"What if?"

13 46
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
1 year ago
Sponsors of GarrethGrey07
empty
empty
empty

What if I choose to be away from my family to have a better future? What if I did? Do I have a better life today? For sure the answer would be, Yes.

So hello there lovelies, it's me again, having a hard time to get an interesting topic to share as I am being too lazy today. Lol. The cold weather won't allow my brain and body to be productive. However I do read numbers of articles today, but I didn't consider it as productivity.

Well today I didn't do any special. I just keep on wandering around the internet and scrolling up and down in my Facebook.

While the rain is pouring, my memory is traveling back to my old life. The starting point of my regrets and what if?

23 year's ago..

I was eleven years old when I meet a couple who never had a child of their own. They are actually my younger brothers Godparents and so my father has a good connection with them.

Unsplash.com

Since my father is a carpenter they always go to our house, if they need someone to fixed something in their house and so they built a good friendship.

The couple comes from a wealthy family, but they are very humble.

One time they look for someone to help them sweep their yard, as at their yard they have lots of plants and they also have some fruit trees, and so every day their yard was full of fallen leaves. They ask my father if he can recommend someone to them as they want a trustworthy person to work with them.

Unsplash.com

Since the job is too light and easy, my father recommend me to them. At eleven years old I already know how to sweep and so they accepted me, besides I only need to sweet their yard in the morning before I go to school and in the afternoon after I finish my school then I can go back home.

The couple is very kind, they always offer me some food every time I go there to sweep their yard and they always ask me about school. They always told me that if I needed something for school I should just let them know. Also from them, I learned to eat bitter gourd šŸ˜. In our home I don't eat bitter gourd as I don't like it's bitterness, but the wife forced me to eat that vegetable as she says it was good for me.

Unsplash.com

At my younger age, I was too thin and so the wife is very much concerned about my health. Every time I go to their house to sweep their yard she always offer me some food or snacks. She won't allow me to go home if I won't eat as she wants me to gain some weight. As a kid I really don't understand her, but I do follow her as a respect and also I always love the food that she always prepare.

Every time that the husband was out for business trip, I always accompany the wife in their house as she can't sleep alone. I really like the smell of their house and every morning she always prepare a delicious meal for us. Since they show me their kindness, I become comfortable with them.

But then the time came that my family needs to transfer. Which means,we will be living a bit far from the house of the couple. Since I was already high school that time and I have been working to them for almost one year. They felt sad that I can no longer help them to sweep their yard and so they tried to ask my parents if they will allow me to stay with them. Which means I will be separated from my family.

They gave assurance to my parents that I can still continue my studies and they are willing to support my studies until I finish college. And since my parents wants me to have a better future they agree. They allow me to stay in their house until I graduated college, but the problem was I disagree.

My parents tried to convince me, besides I am allowed to visit them every weekend but I still refuse.

At that time I'm still innocent about the future. At the age of twelve all I wanted is to be with my family, and I don't care about the future.

The couple was a bit sad as I refuse to stay with them. They have already trusted me and so they tried to convince me but I still refuse.

Currently

Now that I have already seen the bitterness of adulthood, I realized that refusing to have a better future is wrong. If only I listened to them, I think I won't struggle this way. If I can only turn back the time, I would definitely prefer to be separated from my family and have a better future.

But it's all had passed and no matter how much I regretted that decision, I can no longer turn back the time. I can no longer change the fact that I have already wasted the better opportunity for me.

I can only imagine my life if I had finish my studies. I can only imagine myself living a comfortable life. I can only imagine it.

However I know I can still have a great life. The process of my success might be a little bit hard, but I know in time I can still have a comfortable life, together with my son and partner.

Past is past and what am I trying to say here, is once the opportunity knocks on your door you shouldn't slip it away. A good opportunity only knocks on your door for one's, and so always grab it than to keep on regretting later.

... thank you for reading.

Lead image was edited using Canva app.

22
$ 2.66
$ 2.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @Oikawa
+ 12
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
1 year ago

Comments

For better and save future, we should move from one place to another. Although it is hard to say good bye to Family but we have to do it. Today I realized you are a girl, I thought you are man from your DP. Move toward each corner of the world to get success brother. Your wife is intelligent girl so he did what is good for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You know ate, we cannot blame ourselves for choosing the choice we think best for us even if canceling others opinion. It's been several decades and I know you learned from that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know that it happened for a reason too. It may seem as an opportunity missed, but I think you have a better destiny ahead. Anyway, it was such a good childhood story. It was indeed a good experience and it also showed us that opportunity is always at our door, and it's up to us whether we take it or not. But on the other hand, I also understand your decision as a child. Who wants to be separated from her family at that young age, right? You must have been so scared and worried at that time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Garreth, you have been a hardworking girl since childhood. The man and woman were a very loving and kind couple. Exactly my dear, a good opportunity only knocks our door once, so we must grab it, and don't let to go.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually sis it's not a bad decisions, I mean look at you right now, you already have a happy family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmmm. I wouldn't say what could have happened had you decided to stay with them. Plus, you were very young. Perhaps things would have been different. For Better or for worse, we can never really say.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love these kinds of stories, they are very inspiring especially because it will always be the best choice to choose our path

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At eleven years, I would say it wasn't your fault and you shouldn't blame yourself. We can't actually see the future but we can try to take the right decision at the right time.

I believe all that happened then was God's knowing. If He had wanted you to stay there, your refusal won't change anything but it's gone now. We can only keep moving on with our lives, hoping for greater opportunity to show its face.

Thank you for sharing such inspiring story about you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Itā€™s not your fault. You must not regret this. As you were only 11 years old and thatā€™s the age when you canā€™t live away from family. Family is the biggest asset of our lives. I remember when I was living in hostel away from my parents. I used to cry a lot as I missed them so much. So anyone at your age had taken the same decision that you did. Donā€™t regret it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Probably the path to your success is just harder to accomplished that's why your old-self choose to take this path for your future self to become strong and confident to what you can achieve in your life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You should not have such regrets in your life because you have lived with your parents for a longer period of time. Certainly, at that young age, what matters most is your relationship with your parents. If I were in your shoes at the time, I would also refuse to live with them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lots of wahtifs In Our lives lods. Each no and yes leads to different pats in life. I hope you will be finding better life soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is never to late to live the life of your dreams, Garreth. Whatever happened in the past is just that, in the past. What counts is you were able to learn lessons that'll spur you on to creating a better future for yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago