An unforgettable experience that impacted me positively.

18 56
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Some certain events happen in our life and the impact would be an everlasting one on us, it would reshape us and sometimes make us dedicate our minds and resources towards something great in life. I have many times been a beneficiary of people's kindness but someone did something that made me doesn’t hesitate to give as long as I have the power to do it.

I laughed it off today when I see someone who refuses to help others because they don’t have enough, some act of kindness doesn’t require you to be rich, and doing it from the little you have is what makes it special.

This experience happened over 16 years but the impact on me would never get old.


I came from a poor background but education was a priority for my mother, she is a strong woman who believed so much in education so it made her give everything she had. Despite her effort, my education was rough and I remember how they didn’t hesitate to chase me out of school on many occasions.

The junior school-leaving examination came, mom did her best and I sat for the examination. I passed and the family was happy about it. Soon it was graduation day, I told my mom about it and she told me that she doesn’t have the power for it; I knew it was hard for her because my younger sibling was also writing an exam at that time.

From the moment she told me that she wouldn’t be paying for the graduation, I became a sad boy and everyone noticed it. I can’t blame her; she wouldn’t have hesitated to pay for it if she had the money. I made up my mind that even if she wouldn’t pay, I must attend the event. I won’t be stopped from attending but I wouldn’t be recognized as a grandaunt and the only thing that could hinder me was that all my clothes are old.

I was depressed, and my mood worsened but mom had nothing she could do about it. It affected my engagement everywhere, the day came and I locked myself indoors. I was sad and crying badly, mom had gone out to find our daily bread and my younger ones were in school already.

It was around 10 am when I heard someone knocking on the compound gate, I didn’t leave my room because we stayed in a rented apartment and it could have been anybody. The person kept knocking so I decided to go check who was there, I forgot to dry my tears as I left my room.

I opened the gate and it was our church member who was close to the family, he worked as a plumber. He had work to do in the house so the landlord called him, I helped with his bag and he was asking why I didn’t go to school. I told him we were having a party and I can’t attend because we couldn’t afford the graduation fee.

He looked at me and patted me, he said I should just go and have fun with my friend even though I wouldn’t be recognized as a grandaunt. It was then I opened up to him that my clothes were old, he went to the landlord to collect his service fee even before he started the work and handed it over to me. I turned it down but he insisted, he took his phone and called my mom. I went to meet her and we went to the market where fairly used clothes were sold to get a top and trouser for $2, we rushed back home and I went to prepare for the event.

I was ashamed for not matching my friend’s standard but I was the happiest person when I was called for the second overall best student, I could feel eyes on me as I was walking to the podium.

Firstly, I wasn’t having the graduation gown. The fairly-used cloth has this common smell that made everyone that I just got it, all that didn’t matter to me as I received the prize with pride.

I ran back home to show my mom what I got, she told me to take it to the man who helped me with the cloth. He prayed for me and I returned home. I didn’t have a better understanding of what he did until I got a bit older and it is one of the reasons why I don’t hesitate to give to people in need as long as I have.

The man is in his 60s now and is reaping his kind act towards me then, we regard him as a father because we because closer after what he did for us. Later on, he made me understand that he was supposed to use the money to buy some drugs because he wasn't feeling good but he couldn't stand the way I was feeling and God blessed him with multiple folds of the money he gave me because he got a house contract two days after.


A lot of people believe in having millions before helping others which is not true, a small act of kindness could change someone’s life completely. Before Covid19, I work as a sales and logistic supervisor, and two years after leaving the job, my team still comes around to celebrate their success with me because I didn’t hesitate to give them jobs when I was in the position to do so.

We all have the power to touch lives but many of us feel like we need more to make that decision, I don’t know about others but I feel really happy whenever I can help someone out there. It is one of our purposes and I might not have realized it without what happened back then.

Helping others is part of me and I feel terrible in some situations when I can't help, aside from the fact that there is a heavenly reward for showing kindness - it is an act of restoring hope in the life of the beneficiary and the best way to transfer the lesson that it is important to show love and kindness always as long as we have the power to do so.

The article was actually written for a contest on another platform but I had to share it here since I am super busy today and won't be able to come up with an article.

I hope everyone is having a great weekend?


Lead image.

14
$ 4.30
$ 4.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 5
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

This is just awesome. Sometimes our blessings are hiding in disguise and it usually manifest when we show an act of kindness to another person, just like what happened to the plumber. He sowed a seed in your life many years ago, and till now he is still reaping the fruits

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Every act of kindness is a seed planted and will be reaped if not by us, by our children or even grandchildren.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Teaching men to fish is of course the long-term solution, which also includes savings/investing (cryptocurrencies!). But there are other times - call them big and small "emergencies" - when actually giving someone hungry a fish is a better short-term response. Obviously, one kind action can even pave the way to the long-term solution, for truly appreciative souls (like you).

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like your point, I agree that there are sometimes urgencies to a particular need but giving a lasting solution is better.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It feels great to meet people like this man you mentioned, once in a lifetime we will met people unexpectedly and will bring impact to our luves that we will bring until we get old.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I feel great not just because I am a beneficiary of his kindness but because of the lessons I learned from him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow... Just wow. He was supposed to use it to get drugs but he put your needs above his and God kept him healthy too. Most people that give, they don't have everything, it's all about sacrifices.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's how I learned that we don't need millions to be a giver, that spare two hundred can make someone else's day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that I look at it, I think I'm bad at keeping tabs on past events. I can't even remember events of 10 years ago so I'm surprised how you remember something that happened 16 years ago so well

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am poor with remembering events too but this changed my life and made it unforgettable for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The plumber proved to be an angel as you. We must be generous and doesn't thought much about spending money in helping others

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We should try to help whenever we have the opportunity to do so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that's what we call humanity and sacrifice. God! He even had something to do with the money! His own health fa! What a man!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's huge for me, it might not have been a huge health issue. Probably just drugs for stress and ache but regardless of how small the need for the drug might be, many wouldn't have done the same.

I wouldn't have done the same having only that money with me but I have learned a huge life lesson from him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Touching story indeed, that 60years old man really made a sacrifice. Helping others might just also be the key one would need to open the door to lasting relationships, times double of what one gave out and opportunities. So sad, I'm just quite selfish... I really wish it was so easy to change. Thanks for these words of knowledge George, it was soul lifting.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Selfish? You think so, tell me why you think you are selfish..

The man's sacrifice that day was huge, I didn't understand it that day. I got to know the importance of every penny earned before I understood how huge his sacrifice was for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know how to give, George. Especially giving to someone I don't know, I also find it hard to give without expecting something in return. Except for families and very close friends.

Yes, indeed it was huge

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lolz, one step at will change your orientation about giving.

$ 0.00
2 years ago