Ronan

9 35

Martha stood up as soon as she saw the doctor coming out of the operating room.

"Doctor, how is my son doing? Is he well now? Can I see him now?"

The doctor took off his eyeglasses and look down in despair. This is the hardest part of being a doctor. You cannot make magic happen.

"I'm sorry. We did all we could, but your son didn't make it."

Martha fell to her knees as she heard the deafening words of the doctor. Pain in the mother's heart surrounds the waiting area.

"My son is too young for cancer. Doesn't God care any more? Isn't he, His son too? Where were you God, when my son needed you?"

She cried the loudest while hugging her son's baseball cap.

The doctor assisted her to stand. "Would you like some time alone with your son? One of the nurses will be out in a few minutes before he's transported to the university."

Martha went inside the room where his son lies. She ran her fingers lovingly through his thick, curly hair.

"Would you like a lock of his hair?" the nurse asked her.

She nodded her head as a response. The nurse cut a lock of the boy's hair, put it in a plastic bag, and handed it to Martha.

"Ronan, my boy, it was his idea to donate his body to the university for study. I did not allow it at first, but he said it might help somebody else and he said to me, 'Mom, I won't be using it after I die. Maybe, some other little boy will have one more day to spend with his mom. He has a heart of gold. Always thinking of someone else. Always wanting to help others if he could."

Martha walked out of the hospital for the last time, after spending most of the last eight years there. She put the bag with Ronan's belongings on the now empty seat beside her in the car. She can still feel her son's presence which made her way home difficult. It was even harder to enter the empty house. Before it was Ronan who she carries inside the house, now it was just all his belongings and the plastic bag with the lock of his hair.

She put them all in his room. She started placing the toy cars and other personal things back in his room exactly where he had always kept them like it's waiting for their owner to come home. After she was done, she laid down across his bed and, hugging his pillow, cried herself to sleep.

It was around midnight when Martha awoke. She found a folded letter beside her. She slowly opened the letter and read its content.

Dear Mom,

I know that you miss me already. Don't think that I will ever forget you or stop loving you, just because I'm not around to say I love you. I will always love you, Mom, even more with each day. Someday we will see each other again.

Don't be sad thinking about me. This really is a neat place. The angels are so cool. I love to watch them fly, and you know what? Jesus doesn't look like any of His pictures, but I still knew it was Him and He took me to see God!

And guess what, Mom? I got to sit on God's knee and talk to Him like I was someone very special. That's when I told Him that I wanted to write you a letter, to tell you goodbye and everything.

God said for me to give you the answer to one of the questions you asked Him 'Where was He when I needed Him?' God said He was in the same place with me, as when His son Jesus was on the cross. He was right here, as He always is with all His children.

Oh, I almost forgot to tell you. I'm not sick anymore. I don't feel pain anymore. I'm glad because I couldn't stand the pain anymore and God couldn't stand to see me hurt so much, either. That's when He sent an angel to come and get me. The angel said I was a special delivery! Isn't it amazing?

Signed with Love from God, Jesus, and me, Ronan

Martha, let her tears flow from her eyes with a smile on her lips as she pressed the letter to her chest.

Disclaimer: Taylor Swift made me write this one. I suggest you listen to the song about the little boy, Ronan.

Lead image from Google.

Thank you <3

7
$ 2.82
$ 2.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Oikawa
$ 0.02 from @Kendy42
+ 2
Sponsors of Fyangzee24
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Cancer really kills in real life, I hate that kind but I must also prepare myself not to face that traitor killer. May delima ako sa cancer really.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

May all those who are suffering from cancer be healed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a wonderful story sis, it reminds me of the story of a kid's wish before his death to donate his heart too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am actually thinking the same too. That is why I am very well taking care of myself so I can still be of help after I left the world when my time comes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What a selfless act sis, good luck and salute to that๐Ÿ˜Š.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a really lovely story, i love the way you ended it. I enjoyed reading it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you enjoyed reading. Thank you for saying that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede pala magdonate ng body sa science lab? Akala ko binibili nila yung katawan...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Depende yan sa family and If yun ang hiling ng tao before sya mamatay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago