My Mother Mountain

11 523
Avatar for Firenze
2 years ago

Climbing mountain is one of my happiness, it keeps me sane. It's therapeutic, aside from the physical benefits that we can get in hiking, our overall mental health and well-being can benefit as well.

Hiking helps me a lot when I'm so burned out in my previous work. I was living being a zombie and robot most of the time when I was working in the corporate world. When I got promoted I was so busy that my social life slowly dying hahaha. Especially if there's an event, I even experience overnight work in the office even if it's my birthday. I was stressed out and decided to explore nature by hiking.

Mount Maculot is my mother mountain. Mother mountain is the term that mountaineers use to acknowledge the first mountain that they have climbed. Mount Maculot is located at Cuenca, Batangas. It offers the best view of Taal Lake. 930 meters above sea level with 4/9 difficulty. This mountain is one of the famous destinations for hikers at all levels. It just 2-3 hours away from Manila (depends on the traffic though). It has three prominent features: Rockies (706 masl), Summit (930 masl), and the Grotto (520 masl).

I've been there twice, years 2014 and 2015 but with different groups. If I were to choose, I don't want to go to the same mountain twice because there's a lot of mountains out there, but I want my friends to see the beauty of Maculot so I set a hike with them plus Mt. Maculot has an awesome view.

Overlooking Taal Lake

We always end up at the Rockies only because of its view. From there you can see already Taal Lake, the neighboring seas and mountains, and the greenies surroundings. And it's because we didn't try to go to Grotto and summit we never experienced to traverse in Mt. Maculot. If you want to go to Summit. It's the highest peak of course. It requires an hour or more (depends on your pacing) of a trek to reach the summit from the Rockies. You can find the mountain signage where photo-ops happen, as evidence that they've summited the mountain. And if you want to continue your trek to Grotto, it's accessible on the way down during traverse. You'll find there the Shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes. I don't remember what's the reason why after the Rockies we didn't try to traverse. Maybe we're tired already, or it only has the same view, except the grotto.

In the lead image, it took quite a lot of courage to have a pic at the edge of rocks. It's windy, plus I have fear of heights so I'm trembling. I want to conquer my fears, so I took the courage. My friends were standing at the edge, they're so brave. I want to but

I can't, I'm scared haha. After the picture taking, it's again my dilemma on how to go back. A friend pulled my shirt while crawling backward. I was so nervous. One mistake and it's the end of me haha. Climbing the Rockies was a bit hard because you’re climbing rocks. One wrong step and you might fall. We stay for almost 30-45 mins. for some rest while taking photos before we descend. I had a little regret that we didn't try to continue our trek to summit and Grotto. They said that there's an entity near the Grotto, a fairy I guess. Well, I love supernatural that's why haha.

There's a bathroom at the jump-off where you can take a quick bath. And don't forget to try their Lomi. It's worth it. That's the first time I tried the Lomi of Batangas. I just forgot the name of the store. They also sell merchandise like shirts and bagtags for a souvenir.

While typing this... I suddenly get sentimental. Memories keep on flashing. That's how much I miss hiking. When I was a newbie hiker, I even have a list of all the mountains that I climbed, I got excited every time I'm in the mountaineering and outdoor shop. Saving money for my hiking essentials was one of my goals before. We even invest in a cook set and tent. I wanna go back hiking, that's why I'm trying to exercise coz I want to prepare myself just in case. Hiking really soothes my mind and soul, aside from art, it's my therapy. When pandemic started, and I can't go out, there's a part of me that's missing, the adventurous part of me. I had to budget my finances well so I wasn't able to hike monthly like how I used to, but I can still hike if the schedule and budget permits, hiking and nature is the key to clear my mind and it's a big adjustment for an ambivert like me. Yeah, I have some introverted side in me and I feel that it's ruling me since the pandemic, I just miss my extrovert self, I need a balance. I hope that I can go back to hiking and be free again.

Thanks for dropping by. Keepsafe

6
$ 9.72
$ 9.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @bbghitte
+ 1
Sponsors of Firenze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Firenze
2 years ago

Comments

Sasabihin ko pa lang na si Arief naiisip ko habang binabasa toh. Tapos kapag kay Arief naman na article about hiking eh ikaw maaalala ko. Hehe. Ayyyyy. Nakikita ko pa lang parang hinihingal na ako talaga 🤣 or siguro ang arte-arte ko lang na ang dami kong what ifs ba. What if yung shoes madulas or bigla akong hingalin na di ko na kayaning umakyat eh di maiiwan ako ng group or ako yung magpapabagal sa group kasi walang iwanan. Yung mga ganung what ifs. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natwa ko hahaha.

Nangyare yan kay Mono naiwan sya haha. Sya ang ginuide nung coordinator kami nauna na lol. Kc nabigla sya... Minor lang un pero may assault kc.. Basagan tuhod.. Ako nadulas na din. Slide tlga, sigaw lang tas tayo ulit hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

O di ba hindi pa man din ako nakakaexperience umakyat ng bundok ay parang alam ko na anong mangyayari sa akin. Hahaha. Pero meron akong school mate noon yung tumawag sa akin ng Mojacko. Kasama niya maghike yung aso niya then isa sa mga akyat nila, namatay yung aso. 😭 naiyak ako nung shinare niya yung story sa Facebook noon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Arat na! Open na Baguio for tourists hehe. Balik na sa Ulap hehe. May fear din ako sa heights pero gustong gusto ko pa rin nagpapapix sa edge ng mga bato or cliff. Ganda talaga ng view sa second pix para siyang sa Scotland or somewhere doon banda. Gusto ko din makita un entity na un kun meron man :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohhhh??? pero baka need ng swab? Naeexcite ako. ayan na naman ako hahahahahhahaha. Ang nkakainis sa location ko, malayo sa mga bundok kaya gagastos talaga huhu. Gusto ko nga din makita ang entity lol. my mga nabasa ko na horror experience ng mga climber kaya haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Fully vaccinated or negative swab test. Tas magregister sa website at daan pa rin sa triage.

Hala bat naman horror? Exciting yan a haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mumu daw eh kaya horror hahahaha.

Ay ang dme need, eh ayaw ko nga magpavaccine e haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had the chance of climbing a mountain once, though it was for prayer purpose and not for the fun of it. But it still was a wonderful experience. Weldone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never tried that but I think that's a wonderful experience. When you're hiking with that purpose.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually I never get a chance to climb, and it's really my dream to experience at least once in my lifetime. I wish to do it too someday together with my family if there's a chance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you can, try it in the future. It's really a wonderful experience. Literal na no pain no gain, pero worth it

$ 0.00
2 years ago