Do you hate being criticized or corrected?

20 70
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Mistakes are part of our lives and it surprises me when people do not want to stand up for their mistakes, have you seen anyone who became great in life and has never made a mistake?

Thomas Edison wasn't getting something right and he went making mistakes with his bulb invention a thousand times before he got it right, the bad thing for him then was that he invented it and I am not sure if there was anyone to correct him but today we have the privilege of been corrected and yet many of us hate been corrected.


To my understanding, people feel like a failure after making mistakes but that's not true. Every mistake takes you a step closer to your target or dreams but you have to admit it was a mistake and make corrections.

It is okay to feel bad about it but it is not okay when you avoid getting corrected for the mistakes you do, whenever they happen; I tell myself that "it is okay, you are making progress". I put the mistakes behind me and embrace the correction so that I can bring the progress to reality.

Not admitting mistakes would only make you stuck at a point for as long as it takes you to admit that you are wrong. Imagine been corrected for using the wrong mathematical sign during a calculation but you insist that is the right one to use, will you ever arrive at the answers you are supposed to get?

Not taking correction would only make us keep rotating at one point, we must accept correction. It doesn't make us a lesser person, no one is too small to correct you as long as he/she/they are telling you the right thing to do.

Criticism comes in two forms, it could be as a result of hate or you ain't doing something right.

The first I do when I get criticized is check if the person intended to help me become better at what I am doing or to stop me from making progress at it, identifying which one it is would make me understand the next step to take.

If the criticism occurred as a result of hate, I will progress with it because it is certain the person just wants to see me quit that glorious path I am walking on but when it is the other way around, there is more to do.


Not all critics want you to stop whatever you are doing, some want you to get better at it because they know you aren't doing that thing well enough or the way it is meant to be done.

I was watching a music competition documentary and a lady who was rejected at audition three times came on to win the competition at her fourth attempt. She mentioned how the judges criticisms helped her to improve a lot and it made her a better singer, she didn't see it as a dead-end like many of us do today.

After one criticism, you hear people saying this is not my way. I have to try something else and in the end, nothing will be accomplished because we will keep jumping here and there because of critics.

Correction and Criticisms have something in common which is to help you become a better person but progress will only happen if you admit mistakes and embrace correction or seek the way forward. The choice is yours to make because whichever action you take would be yours to live with at the end of everything.

Whenever I grumbled while my mom was correcting me then she would say, a child that refuses to take correction will find it difficult to grow and it wasn't long before I realized it even as a teenager.

No one is perfect, even the first man on earth made mistakes so who are you not to as a descendant?


Lead image


This article was written by me and it first appeared Here.

14
$ 9.82
$ 9.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Majokdit
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Someone who hates correction isn't ready to learn. Criticism can be painful especially when it isn't dished out in a polite manner.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Before yes. But as I grow older, nope. I just keep silent and then reflect on why they say so. If I think they are right, I silently thank them but when it's wrong, oh well, who cares, lol! I can be hurt too of course especially when the way they criticize or correct me is too vulgar. I mumble at times in my mind but I don't dwell on them. It also depends on the person giving the criticism. If it's someone I respect, I would listen well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, the kind of person the critics is play a huge role as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Criticisms can help us to improve ourself 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I said this to DocLayla's article. I prefer receiving criticism as I learn how to correct my mistakes...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A lot of people don't see the good part of it and that's why they get angry at critics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoy being corrected because it allows me to see where I am making mistakes and how I can improve. I understand that no one is perfect, but as the saying goes, two heads are better than one, and if two people look at things from different perspectives, they will be able to see clearly the mistakes they made and correct themselves.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, taking corrections makes you a better person because you will learn a lot from them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love me some constructive criticism. Truth is that you are right about different reasons for criticising, some do it to discourage you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is left for us to know why we are been criticized and make amendments if the criticism makes sense.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its ok to be corrected and criticized if it was done properly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate being criticized. Because no one deserves to be . And I liked to be corrected if that person really wants me to be good nextym or just feeling perfect hahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Criticism doesn't mean people hate you, there are usually good ones as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mistakes exist so we can learn from the steps we took that failed so we take another one..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right, when we don't learn it would be difficult to make progress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are times when my pride cannot admit or accept having mistakes if someones try to correct me, I just act that I am listening but actually, I am doing something else like thinking about how to prove that I was right. Then I sometimes that it's not right. I should be open-minded in accepting the fact that even a carabao with four legs sometimes gets unbalanced while walking.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Trying to prove them wrong when you are actually wrong is not a good thing because they wouldn't correct you any longer and just watch you make numerous mistakes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is true. having too much pride in oneself and being overconfident is a trashy behavior. It shouldn't be tolerated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mistake is bound to happen and we should know the next thing to do is to correct them. We should embrace correction cos it's what matters most

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Embracing and taking corrections works a lot for those who do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago