to abuse the protesters, they were packed in large numbers to God knows where.

They froze the bank account where donations came in to support the protesters with food but cryptocurrency came to the rescue and it is one of the reasons they banned it since they had no power over our digital wallet. They ban Twitter because it was the platform we had in reaching out to the world showing them how we are been abused and treated but VPN gave us an edge over the ban.

Every measure failed and on the 20th of October 2020, they made us know the true beast they were.


The youth made their stand at the Lekki toll gate, the protest went from just during the day to a 24hrs task. While they were exercising their civic right, the lights at the toll gate went off and the next thing was gunshot, bullets were flying in the air. Protesters were hit, some died while some had the chance to live but they were deprived of getting help as the soldiers mounted blocks preventing ambulances from reaching the scene.

I was in tears just like I am writing this now, I couldn't hold back tears seeing people killed fighting for what they deserved. It was a peaceful protest, these youths weren't armed and the soldiers opened fire.

Videos went viral, people stood their ground to show the world what was going on but nothing was done about it. The soldiers couldn't be traced, the barracks deny any involvement, the governor denied knowing anything about it, the president also did the same.

So where did the soldiers come from, who ordered the shooting?

The killings didn't stop that day, lives were lost even days after all because we wanted a better Nigeria.

As I speak, the police brutality hasn't ended. We are human, I wish these people could put themselves in the shoes of the parents of the youths that were killed but it is a useless wish, you can't expect a heartless person to feel the pain of others.

It clearly means nothing can be done to redeem the future of the country as long as we have the greedy and corrupt people up there, they have turned the government into an in-house thing and the people votes no longer matter.

Will Nigeria ever be saved?

At this point, I think only God can take the country out of slavery. These wicked people are ready to take down anyone who serves as an obstruction to their selfish desires, I pray that the souls of the people who lost their lives during the fighting for freedom rest in perfect peace, and their sacrifices will never be in vain.

Amen...

The image was created by me using Canva App

14
$ 5.44
$ 4.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 13
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

When I read your words here, I am so heartbroken for you. I feel your love for your country the way I feel for mine. I feel as though being in Africa gives you this type of African soul that makes you both hate and love your country so much - yet it is not the country we hate, it is the "leaders", the power hungry thugs. I am so sorry for those innocent people who died. I only wish there was a way for the people to overthrow the government so that the good people could run the country and begin to build it up. I wish you all safety and hope and pray that things will get better for you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, we are all wishing to make things better but the problem is that even we the citizens are not united. We have the bad eggs who feed these greedy politicians information of what the masses are planning secretly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was also very sad yesterday when I was remembering all what happened. I pray God will come to heal the land

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nigeria needs healing, the face of the land is sore and only God can ease the pain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could not believe a drop of tears fall of my eyes as I was going going through your articles. I don't have much to say, if I should start writing about the problem of Nigeria it will not contain the whole of read.cash All I will say is that God should heal our land. Nigeria is sick and bleeding 😭😭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I watched those videos again, that night when the light was off and everyone started using their smartphones as light.

You need to see the crowd, I couldn't hold back tears. That cry and sound of pain are enough to move any human to tears but it is fun to our so-called leaders.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good will inflict anger to them one after the other. They have done enough

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Es algo realmente lamentable. Es muy triste e indignante ver como los gobiernos disponen de la vida de la gente y son consiente de como matan a la gente a diestra y siniestra. AquΓ­ en Venezuela tambiΓ©n hemos paso por ese tipo de situaciones terrible. AΓΊn no han terminado de pagar todo lo que han hecho pero allΓ‘ arriba hay u n Dios que castiga a los que hacen el mal, en algΓΊn momento lo harΓ‘.

Mucha fuerza y fortaleza amigo . Se que es doloroso recordar todo aquello. Es bueno que hayas contado todo esto y liberar un poco el dolor.

Muchas bendiciones para ti.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I couldn't think straight after reading this and other posts I have read yesterday about what happened in your country a year ago. It is such a brutal act for the government and the police force who are supposed to protect civilians but ended up hurting and killing them. I hope and pray the Heavens will move the hearts of wicked men in your country so they will change for the better.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I say amen to your prayer, these people are terrible and I fear what the future of Nigeria would be if things continue this way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just as I read in one of your comments, if Nigeria was a project, it is a failed one. These people don't care about anything and anyone. They know we know their ways but they don't care because they know there is nothing we can do and they have the weapons, power and resources. It's sad. So sad.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Like seriously, they don't really care about what people think about them. Bro, I never see my wine o

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ you haven't seen the wine? Ah... I have to check again o

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have been scammed, please check ooo 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. I must take this up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my! This is sad and horrible. When the government steps out being diplomatic as it should, everything would really go bad. So sorry to hear this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for your concerns, I have been wondering how a Democratic system of government becomes a system where the masses can't have a say

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A sad realityπŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I think it is only God that can heal Nigeria completely because we can't trust our government for the country development again All they want to do is to embezzle money and kill youth

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They are all after the money, I hope Nigerians think wisely before voting this time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abi now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me the only solution is to leave the country as soon as you can because the country is not worth fighting for; if you die fighting for the country then you died for nothing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a bitter truth, I just hope God intervenes. We need more than a human effort to make Nigeria great again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Believe me my heart is in still pain, for police brutality on the youths last year.They were for the protection of people, but they themselves were committing such brutal act.They will surly be punished by Almighty on the day of judgment.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Judgment awaits everyone but before that day, a lot of evil would happen. We pray for peace to rain

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will Nigeria ever be saved? Tricky question, but i say yes, as long as you and I do our own on a daily basis. That's how we start to fix it. There's no quick fix

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That means if it will get better, it has to be done individually. God help us all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All hope is not lost. Even that we all now look up to God for divine intervention, Nigeria is only passing this phase momentarily. Just like developed nations across the globe, she will come out victorious.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I say a big amen to that and I hope it happens in this generation, that would be great for us all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What you said, my dear friend, I experienced exactly in my homeland, unfortunately, all these misfortunes and blackness are the fate of innocent people living in third world countries.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

These are happening globally and we can only hope on God for peace to rain across the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love reading ur article. I believe that one day that God will rescue his people from the hands of this bad government of our country Nigeria and also give us our freedom we Biafrans

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I say a big amen to your prayers, may the will of Almighty God come to pass on Nigeria because he knows what's best for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And also thank God for the VPN at least we can make use of Twitter now with the help of the VPN

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Technology has gone better than they thought, they can't restrict us from the virtual world

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only God can rescue us in Nigeria because we all want a better Nigeria, we want transformation of our land but non is ready to listen to the voice of the poor I think all we have to do is to keep calling upon God to intervain.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

On a serious note, only God can help us out because the devil now lives in the heart of our politicians.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've read several articles how bad Nigerian government as of now, but I think most of countries suffer from bad government..haay I hope in time our government will be better for the sake of people not for the politicians benefits only

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What annoys me most is that they keep transferring the corruption mindset from generation to generation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that's how politician does hierarchy.. so they can transfer the corruption from generation to generation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago