Welcoming You Home

4 27

Overseas Filipino Worker is termed to describe a Filipino migrant who works in a different country.

Our countrymen's main goals for venturing abroad are to help their families, to give them enough money to build their own home, or to be able to save enough money to build their own home. One of the reasons they choose open job opportunities in other neighboring countries has to do with the lack of job opportunities in our country.

But before anything else, I'd like to extend my gratitude to my sponsors for their support, and you can visit their accounts to read interesting piece.

Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

My older brother is one of the Filipinos who decided to go abroad to save money; he already has a family of his own and two children, so he has a higher priority in life now. We have a big age gap of almost nine years, I believe. There's another story behind that, but let's not get into that right now because it's off the topic. Anyway, because of the age gap between us, this may be one of the reasons we haven't been as close as being siblings. Of course, I was a back fighter as a child, and because of my immaturity, we always got into fights over a lot of issues. But as I've grown older, I've come to understand some of his claims, and I've come to understand why he lectured me back then. And now that he has a family of his own, I have become even closer to him and his wife, especially of course to my nephews. He left last year to work abroad once more, choosing to work in a far distant location although his wife was pregnant at the time. Well, they bought it with a positive attitude, and they came to this decision knowing that they would both have to make a lot of sacrifices for their growing family in exchange, regardless of whether it was being separated from each other for a long time.

While working there he never missed to contact us in messenger during his break to keep us updated with each other doing. Though our virtual conversation had a lot of backstories that he couldn't tell us, I know behind all those laughs he made. I could tell he was thrilled to see his newborn son, whom I introduced in my recent post "Merry of our December", but I also knew he was saddened by the fact that he would have to endure a little more months being away from them for work first.

It's been almost a year since he left, and he recently informed us that he will be returning in March. And now he's on a flight from Canada to the Philippines, where, given the current health protocols in relation to the pandemic, he'll be quarantined for a few days before being sent back to here in our province. He was constantly calling UC, stating that instead of going abroad, he planned to stay and start a business. His dream has always been to be a seaman and travel abroad for at least five years, and he now claims to have accomplished that goal. Now he chooses to stay for good, to see that he says the children grow up and even our parents as they get older. Can you believe how great he was for those five years? He accomplished a lot, not only did his dream come true, but he was also able to buy his own land and build his own house, which is why he was one of my inspiration ever since because of the dedication that he put to the things he wants to achieve.

We won't have a welcome party or anything when he arrives as it's against the health protocols as for now, but we will greet him with so much delight when he returns. Cannot wait to see his emotional face when he see his son haha. We'll have to wait a few days before we can see him again, but it's enough for us to know that he'll be able to return to the in our country safely.


You can check a few of my previous works here

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

Support and Follow me here:

https://read.cash/@GelayyLumiere

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy

2
$ 1.03
$ 1.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @DennMarc
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I'm sure your brother is happy seeing everyone especially his children. Ehem, chocolates lang po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha di po yun nagpapasalubong pinipilit nyang tipidin di lang sarili nya pati kami hahaha kaya di na ko magtataka kung bakit nakakaipon sya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So Happy that he's successful already. It's not easy to be well to do in this situation of economic harshness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the appreciation, I know he would be glad to read these kind of comments

$ 0.00
2 years ago