A Memory worth to Remember

22 23

How's your Wednesday? Today is just like the other Wednesdays. Except for, I'm still busy with making questionnaires for the upcoming 3rd quarter test for the Grade 6 pupils. We have them scheduled 1 week advanced than the other grade levels because some schools are already starting their entrance examination for incoming Grade 7 students. I was inactive for days because the signal here became weak that caused a lot of delays in our work too.

I remembered I had a memory on Facebook dated March 13, 2020. It was a memory of me that tested my patience with my pupils.

It was almost the end of the school year 2019-2020, my first-year experience in teaching. I felt so bad as a teacher for what happened at that time. I was conducting an examination, which was for the fourth quarter already, to my advisory class with a heavy feeling. My allergies are attacking me and aside from that, I am not feeling well when I woke up that morning. I remembered how bad my condition was at that moment. Then, there's this kid ( a grade four pupil, he is now in sixth grade, still under my advisory 🙌) who keeps on calling me and asking me random questions. At first, I answered all his questions without hesitation. That's what I am supposed to do as a teacher. Then came the next seconds or minutes, his asking of questions became continuous to think that it was their final test. That became an irritation to my ears. While conducting the exam, I kept on roaming around. I was guiding another pupil when he called me again, like this time I'm off to my limit, so unintentionally I shouted at the kid which stopped him. I just said, "STOP IT! **** YOU'RE SO ANNOYING! GANINA RA KA HA!" A fervent atmosphere covered the whole room. Everyone was silent and everyone was looking at me. I saw terrified and worried eyes. I looked at the kid I shouted at and I saw him with teary eyes. I let the others continue to answer their test and I approached the kid. I took his hand and I brought him to my table. He was just looking at the floor. Then I said, 'sorry! I didn't mean it.' Then his face suddenly glowed up and smiled at me. 'Here's my paper miss. Sorry, that I'm annoying today. It's just that I studied a lot on your subject to get a perfect score and I don't know why I remembered only half of them 🙁 That's why I keep on asking you to get a bit of a clue. I know you're not feeling well miss, and I want you to be happy with my score, but I guess I failed to do that 🙁 I took his paper and looked at it. He was smiling now but it doesn't reach his eyes. The disappointment was engraved in his eyes. It rendered the heaviness inside my chest. With just a simple thought, it magically touched my heart. So, as I checked his paper, the boy did not fail to put a smile on my face. That was beyond happiness.

I just missed being with the kids, seeing them enter the class, wearing neatly their uniform, and hearing their laughter when they play games after class. It's not easy to take care of children not your own especially if you're someone who doesn't have any experience of having a child your own. In the classroom, the teacher is the parent, you have to look out for each of them making sure that they are learning, safe and comfortable.

It's making me feel sad with the thought that the first advisory I had is almost graduating, they'll be going to different schools, have different friends, and different teachers. I wanted to know how much I have shared in their lives. Would they remember my lessons once they encounter something that they can relate to? I feel like I'm going to miss those kids.

I hope they will never forget about me.

11
$ 5.34
$ 5.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 4
Sponsors of Fyangzee24
empty
empty
empty

Comments

They'll surely remember you and how you answered them without hesitation. It truly isn't easy taking care of other children but the love in our heart keeps us going.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I truly hope for that. I wish them success in their future endeavors.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like your personality a lot friend and you are a great teacher

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for saying that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

its hard to make connections sa students pala noh kay biyaan ra ang mga teachers... ouch... mo move on sila, go to different schools... etc..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao Jud. Lisod kaayo pero kayanon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lage.. maypa sila mo move on..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, ang kulit ng bata pero parang ang cute rin cguro, pro kahit ganun, nagbigay din sila ng ngiti sah atin, kahit sarap ng kurutin minsan, ahahha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha totoo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why even if he still do that I find that kid cute haha. I can imaginr thr teary eyes baby haha. Pero if sa kin din yan, kahit wala akong sakit or what baka manigaw ako. Ayaw ko talaga sa batang makulit lalo pag wala ako sa mood baga aigoo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi talaga ako yung terror type. Minsan lang ako magalit pero kung sagad na talaga pasensya ko, grabe din kung magalit kaya tahimik talaga lahat. Pero nakokonsensya ako right away. Cute talaga sya. Parang kailan lang tapos ngayon gagraduate na siya ng elementary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blessed are those two eyes of yours as teachers. Such a day does not come in the life of all teachers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for saying that. It happens naturally haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

elementary d i imo gi handle lan fyang? .Asa ka nga school?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merryhills Academy te hehehe. Mura pa man lagi tag Elementary pud haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

awwww, naa d i ka dihaa meem, sige lang its all about teaching man gihapon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yez taod2 na pud te hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a good teacher although you burst out of irritation due to unwell feelings you did not let the bad vibes consume you and the kids, especially that little boy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for saying that. It was just to console him because I know too well that they are vulnerable and what I did could traumatize him and it will make him be never curious and ask about other things anymore. I don't want to be the reason for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hats off to you ma'am for being so thoughtful about your students. Sana all teachers were like you😊.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That student might be in shocked when you suddenly said that good thing you talk to him immediately. It is just amazing how little kids have a pure soul and kind hearts that they put an effort to make their teachers happy just like that studying to achieve a high score and makes you happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. Adulting somehow makes us, a little bit impatient and we want things exactly at the same pace. I honestly sometimes forgot that I am dealing with grade school pupils.

$ 0.00
2 years ago