Today is Another Day

2 50
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

Today is just another day. A common and and ordinary day. When last night, I was trying to console myself, now I am trying just to enjoy and find beauty in my ordinary life.

I plan to try my best to look at things differently. With much contemplation while writing May I Slow Down Just for a BIT?, I realized that I need to do something if I don't like to end up miserable.

After having breakfast with the kids, I took my little girl for a walk. We will just buy some eggs but we had to walk for a few miles uphill to reach the nearest store. While at the store, I told her to play with the other kids in a house nearby while I chat with the store owner. I told her that she will be playing with the other kids for 30 minutes then we have to head home. She agreed.

A very short encounter with other people is something significant for the kid and I think that is the same case with me. After 30 minutes, I called her and we went home. The laborious walk to and from the home to the store just to buy something became special. My little girl got to play with other kids and I go to have a small chat with other people too. The walk was even a good exercise.

At home, I had to assist the other kids in their modules. We usually call it 'module legends'. I really hate it these days that I get to be the teacher outside the school and still a teacher at home with my kids. It is exhausting. But today, I tried looking at it differently. At least while I am assisting them with their tasks, I also get to relearn those basic things I must have placed behind my head.

I realized that there are actually a lot to learn if we are just open to them like an empty vessel if you know what I mean. At least, while I am assisting them, I am learning as well.

After module legends, I had to prepare for lunch. Sayote tops is all that we have for now. My father told me that when I was very young, I couldn't eat any leafy thing meaning vegetable. Now, I am just happy that my kids are not that picky when it comes to food. I think it is good for parents to train children to learn to appreciate whatever is prepared for them. I am just glad they are enjoying their rice with some sayote tops.

Photo source: https://www.google.com/search?q=sayote+tops+farm+in+benguet&tbm=isch&ved=2ahUKEwimhvf77MDwAhVczIsBHSFgCbUQ2-cCegQIABAA#imgrc=Voime2f0H02JSM

Next, I will publish this then do some online tasks. I am optimistic that more good things will come.

_________________________________________________

I remember one poem my poetry professor let us read and analyze in college. It is called Delight in Disorder by Robert Herrick. Here it goes...

Delight in Disorder
BY ROBERT HERRICK

A sweet disorder in the dress
Kindles in clothes a wantonness;
A lawn about the shoulders thrown
Into a fine distraction;
An erring lace, which here and there
Enthrals the crimson stomacher;
A cuff neglectful, and thereby
Ribands to flow confusedly;
A winning wave, deserving note,
In the tempestuous petticoat;
A careless shoe-string, in whose tie
I see a wild civility:
Do more bewitch me, than when art
Is too precise in every part.

I tried to record my voice while reading it. I hope I would give justice to this wonderful work of art.

The poem details an image of an apparel worn in a messy manner yet the persona finds it delightful. The persona is teaching the readers that there is beauty in everything even in chaos and disorder.

The persona's appreciation was even so genuine that he/she was able to describe it in detail. After all the disorder from the shoulders to the lace of the shoes, the persona concludes that art was more bewitching than when it is done precise.

Today, I have learned that it is just a matter of how we look at things. Things may seem so messed up but when we learn to look at the beauty in the mess, then we become happier and more contented.

Yesterday, I was a mess. Now, I am going to change that. I am going to look at the mess differently. Then and only then will I smile and say, "Today was great and tomorrow will be another day!"

_____________________________

Thank you for reading!

--FrieLincs

6
$ 0.34
$ 0.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @geeh
Sponsors of FrieLincs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

Comments

A superb article if I may say! And I realized there are all kinds of poetry that are as beautiful as our daily lives if we know how to appreciate them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, IsThisIt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago