Childhood dreams; dreams without limits.

22 57
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Even though we had to depend on our parents for many things as kids, dreaming wasn't one of them. It was great being in charge of that one thing as a kid, it was fun having the ability to fly in between the clouds in our imagination even without wings knowing fully well that it is impossible.

Isn't it fun having dreams bigger than our life conditions? I mean how does a little boy who sleeps on a mat with his mom and siblings every night in an empty room dream of becoming a pilot? That should tell you how free it was and is to dream, it could have been a different story if we had to pay for every dream we had as a kid; I might still be paying the debt to date.

I was and am still a big dreamer, I never stopped doing it because it gives this rare energy that helps me push on in life even though I know that I have small chances of fulfilling that dream.

I grew up in some part of Mafoluko in Oshodi and seeing planes fly over the roof of our house is a view that I found very entertaining, I was so obsessed with the sounds and how that heavy machine carries itself above the buildings into the sky. On many occasions, I wished I could see through the plane.

There was a particular day that I and the kids playing made kites with the hopes of them reaching into the sky to an extent an airplane would notice it but it was a wasted effort, we moved away from Oshodi after the bomb blast and I missed the airplane views because the planes were closer to the ground when taking off or landing since Ikeja airport isn't far from our residence.

I started growing up and understood that becoming a pilot was expensive and my mom wouldn't be able to afford it, I took so much interest in football along the line since I was good at it. I can succeed at it as well but I broke a bone when the opportunity came knocking on my door.

Life left me with just that one dream of flying a plane, I had to focus more on my studies probably I can get a scholarship to the aviation school. Everyone in my class knew about my dream after a career talk day was hosted by the school, I got the nickname Captain Tom after the event.

Unfortunately, there was nothing like a scholarship exam in the aviation school. Admission into any aviation school requires one to be rich because it cost a lot of money, I couldn't bother my mom so I gave up on it.

Light of hope shined on me when an older friend told me that we should join the Army, I was just young even though I had mature physic and didn't want to die young. I expressed my fear he said that I can fly a plane if I joined the air force and that was cool to me.

I told my mom and she supported me, we started gathering information immediately. The first step was passing the Nigeria Defense Academy exam which shouldn't be a problem because I was fairly good with my studies, I did the registration and went for the exams.

I was so certain about the exam because the questions were familiar, we weren't allowed to take the past question out of the barracks else I would have had proof of my score. I think 10 or 20 students who got the highest score will be taken from each state in the country and my hopes were high on that. The result came and my name wasn't on the list, it was demotivating so I wrote the exam twice after but nothing happened.

I spoke to a military man I met on the road then and he told me that NDA is not an easy place to get into, he advised me to join the ordinary recruit and I can find my path to the top from there but I wasn't interested. I didn't want to die before reaching my destination so I had to let go of the dream, It hurts me a lot because some of my childhood friends still call me that to date.

My hope was intact until I clocked 24, I wasn't expecting a miracle anymore at that age. Meanwhile, I applied for admission to study computer science when I was 20 and got admission into the Lagos State Polytechnic. I was working since I had to sponsor my education, study, and seek opportunities that didn't come.


Today, I am neither a pilot, footballer, nor computer scientist. I am a happy fish farmer and a writer, my journey in life has made me realize that there is a difference between what we want and the plans God has for us.

Society isn't helping, the government does not have plans for the future. There are lots of dreams and talents wasting out there just because there is no help or support, these dreams and talents would have made a huge difference in the country.

We must include God always in our journey to guide us in life, I still have those dreams in my head living for free and it could have been a different story if I came from a wealthy him. Regardless of what point I am standing in life, I am still grateful to God for everything and how far he has taken me through life.

This article was written by me and it first appeared HERE.

Lead image.

Thanks for reading.

13
$ 3.43
$ 3.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 6
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

Man proposes, God disposes. I'm glad you said you're happy, happy at fishing and writing, it's actually great and lovely. In Nigeria, it's quite hard to pursue the profession of becoming a pilot. But i love your childhood dreams, for the fact that people still refer to you as such, simply means that but for funds, you were really serious about achieving your goals. Lol, what did I know about life. I finally knew what I actually would have studied, few months back. After using four years in the polytechnic studying a course that isn't really connected to what I want to be.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Are you serious? What is it that you wanted but did otherwise?

There are a lot of things we wanted as a kid and despite running to make it happen, they didn't it is great when we can do something different aside from childhood dreams.

The thing is that we aren't stagnant and that means a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's funny how corrupt the country is now that even people who merit certain positions still so not get it. I'm glad that you're not devastated by not becoming a pilot and you've moved on with your life. It's the country we have found ourselves in and in all things we must give glory to God.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Nigeria as a country has killed the dreams of many children and it's best when we move on to achieve other things in life. We can't get stuck in those dreams.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had so many dreams when I was a kid, from engineer to pilot then down to a banker before settling for a medical doctor but now I am studying fisheries in the university, will that even be what I will end up doing in life? Nobody knows except God

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Trust me when I say God knows about everything on your journey, he knows what's best for you, and the most important thing is you be happy with whatever you are doing

As long as you are happy with what you are doing, the lord is with you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Childhood dreams and memories tends to come to reality someday

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not all buddy, most don't come through.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least little of it end up coming to reality, God knows more friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We may have limits as an individual, but our dreams and imaginations are not. It may not be the time for you to become a pilot, but you will be in the future. We don't know what the future will bring.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is quite encouraging, but I don't believe in becoming a pilot anymore. I wouldn't mind flying a plane but not as a profession.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All these might have come true if you were abroad or from a rich family or if our government were good people. It's fine that we are grateful for where we are now cos at least we are not on the street begging for alms. God knows the best for us, so many dreams we have dreamt truly.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Doing nothing because of a failed dream would have been the real issue, we just have to keep trying to get the best out of life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel sorry for you. I wish you had passed the exam and succeeded. You would have fulfilled your dream. Don't be sad. Don't forget this promise: What if we didn't become great men? we didn't sell our dreams my friend, the translation did not translate my last word correctly. I'm writing you in Turkish: Ne olmuş yani,büyük adam olamadıysak, heyallerimizi satmadık ya!!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh, you are from Turkey. How are you doing over there?

There isn't assurance that I will succeed as a pilot, God truly knows the best for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah iam from Türkiye dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes ,put God at the center in everything we are doing.One day some of our dreams will cone true in God's will .

$ 0.02
1 year ago

He doesn't fail or forsake us, he knows the best and will give us what's right if we are patient enough to follow his lead

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gods will for a man, no matter how small it may will make a man shine bright like the sun. And being grateful for the little things we have earned will open multiple doors for more amazing things to come in.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right, there are bigger blessings ahead. We just have to follow his lead.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I love the last part, being grateful to God for everything that happened.

Our plans are different from God's plan. Even though our plans are always beautiful and good but God's own is the best.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's true, he knows more than we know and definitely won't make the wrong decisions for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago