"Throwback Thursday edition- my journey to the other side of countryside"

27 59
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
1 year ago
Sponsors of GarrethGrey07
empty
empty
empty

Hello lovelies it's me again, how was your day so far? I wish you had a great and a productive Thursday.

Anyway since today is Thursday, I had decided to write a little throw back story about me. A story that happens during my teenage years 😁.

So way back 2004, and it was a summer vacation from school my mom for the first time invited me to come with her, as she wanna visit her younger brother who is residing at the countryside. Since I haven't meet my mom's brother yet, which is my uncle, I agreed. My mom don't usually like to invite me as she knows that I don't like traveling πŸ˜…, since then I am already a full house person. As an introverted person, I don't like exposing myself to the crowd so mostly I stayed at home. But because we will be going to the countryside side and I also wanted to meet my uncle I join my mom.

Unsplash.com

I remember we left home as early as 5:00 o'clock in the morning to rode the first bus going to my uncle place. Actually at first I feel confused why we leave early, as I know the place isn't really that far. Unfortunately my mom miss to inform me that my Uncles house was located at the bottom of the town. Which is literally far.😁

After three hours of traveling with the bus we finally arrived to their town and we again rode a motorcycle to take us to their barangay.

Anyway their motorcycle was called habal-habal. 🀣.

Source:https://www.sandspice.com/habal-habal-filipino-motorcycle-taxis/

Then after 30 minutes of traveling with the motorcycle it's stop's in the farm. I thought we already arrived at our destination but I was wrong as it only stop's as it can't cross the fields, so we have to walk. Lol.

When we get off from the motorcycle my mom told us (me and my brother) that we were gonna walk for about 30 minutes to reach my Uncles house hahahahhaha. I was so confused that time as all I see was rice fields and so where else we will be going?πŸ˜… Then my mom says just follow my lead, so we just did.

Unsplash.com

Then we started walking in the middle of the rice fields. Luckily the sun wasn't hot that time and so I enjoyed our journey. From where we were walking I really can't see any house's, as all I see was the wide range of rice fields. The place was really beautiful. Then after walking for about 30 minutes I finally saw people and house's. Some of the people there knows my mom and they invited to have some drinks as we are already looks tired πŸ˜….

After resting for a bit we then continue walking. The journey is quite tiring but seeing the greenery field makes the journey worthy.

Furthermore another 20 minutes of walking had passed we finally reached the last house in the village and it was literally located at the bottom of the fields πŸ˜…. There house was just too simple and it was made by Nipa and bamboo shoots. The surroundings was also filled with silence as they don't have any neighbors.

Source: https://exelicris.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/a-bahay-kubo-and-a-concrete-house-3/

When we arrive at their yard my mom called, and a woman that I think was already at her 40's came out, followed by the two young kids which I think was already ten years old and seven. The two kids run to hug my mom while the woman open their door and let us in,she then called her husband and from outside a man who I think was also at his 40's came out and it was too surprised as he us.

He immediately approach us with joy and he asked my mom if we we're his niece and nephew and my mom says that we are. From his face I can see, how happy he was to meet us and I am as well.

He then introduced us to his two daughters, which our cousin's. Both of them are too shy to great us and so I was the one who approached them. They are nice they are just too shy.

Unsplash.com

Their living was just too simple, but they are happy and contented. They don't have electricity as they only use gas lamp as their light during the night time. They don't have tap water and they only get their drinking water from the water whale. However the worst part that I can say, was they don't have toilet and if you wanna go pee and poo you have to go to the nearest river and do your me time there. Hahahaha. This is one of the reason why I can't forget that journey πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

____________________

Anyway this is all for today, it's getting late. My son was still awake and that is why I hardly finish this blog as he keeps on distracting me,😁.

Thank you for reading, ❀️

Lead image was edited using Canva.

21
$ 1.14
$ 0.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
1 year ago

Comments

gosh, paano kapag na poo ka at sasabog na?? kailangan mo talagang pigilan or else, ay bahala na mangangamoy talaga. anyways, i loved such content! i'd really like to experience na makasakay sa habal habal, and of course to go in the country side. it's a priceless experience for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha its jot a me time at all. Sana makakapatayo na sila ng palikuran sis. Meron na ba sila nun ngayon? Ito din any ayaw ko dun sa bukid eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Jenny, It must feel so good to walk through the rice paddies. I can imagine what beautiful landscapes you have passed through. Your uncle and his family have had a very difficult life, the thought of living in a house without electricity, water or even a toilet is truly terrifying. But for sure today their area has made good progress after many years.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wasn't sure if their place have any improvement as I never visited them again,but that experience was still great for me,☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dati din sis samin walang electricity pero masaya naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis, nag umpisa din naman kami ng walang kuryente pero may tubig mula sa gripo at may cr kamiπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was just thinking the same, sis. I'd love to go back to the good old days!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those day's are incomparable sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What an experience! I also tried riding on a habal-habal and it was scary because I was on the other side while my cousin was on the other. I held my grip so right because I'm so afraid that I might fall but it was so fun and I enjoyed the whole ride on a bumpy road hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha riding with the habal habal, was indeed a funny experience and scary as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was wondering why habal-habal wasn't brought here in our city hahaha. I wanted to experience it again by going to the hinterlands hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha do your thing at the river and ipaanod na lamang sa ilogπŸ˜‚.

Masaya naman sa countryside simple lng . Wala nga lng mga arte-arte sa buhay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahahha oo sis, kaya di ko kinaya dun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ung habal habal eh parang nakakangalay sumakay dun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha nakakatuwang experience sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wagas namn na travel yaan tas meron pa by foot. Di oa pala dun natatapos ang kalbaryo kasi pag dating ang daming wala haha. Well typical na bahayan yan noon. Pero ang saya kahit ganon ha. Lalo napapalibutan ka ng rice field. Ganda ng hangin jan kahit may kasamang amoy ng poop ng baka πŸ₯°πŸ˜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha oo, malayo nga sa kabihasnan, pero sulot naman sa ganda ng lugar at masarap yung hangin dahil amoy palay..🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Both good and bad, experiences on that kind of area is really fun. We actually experienced that before. When I was a kindergarten pupil. Without the influence of gadgets and everything we have in this generation, people were used to have fun more while doing a lot of things which involves physical activities. Talking about the life without electicity and good water source, I must say that it was still cool tho.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup sis, it was, the only thing that I found worst is they don't have toilet at sa sapa ka lang pwedeng magbawas dahil di ka naman pwedeng magbawas sa gitna ng palayan🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sis naalala ko tuloy yung lugar ng papa ko. Ganyan na ganyan. Talagang countryside din. Makikita mo mga rice fields tas sobrang tahimik dahil wala din silang kapitbahay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maganda nga doon sis, malamok lang hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agriculture land is always perfect for green world. Rice fields are benefacial for harvesting because it also increases fertility of soil.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Way back when I was a kid we were living away from neighbors too, you have to walk 10-15minutes before you reach the nearest neighbor in the area but during those times life was simple yet happy and memorable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truth sis, unlike today, overcrowded and overpopulated na din tayo kasi halos wala ng space ang mga bahay sobrang dikit dikit na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I couldn't stop laughing at the motorcycle 🀣🀣🀣 Was that what you took to your uncle's place too? πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was their transportation in the deep side of countryside πŸ˜†, it's actually scary

$ 0.00
1 year ago