May I Slow Down Just for a BIT?

6 33
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

It has been a very busy day. Emails, chats and more emails. Why do they have to come altogether at a time? Messages not even related to each other. If I were not being careful, I could mix up contents. I couldn't imagine the havoc it would create both for me and the recipients.

Have you ever had days like mine?

I have always questioned why am I in this generation. I there is a mismatch. Everything in this generation is in an accelerated motion that I sometimes feel like a couldn't keep up. Maybe in my past life, I was a turtle or perhaps a snail or maybe a sloth? haha...

Honestly, there are really days when I feel so exhausted that I would just like to take a break. But how? I have mouths to feed. I have responsibilities to keep and a humongous financial obligation to meet. The laundry basket is also full. I thought I did them the other day? The sink is also at the brim. The floor is waiting to be polished. There is more I am actually ashamed to enumerate.

But then again, why do I feel tired when everything is still waiting for me? I did not merely sit down the whole day. I have been working a lot. Ironically, I was not able to do anything. The mouths are still waiting to be fed. The responsibilities are still lingering along with the financial obligations. The house chores are still waiving.

(I thought this image is perfect for what I am feeling right now, both literal and figurative...hahaha)

I told you in an earlier post that I won't be writing tomorrow so I am taking this time to publish something in my mind at this time. I think it is better to turn my downcast heart into something productive like what I am doing now. It may not be a real inspiration to readers but it will be a great release on my part.

This feeling that I am having now is I guess not really because of all the challenges of the day although they may be a factor. What really caused this is when the better man told me that he needs to stop tending to other things and just to stay at home for the tasks to be accomplished properly. I was hurt. It was a dagger that pierced through my heart.

From the beginning, I know I wasn't good at managing the house but I realized it is even more painful when a person you would never expect openly spit it out in your face. melodramatic, ain't it? Well, I really think I didn't deserve it. For now, let me just pour my heart out. Tomorrow, I know I will be better. Better in the sense that like nothing happened. hahaha.

One article I read says a sign that you need to take a break is when you personalize everything. Personalization is when your mind convinces you that your negative thoughts are real, even when they aren't true. These thoughts emphasize emotions and destructive behaviors that can lead you into a downward spiral of inability to cope with even minimal stressors. I think I was being touchy that I tend to personalize things easily these days. I think I need to slow things down then.

Photo is by JESSICA PAPP

TO MYSELF: It is just Monday, the beginning of the week. There are 6 more days before the week ends. You have to expect more but you need to keep in mind that you a as strong as a bull and you will overcome!

__________________

Thank you for this opportunity to write!

--FrieLincs

4
$ 0.09
$ 0.05 from @geeh
$ 0.02 from @Hanzell
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of FrieLincs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

Comments

U got it right. I am thankful I had good night rest last night so I feel better now. Thank you for the encouraging words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're definitely burnt out but that's okay because you need the rest anyways. balancing all those tasks doesn't seem so easy when they don't end unless one of your kids are finally old enough to lend a hand

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Hanzell!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't be more true. Responsobilities just don't end. We just did a lot, then there they are again. I want to take a break, too. If you have seen my other articles, you may have noticed just how 'lowkey' burned out I am. Thankful I have God who gives me strength. I also feel that what I am doing right now (what spends most of my hours in a day) is not something I would really enjoy in the long run. Mismatch, indeed. Everyday, the hustle just keeps getting busier and faster, is there any instance we were able to keep up with it, anyway? Doing something we don't enjoy can be really exhausting. But we have no choice as we will suffer too, of we let it go. I feel for you. I hope we'll all be better tomorrow. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. I am so thankful too that God is there not leaving me. I have rested tonight so I am better now. I hope you are too. God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always be strong and be faithful. We will overcome. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago