Rainbow Connection

12 31

In continuation about the topic that I shared from my previous article Thoughts and Realization In Cultural Diversity, I would like to share something that happens on a week of our preliminary examination while we were studying the topics on regard to the matter of the LGBTQIA+ community one of my classmates Angelica state her concern she said that she would like to know if there is someone from our class who are homophobic. I got curious and ask her why would she like to know that, and then there when she started to tell me that she is a part of the community and she admit that she is a pansexual. I have a little knowledge about pansexual as I often watch some documentaries about this matter. My classmates got curious about what a pansexual is, as they were just familiar with Lesbian, Gays, Bisexual, and Trans but they said that it was new to their ears the word pansexual. Since Angelica got a bit caught in a hot seat I took the opportunity to help her explain what it is, of course, I ask Angelica from time to time her opinion just to make sure that I'm explaining the right information about this matter.

Before I explain to you all what pansexual is, I would like to inform you first how we are diverse into three categories depending on our interests and attributes. First is sex which is the physical identification of the biological sex that we are born with, followed by gender or the attitude that we gain through experience it is something that we can learn from what we are dominant with (masculinity or femineity). Sexuality refers to our social behavior which includes our sexual and emotional attraction toward another person. Pansexual is a gender in which they do not put emphasis on what they were attracted to and they can have an attraction to anyone regardless of their gender.

Going back, Angelica also stated that she was afraid to act freely as herself knowing that there is the possibility that there might be a homophobic in our class, of course, I assured her that in our groups she can be comfortable letting her real characters out as it was really fine with us. In a matter of fact, we love Angelica the way she is and we would like to protect her by all means possible just to keep the happiness that she has now.

Fortunately one of the activities that were given to us was to watch and create a reflection on the documentary video entitled The Gender Code. You can see it for yourself here it's full of information and it will pretty much answer to deal with the bombarded questions of society.

It took me two nights to finish watching this as I decided to watch it slowly to comprehend all the details that Luka (the writer and director of the documentation) wanted the watcher to understand. Watching this feels like a roller coaster road in history, I was furious but at the same time mortified by the fact the LGBTQIA+ community went through before they gained the freedom that they had today. Their union through the past was treated as inhuman by society, they were blamed, accused, and tortured treating them as an epidemic in society even today they are still few who wouldn't still even understand them. Knowing that this matter was already proven by science.

This matter has already been the subject of a scientific investigation that determined how each person's dominant brain affected their perceived interests in life as well as their personality features, proving that gender is not simply divided into two categories. The lack of words to clearly identify persons who belonged to homosexuals produces a lot of misunderstanding and ignorance in society. There is nothing wrong with expressing these interests, instead, they are only afraid of being labeled heterosexual, which makes them avoid heterosexuals. The only thing that society needs now is acceptance and openness in this matter and this is to prevent the suppression of the freedom of LGBTQIA+ members as well as the attraction of men and women to other people of the same sex who exhibit feminine or masculine characteristics.

I'm ending it here, I don't want you to get overwhelmed by these, and please do correct me if I may had include incorrect information that I laid here. I would also love to hear your opinion regarding this matter.


You can check a few of my previous works here

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

Images were from Unsplashed.com

Support and Follow me here:

https://read.cash/@GelayyLumiere

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy


6
$ 0.05
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.02 from @GarrethGrey07
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Respect and acceptance is all they need sis. Anyway I am only familiar with lesbian's and gay's, I haven't heard about this pansexual and thank you for letting us know.😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Glad to know that yu were able to learn something here. Thank you for reading

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the first time I heard about pansexual. But respect is what we really need in our society. We cannot control other's feelings for what they really are. We just need to accept everything and live our life supporting them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tama po yan we all have different ideals and personality respect nalang talaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, for me acceptance is a mass talaga, sah generation natin ngayon Dapat tanggap natin ang society meron tayo ngayon,pero hindi ibig sabihin yakapin moh nah ito, dapat parin tingnan talaga kung ikakasama bah natin oh hindi.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Good point po, lalo na at di maiiwasan magng sensitive ang topic na ito kung irerelate religiously

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes po tama po kayo sis, God Bless po sayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May natunan ako sa article mo ngayon langga. Pinanood ko yung video din. Lahat pantay-pantay tayo langga.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for your time reading po, sana marami pang maeducate ang article na to regarding gender and sexuality

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're always welcome langga. Yes langga. Sana langga marami pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bago salen yan may pansexual pala..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually marami pa pong genders na hindi lang din nabibigyan pansin yung definition sincesociety focus more on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans.

$ 0.00
1 year ago