Conversation couples shouldn't start.

20 44
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

It is a beautiful Monday morning, it was a long night for me because I sleep off while watching the Africa Cup of Nations final last night and didn't wake up until almost 7 am this morning. I woke up to know that Senegal won the competition with the penalty shootout, I wish for Salah to take the crown but I guess the best legs won.

I appreciate one of us here who checked up on me because I haven't been consistent lately, I have a lot on my table right now and it is hard to manage time since my health dropped again lately but as long as the platform is here, I won't hesitate to cook up an article when I am free and good to do that.

A relationship is beautiful but tricky as well and feelings can turn sour in the twinkle of an eye with even an ordinary discussion, a lot of people have misunderstood the meaning of transparency in relationships which has made lots of relationships have trust issues while some even meet with their end. It is good to be transparent in our love life but there are things that your spouse shouldn't know, before you make up your mind on the things that your spouse shouldn't know then you must have understood your spouse's behavior very well.

I doubt if there are people who still go into relationships without knowing their spouse too well, love was once blind but it now seems very clear.

During my school days, there was this guy that comes with a vehicle but doesn't help anyone despite having lots of us who went in his direction. One day we insisted on following him and he had no choice and he begged everyone not to drop or forget anything in the car. He further told us why and I understood the fact that the wife is either overprotective, the jealous type, or someone who doesn't have this full trust for her husband.

The man knows his wife well and wouldn't dare to start a conversation of helping some of his classmates with his wife because she can start having a series of silly thoughts which can ruin their moments.


Understanding your spouse properly is something you should do before even making the move to propose marriage or say yes to a proposal.

There are discussions I feel couples should not go into regardless of how patient, understanding or cool your spouse is because such conversations sometimes make them feel incapable or worthless.

Discussion about your previous sex life:

(This is the point that prompted this article so it will come first). A guy said in my presence that he misses his ex-girlfriend because of sex and I was shocked, he said even his lover knows. They have had a conversation about it several times where he made her understand that she can't match his previous girlfriend when it comes to sex.

I couldn't involve in such a conversation because I don't know most of them, I was only taking the fresh air under the tree when they arrived and sat around also.

Talking about your sex life with your ex is a terrible thing to do in a relationship because it will create a serious trust issue which automatically kills the feelings bit by bit until it dries completely.


Making your spouse know that they aren't doing things the way you like isn't bad but the way we present it is what matters, the discussion should be a direct one and shouldn't have a pinch of anything that has to do with your previous relationship. The love, care, and anything from the previous relationship should be bygone as long as you don't find the relationship worth staying in anymore.

If every relationship was perfect, no one will date more than one person before they tie the knot. We live with each other imperfections and that's how it has been for people who are living happily today after many years in their relationships.

Comparing your spouse with people:

Is that how your mate does? Isn't a particular person a man or woman like you? These kinds of words shouldn't come up in discussions when talking about things that you see as shortcomings in relationships.

It is impossible not to have heated discussions because even the relationship we see as perfect still talk things out, minding our utterance is a big deal because words can reduce your spouse's effort or morale to nothing when you compare him or her to someone we think they are doing better meanwhile the people you are comparing them with aren't perfect either but they have learned to endure, correct, and live with their spouse in peace.


When I told my mom about my first relationship, she laughed at me. I remembered that laughter and her words, she said "you are too young, you have a lot to learn about relationships".

I thought there wasn't anything too serious about being in a relationship and as I grow, I learned my lessons with breakups. A lady once broke up with me because I missed my ex a lot and talked about her very well even in the middle of an important discussion, I discovered that I was making her feel like she wasn't enough for me but it was too late.

There are discussions that shouldn't hold and if you aren't sure of how it would make them feel, put yourself in their shoes first.


It is a beautiful week and I hope we are all ready to grab every opportunity life brings our way, wishing everyone a great day.

Lead image.

13
$ 5.12
$ 4.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 7
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

This is actually legit, I'm not with anyone but when I hear my parents talking then my mom just bringing up another name of a woman to my fathen then that's the start of nonstop war between them haha. It's cute though but they make sure that before the night ends they will be okay again.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Arguments are inevitable but I like the fact that they settle immediately as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. There are limits to the type of conversation you go into with your spouse especially if it relates or talkes about your ex.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nothing about your ex should be talked about but I think we cant dispose the memories so quickly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The one I hate most is that comparison of a thing, and I think it is also connected to the first point you gave, because discussing about previous sex life is also a comparison: between the old and the new.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No one love to be compared because it makes one look terrible and performing below the best of the previous lover, if the person was perfect then you shouldn't have left the relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Discussing the private things you've done to your previous relationship is a total red flag. It's inappropriate in the sense that, why are you still bringing it up when you already have someone in the present. The other would become insecure because he/she might think that he/she is not enough. Comparing also is another red flag in a relationship. That lowers the self-esteem and confidence of your partner.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The idea of not being enough for your spouse raises lots of questions that sometimes can't be asked and it results in funny behaviors that can end the relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. One should be sensitive enough to feel what the other could feel in doing such things. It will all start the tainted relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These may be valid in short relationships and in new relationships, but I think that love, trust and respect come first in long-term relationships of people who know each other well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Short? If you say so but how would you feel if after thirty years, your spouse suddenly say that he or she misses his or her previous relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't feel anything, then I tell him to be with him and leave. I guess I didn't fully understand what I was trying to say. I just emphasized that long-term relationships and new relationships will be different.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel this is a true statement. Indeed, in matters of relationship in love, the strictest code of ethics is a matter of privacy which actually should not be published, let alone comparing your ex to a new boyfriend. really unethical. better shut up

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love the word, unethical. It is very inappropriate to make your spouse feel like they are nothing compared to their previous lover, it can hurt more than we can imagine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yes these two things will kill your relationship pretty quickly!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As long as I won't take it, I wouldn't try to hurt my spouse by doing the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, it's a saddest scenario George. If the person missed his/him and share it your partner is not acceptable. In a relationship there will be dos and donts'. We should be aware about that. There are things that we need to be keep to our partners like about that thing.

Your partner will surely felt the pain and loneliness because it means you are not contented yet to your partner. Misunderstanding will exist. Its really painful that's why we should avoid this kind of attitude.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Being contented is one of the qualities everyone must possess in a relationship, we don't have any connection with our past relationship. I am not against talking about our past life but there must be restrictions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes George indeed. There's should a limitations of our actions and the words we said. There's a right time also in each one thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trust, care and understanding are important factors to hold any relationship. Because insecurities in relationship can lead to its ending.

$ 0.00
2 years ago