Raising A Parent

2 21

"It's difficult to raise a parent," I've heard a lot lately. Consider the ramifications of thinking about this "saying" in its literal sense. Why do we have to raise parents when we are the children in the first place, and we are our parents' responsibility? This seemed to me to be a ridiculous belief. That has always been my motivation for doing this.

But before anything else, I'd like to extend my gratitude to my sponsors for their support, and you can visit their accounts to read interesting piece.

Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

However, I eventually figured out what this belief meant, which is that it's a metaphor with sensible meaning. The child's and parent's situation becomes reversible as we grow older and learn to be responsible and stand on our own two feet as adults. We should only express our gratitude for our parents' sacrifices, not financially but physically when we reach the appropriate age. According to what I've read here, one of the things that many Filipinos say is that relying on the eldest sibling to support our parents is a toxic trait. It is also wrong at times to give everything to a child, especially financially, but I believe it is our responsibility as children to repay our parents' good deeds and affection. For example, when we were children, they took care of us when we were sick, and I believe we should do the same when they are sick because parents are vulnerable as well. They cannot always fulfill all of their responsibilities and work on a daily basis.

Our parents are growing older, and as they do, their ability to do certain things diminishes, as is the case in life. I believe that the sacrifices our parents made during their youth until they married were equivalent to how weak they became as they grew older. So, after I graduate, one of my goals is to work for them first so that I can repay the sacrifice they made in order for me to finish school.

They've been complaining for a year that their bodies are constantly in pain, that they faint easily, and that they frequently have rheumatic attacks. They have visited numerous clinics and doctors for advice and medication because they are ill, but it appears that no one is listening to them, and the cost of the drugs recommended to them is not insignificant. It's been a week since my aunt advised my parents to try drinking Anlene, calcium-rich milk recommended for adults. They've been complaining for a year that their bodies are constantly in pain, that they faint easily, and that they frequently have rheumatic attacks. They have visited numerous clinics and doctors for advice and medication because they are ill, but it appears that no one is listening to them, and the cost of the drugs recommended to them is not insignificant. It's been a week since my aunt advised my parents to try drinking Anlene, calcium-rich milk recommended for adults. Of course, I lectured them that they don't have to save for themselves, especially on things that will help them recover and it's really good and they follow, for their own good as well.

After a while, there appears to be an improvement because, according to my mother, the frequency of pain in their bodies has decreased, but they avoid overeating as much as possible. The effects of the said milk will take a long time to wear off, but they are hoping that a few units will cure some of their ailments.


You can check a few of my previous works here

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

I do not own the images used in these posts, hence no copyright infringement is intended.

Support and Follow me here:

https://read.cash/@GelayyLumiere

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy

2
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments

True sis, Our parents are getting older and time will come that they can't manage their body also, kaya time naman siguro natin na tayo naman ang mag alaga sa kanila..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo po kasi kahit kailan never naman silang nagdemand ng kapalit para sa pagiging magulang nila sa atin, I know its their responsibilities to raise us pero syempre utang na loob pa rin natin sa kanila kung sino tayo sa ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago