Being A Stranger In My Hometown

22 47
Avatar for Freedom007
2 years ago

Yeah the day we have been waiting for has finally arrived and it's Christmas day; merry Christmas ๐ŸŽ„ everyone Let the lights of Christmas guide you to success and prosperity and bring happiness and peace to your life.

I'm certain you guys are all enjoying the Christmas and for me at the moment I'm tired of eating chicken or turkey, basically anything good Because I'm filled up and I don't think I can drink water for now.

Back to my article, but before that kindly check out my awesome sponsors

Sponsors of Freedom007
empty
empty
empty

Actually, my holiday was cut short this year because my school didn't release us on time, so I made the most of it by having to travel with my grandma to my hometown of Ereke in Ondo state, after which she returned home a day before Christmas after a lengthy journey.

This mattered a lot to me because it would be my first visit to my hometown, and I was anticipating what would happen. I'm not good at making friends, but I had this impressions that People would be willing to make friends because it was Christmas, and Christmas is all about giving and loving.

My laptop screen was cracked throughout the journey because of the groceries my grandmother packed on my back pack, and she had no idea my laptop was in there. So as soon as I arrived at our destination, I promptly sat down and began looking for a place to fix my laptop and thanks to read.cash and noise.cash I was willing to pay without asking my grandmother for money. Though she wanted to pay.

It was difficult to find a computer expert because it was the Christmas season, but I was fortunate enough to come across a shop with three computer engineers, and I walked inside the shop and they were all speaking my native language, ilaje, which I could comprehend but not speak.

So they began speaking to me in ilaje, but I was surprised to find that I couldn't comprehend everything because this was pure ilaje, unlike the ilaje my grandmother speaks to me, which is a blend of ilaje and Yoruba. To make a long tale short, one of them referred to me as "omo ajรฉji" (which means "alien from another state") simply because I couldn't respond in ilaje and my Yoruba was not particularly fluent.

During a dialogue with someone who understood English language in the shop to determine the price which I would pay for my broke laptop, My cousin called me to confirm whether we had arrived in our hometown , so we were speaking English and some broken English during the conversation with my cousin because he doesn't really understand yoruba, and when I ended the conversation, I noticed the manager was looking at me startlingly, and what he said next frightened me.

He shouted in ilaje language; โ€œTunde omร  kร n ti gbรจ laptop was, รณmร  ekรณ ni, bร  mi gbรฉ awรณn alรณkun arร  laptop wa, ati ri mugun";.... (Which implies Tunde, someone has brought a laptop and he has just arrived from Lagos; we've seen someone we can scam today, bring only the scrap and abolish part of a laptop screen.)

To be honest, I was baffled when I heard this, and I had no intention of saying anything, but my grandmother stepped in and blew my cover, asking me in my native ilaje language, โ€œ shey wan ti bร  rรฉ tun laptop rรฉ sรฉ " (which means have they repaired my laptop), thus for the first time I replied to my grandmother in ilaje, although it wasn't very fluent, I just wanted those engineers and the manager to know I understood all they were saying all along.

The manager and tunde were caught off guard ๐Ÿ˜‚, and their reactions were pretty hilarious. They apologized, and I forgave them, and they also gave me a discount because I was an ilaje.

This is what happened to me early on Christmas morning.

Thank you for taking the time to read this ๐Ÿ’™.

9
$ 2.97
$ 2.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
+ 10
Sponsors of Freedom007
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Freedom007
2 years ago

Comments

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ This story got me Rolling, everyone is actually just looking for a way or the other to survive and feed their families..... You were just lucky

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah I was really lucky. Its been a while I have seen your article hope everything is fine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we're from the same state... I'm from ondo state,,, and I don't speak yoruba at all too... Lol... I go through a lot even in Ogun state here...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ I try to speak when it's needed though but not that fluent, you are from Ondo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah bro... Idanre... Lol...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha, i imagined their jaw dropped after realizing you understand what they are talking about. Shame on this people who use to take advantage their fellows

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If I wasn't able to understand what they were saying, I'm sure they would have sold the junk part for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that is why if I would go for a repair for a gadget I made sure to watch. I have this issue before that the technician might replace the parts of your gadgets into a fake or a junk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In fact, I would walk away for what they planned doing. This means they have been doing it for other strangers and taking advantage of them. So unfair of them though.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I had no option because it was on Christmas day and for me to see another engineer, it will take time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe you can bring the meat you are tired of๐Ÿ˜‚. Well I actually like it when people think I don't understand Yoruba because that's when they are honest and show you want they really think

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Don't worry I gat u ๐Ÿ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚all these ilaje men ehen ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚na God save you say I carry some teach you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

See this igbo guy Sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also feel like a stranger from where I live. People are not like me. Their behavior is foreign to me. Or am I a foreigner? I don't know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If it were me, I wouldn't have them repair anything, those who abuse their profession are just a disgrace to their profession.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I had no choice because today was Christmas and I'm sure it will take me time to find another engineer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for your broken laptop dear friend. That's bad of that engineer

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks friend, I repaired it later

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's one heck of a Christmas morning.. Lucky you..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah friend, stressful morning ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago