January is a year: spend wisely in December

31 78
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

I am here again with another interesting article, I am very sure you will enjoy it as you did for the last one. Christmas is here and you are preparing for it which is good cos I am also preparing for it but there is a lot to learn and that's the reason for this writing, let's begin;

Have you noticed January is no longer a month but is a year? It is no longer new to us that every January of a year is always longer than every other month. Why is it like that? Well, there are no two answers for this other than the way we spend our money during December.

We all know how December can be, a lot of spending for Christmas and also the preparation for the new year begins right from December and this made it a spending month. We all want to buy clothes, buy chickens, buy all sorts of things for Christmas and new year but have forgotten that there are important bills that will come up in January after all the festive season.

I was on a bus going home when the driver was listening to a particular station on the radio, they were talking about how people do flaunt their money during December and at the end of the festive period, they start blaming each other. The anchor of the programme said something, he said many will borrow money during December to celebrate Christmas and new year, and many will borrow to show their friends, neighbours that they are up to what they think of them whereas they are not up to it, they just want to show pride and fake life.

After doing all these all in the name of enjoyment during Christmas and new year, the owner of the money will start disturbing them for their money and they won't be able to return it, why? They have spent lavishly forgetting that there are bills to cover for like children school fees and other children related school expenses, they will have to buy food in the house for the new year and all.

The most annoying thing is that we all know that almost all the companies and industry do pay half salaries to their workers during December but with gifts to help them with the festive period, instead of them now spending wisely during that period they won't and they will now start regretting their action.

Their lavish lifestyle and regrets now make January looks like a year in their sight because they will keep anticipating January to end on time so that they can receive their salary for that month and use it to settle their debts. Why can't they manage the money with them during the festive period, it's not a must you wear new clothes or new shoes before you can celebrate Christmas and new year, it's just for you to be happy for witnessing the good day cos many wants to but they were not but you are alive with family and friends.

It's not a crime if you don't eat chicken or put on new clothes with your family, no one will hold you responsible for that, so when we know this, why are we now doing things we are not supposed to do by borrowing money, living an extravagant life when we don't have up to that amount?

January is just a normal month like others, but our debts make it looks as if it is another 365 days in a new year, we should spend according to our pocket size and not according to how pressured we are by neighbours or friends. Spend in the right way and use your sense while spending, spend wisely and not foolishly ( sorry for the word ).

January will always be a year for those who spent lavishly and for those who spend wisely, January will remain just like every other month.

I should put a stop here for now, I am sure we all are guilty of this in the past years, but with this article, we should be able to plan ourselves this December, plan how you want to spend your money and weigh it to know if there will be surplus to keep you going in January. My next article will be a way out of this one year in January.

Thanks for reading and God bless you all

Bye for now ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ.

18th December 2021.

21
$ 6.88
$ 6.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
+ 13
Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

Comments

Wise spending is important. We shouldn't spend beyond our means.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I swear you are right .. January seem like a full year

$ 0.01
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…for people wey spend lavishly oo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like you na lavish spender

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all know these things but we keep failing to adhere. I usually go to villa for the festive period and we always witness lots of show off. Some of them would be stranded at the end of he season finding it hard to travel back home. They love it when December is detty! I no fit pressure myself unnecessarily

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the advice. I was about to sell all my BCH so that I can splurge for Christmas ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Worthy words from you. Yes, we should be careful.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

January is usually the longest and toughest month of the year hence its always advisable to save ahead amd not spend too much on derry December.

Excess detty December equals broke January. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Make I dey enjoy my detty December abeg ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚, when January comes it will sort itself ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Problem no dry finish make I try to dey enjoy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… I know say you no get wetin you dey think, werey

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great reminder for me to keep it safe in my account haha because I do have spending issues whether it is festival or nah... much needed to read this

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You need to make use of it cos it will really help a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thereโ€™s a proverb that says โ€œ cut your coat according to your sizeโ€ we shouldnโ€™t borrow money to celebrate Christmas and new year it isnโ€™t even accepted by GOD. Spending according to our size is the best although we might not be satisfied yet but there will come a time that weโ€™re going to be more than satisfy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Don't say the new year and christmas isn't accepted by God, it's just common sense, why don't we thank God for the preservation of life, we only used it as a medium to appreciate him so don't say it is not accepted

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No thatโ€™s not what I meant bro I made mistakes yes. I mean God doesnโ€™t accept borrowing money for Christmas yes thatโ€™s what I meant. Pardon me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, I understand now, no problem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buy what is needed, those things that will help us in daily chores. We must know to distinguish the needs and wants in order to be aware.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right my friend, we shouldn't just buy everything but what we need and should have limit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is something that almost everyone could relate to especially those who failed take hay.. He who fails t economize would definitely agonize soon enough. โ˜บ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're Very right. Due to the stereotypes we hold about how Christmas should be, almost everyone spends beyond what they can reasonably afford, when January comes, It will seem like there's no money anywhere

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with you. My younger sister who is now serving told me yesterday that she isn't buying any Christmas clothes because she needs to save especially buying food in January ๐Ÿ˜…

I have also saved part of my money for foodstuffs too because I don't want January to look like a long year for me ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…you and your sister don smart, January I always different from every other month

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't believe how time flies so fast like this that we only have 14 days left for 2021 to finally end. This is true, the special events for this month is not requiring us to buy or give expensive things, it's always the thought that counts. The important is we are all happy on these special days of the year.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with you my brother, I just to have the experience when I was still working with a company. December demands us to spend and a lot of us are not wise at spending, we go on giving everything we have for the celebration and end up with nothing.

Spending during the festive period must be planned to avoid regrets in the new year.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank God you had the experience, December is always cunning towards people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have learned to cut my coat according to the material available for me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's just the best everyone can do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right, it's not a must we should buy expensive things on ourselves during Christmas, spending money lavishly isn't the right option,we should try to maximize the what we buy during Christmas so that our January would be like normal months.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You get it, many spent unnecessarily which shouldn't be

$ 0.00
2 years ago