What are your unspoken rules?

13 23

Hello everyone! It's been a while since I posted my last article here. I've been busy with school work. I just finished computing grades and I am back on track. Yay!

In life, there are plenty of rules we are required to follow. We have to abide by the law, the standards of the places we work, and a whole host of other clearly outlined regulations. But in addition to these, some societal rules are more assumed rather than explicitly stated. Whether it's washing up someone's clothes after they let you borrow theirs or just knowing what to do after eating at someone else’s house, these rules may be unwritten, but they're still expected of you. To make sure you're not getting on someone's bad side, it's time to learn what little things you could be doing that make people think you're rude.

There is no one-size-fits manual to live a contented life but there are some unspoken rules that we can follow to make the most of it. We are aware of most of these rules but seldom do we follow them. You will not find a single person in this world who succeeded without following a disciplined routine. So, here are some of my unspoken rules:

Don’t get easily attached!

Whenever I meet random people, I always thought to myself anyone of them could be a friend to me. But, as they grew closer to me, I limit my distance and try not to get too close. This is what I learned after experiencing being used and betrayed. Don’t always expect good from them because when they do betray you, you will go back to the base.

Be kind to every person you meet

There’s this famous line from Plato that says, ‘Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a harder battle.’ Never get mad at a sales clerk in a department store when you think they're not trying hard enough, they are trying their best. They are just struggling. I hate customers that keep on mumbling on the sales clerk line to punch their goods, talking about slow the sales clerk moves. If everybody just has the eyes to see that the person is working too hard, and appreciated their effort, there would have no stress in buying groceries. Just a simple scenario but it is common in society. Kindness is not an expensive thing we can offer to other people.

Be respectful all the time

You teach others how to treat you. People respect you only if you respect yourself. However, respecting yourself does not mean that you shove your opinions or force others to agree with you. Rather, it is about knowing your rights and respecting them. It is about being treated in the same respectful way that you treat others. In short, the way you treat yourself sets standards for others to treat you.

Always believe in yourself

Nothing in life will work if you don’t believe it will. We often look for reasons why our ideas won’t succeed but what we really should be doing is to figure out ways to make it happen. The biggest difference between successful and unsuccessful people is that the former ones are determined to make things work for them and the latter ones spend their whole life playing the role of a victim. They look for reasons why things won’t work. If you just believe you can do it, you actually will. You know the theory of attraction; you will get it if you want it.

Saying No is not bad

My first boss always asks a favor from me even if it crosses my free time I always say yes. One day she called me out and asked me, “Neilfie, if I tell you to jump from the top of a building, are willing to jump for me?” Then, I answered without thinking, ‘Yes ma'am!” Then she reprimanded me not to make saying yes a habit. She told me to evaluate whether or not the task that you are asked to perform has a purpose. I realized it’s true. I’m like being cruel to myself. She probably noticed that I’m just overly obedient to everything she asks when I can always excuse myself for doing the favor. She’s such a good mentor. May her soul rest in peace; I will never forget a great woman like her.

Don’t act like Ms./Mr. know-it-all

Don’t assume – If you don’t understand something, just ask. There’s nothing wrong if you ask about something. It is said that when you start assuming, that’s where the drama starts. It’s true in the case of both personal and professional life. The list of assumptions just goes on and on. This is a way to avoid misunderstanding. Another is, most people don’t like a smart ass hahaha 😁

Lead image from Google.

Thank you so much 👇👇👇👇👇👇👇👇

4
$ 4.37
$ 4.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of Fyangzee24
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Your boss was awesome to have done that to you, teaching you to know when to say yes or no :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She was really a good mentor/boss. I wouldn't be able to grow in my work if it weren't because of her. I am truly blessed 💓

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And that's a great memory of her :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And that's a great memory of her :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg, madali akong maattach pero buti nga sa online friend lang. Yong kahit alam kong mahahurt ako sa huli sige pa rin. Ewan ko ba, ugag ako pano.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di mo naman kasi mapipigilan diba lalo na kung napaka caring and bait nya, maaattach ka talaga. Pero dapat i-limit kasi nga mahuhurt tayo in the end. Mahirap kasi may magbabago na naman sa buhay mo kasi may umalis na kesyo nakasanayan mo na yung presence nys online.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun na nga ee, mahirap pigilan. Yonf kahit anong gawin mong pag pagpag wala rin kasi in the end papapasukin mo pa rin tas ikawww naman na si isa't kalahating udang ayon 😩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sana man lang magamot ng isang Tablet ng paracetamol kaso hindi hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, pampalimot nalang para wala ng ano ano, ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha pwede din na itulog na lang hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha pwede din na itulog na lang hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Also, don’t be too friendly. Always set your boundaries because if you’re too friendly, people tend to take you for granted. Don’t be harsh and don’t be too friendly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinned 📌 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago