Read dot cash writer's exodus, do you think this is the end?

22 192
Avatar for Fexonice1
1 year ago

Someone just said goodbye to the site, and this is just one of many who have said goodbye recently. Day after day, it's about one article about someone saying goodbye due to the frustration of not getting enough engagement or reward as it used to.

We all get frustrated when the site isn't how it used to be. We all, no matter where we are, at what stage in our writing careers, experience those feelings. If you have been here from the beginning you will realize that the condition of the site today is still 10x better than what it was when we started on the site. When I said 10x better I mean it, and we were still joyfully posting and engaging with content with even more commitment.

As a writer here for years, I have witnessed the metamorphosis of the read.cash platform from mere users to users' experience without a direct rewarding mechanism from the platform to the era of the point system and to the random rewarder reign. Those I met on the platform at the time wrote with passion and without any complaints about not getting a reward for their work. of course, you don't have anything to complain about since you can't force anyone to like your content to give you a tip. In a setting like this, you can guess how much a typical writer can earn for an article he or she writes. In those days, it was just a few cents or nothing, yet they keep writing and engaging.

When the point system came on, it was a welcome relief. But then, how many points would a person earn to make a dollar? In the beginning, it was 200 points for a dollar for which you get 1 point for every upvote you get on your article, 20 points for publishing an article, for which you can only post not more than 4 articles a day, and 4 points for every comment you make on an article. So, it was hard to make more than a dollar a day except for those who were putting up a day of work on the site. My typical day earnings on the site at the time were never over 50 cents. These don't represent anything like the major amounts you can get today.

Even though the point system did not come easy. It took much practice, determination, time, and commitment to win the points. What a struggle at first, you can imagine. At that time, like everyone else, I was very skeptical when I see some were making it big on the site until I was told there can a lucky day when you get noticed by a generous tipper. From that time I started aiming for my lucky day and care less about the points.

The random rewarder came as a blessing to everyone. There was such joy on the site that people could now sleep at night. We all woke up to realize that we have made money for articles posted before. Without having to do many things to get the reward. The random was everyone's friend because there were enough funds for it to share and it was generous with it. But now, things have changed and it must be understood by everyone. We knew we were moving to another era, and the era is here.

I must admit it's sometimes frustrating to still not be rewarded for your hard work, but it's not from a lack of unappreciation from the site. Anyone who understands what is happening in the crypto space will understand why things have changed. Since the market dollar value for BCH has gone down beyond expectations you cannot expect the system to keep functioning as before. If you have 100 BCH budgeted as a reward for 10000 writers over a period of 6 months at $300 per BCH, and suddenly the price of BCH goes down by 50% to $150 per BCH, it means you are losing 50% of your total budget.

In essence, it means the read.cash platform is running on a lost budget and keeps managing the remaining money in the best way possible, and that is why the rewards are scarce on the read.cash platform today. If I must be frank, people who still hope to be rewarded do so with hope because of the simple fact that there can be a lucky day, and I am one of them.

The recent developments have exposed the already known to the casual observer. This is a sobering time for crypto enthusiasts. But I encourage people to not despair. Things will eventually get better. Everyone should try to up their content writing game, this is not a time for fun anymore. It's time to put in the effort to write and publish content that matters with the time and hopefully, you might get lucky to have your content read by a generous reader and earn something good for your effort.

I will not advise anyone not to leave the platform, but as for me, I will stay for as long as the website is running, and hope that someone will do right by it. If I am not wrong, someone is willing to fund it, it's just a financial crisis and I hope that the platform will recover in due time. so stay tuned!

I would like to extend my thanks to those who have been there and may also extend my gratitude to those who are here now. Our journey has not been easy, but it has been an experience for the ages and I am happy that it's not over yet.

30
$ 7.52
$ 6.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 12
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
1 year ago

Comments

I agree with your points. Though in my case the rewards don't really bother me. I just wish the administration would answer questions and requests for new features (specifically new languages) as I sent them an email 3 months ago requesting new languages be added so I could publish my articles in them but I still haven't received a response.

Nevertheless, this site is still a decent one and a good place for publishing my articles.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was new here but I'd be sad if this platform will end. Aside from it helps to sustain my needs especially on my studies, this used to be my escape from reality and I found comfort on reading some various articles here as well. But thank you for lifting up our spirits and giving hope to all of us, great piece!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the platform Sir Fexonice. This is a motivational post to everyone especially to a beginner like me. I may not know everything but surely everything happens for a reason. Glad to read your post as it is very well written and so motivating.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just like you I am one of those first writers. We did our stinking best and if it comes to a response from other users of this platform... I think we have nothing to complain about. First of all, it's always said/known this platform is not a substitute for a job! Next, we all know what the world looks like, the WEF wants us to own nothing, due to hunger, and be happy... We will never go back to normal and part of the new normal started with the covid epidemic lies is that most likely crypto like we know it today will be fought even end.

Let's be happy with what we have, read, comment and stay in touch if we can and tip those we like if we can. 🍀♥

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everyone is free to choose their path. But i will stay as long as this platform exist. Its hopeful to be rewarded somehow but this platform help me to overcome some of life's struggles. Reading and writing here makes my life a bit light.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As long as we're running, it's fine! I hope we can recover after the market situation...but do you think it's a good idea to bring back the point system? I experienced it as well, but when it comes to reward, I think the bot is better...but since we're talking about activity and interaction, I think point system is more effective.

Just a thought!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Points system is familiar to the uptrend that was blogging platform few years back. I am newbie here and yet learning how it work

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly I felt frustrated and demotivated sometimes but knowing the read.cash journey since its started is a goo thing. It explains the reason why this is happening. Hopefully people won't leave this mazing platform and will stay in times of better or worse.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm definitely staying. I feel that even if I stopped being rewarded completely I have found a special place online where I've met amazing people (including yourself 🌻) and I don't see me leaving here anytime soon. The only time I'd leave is if freedom of speech disappears.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a great word of encouragement to everyone even though I didn't have it in mind to leave the site, I will remain loyal to the site. I understand the whole scenario and things will fall back in place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here. As long as the site's still up and running, I'll write as much as I can.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is an experience we need to get and understand why the present situation is happening. Readcash is still running despite the condition in the market and those who would stay will actually do because it's a phase and we would get over it. For me, I will keep staying here and also expect my lucky day to come. Why would I leave a platform that has helped me just because I don't earn as before? We need to understand something about it because who would want to be at loss?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's funny how people don't get to understand what is happening in the crypto market and the effects it has on the platform.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this article. An eye opener for me of what is really happening on the platform. I hope it will still thrive amidst crisis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, the fact that the rewarder isn't like it was before.. A lot of people have lost courage to write like they use to.. Some might be life issues just like mine.. But with time.. I believe things will be back to normal.. Like you said it was the change that happened in the crypto world that's causing all this

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People will come, people will go! Some will return, some will not! However, it's important we/they made friendship that will last beyond platforms and communities

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This site has been more of a blessing to me, I never had much friends or people who cared to listen to my ideas or read my writings, but coming on board, I have a lot of engagements , people up vote, like, comment and even subscribe to me. Its more of joy seeing all this happen. I don't mind what happens on the site, as long as it is running and people are commenting on my articles, am satisfied. If am asked, I don't want this site to end, it has really polished my creativity. God bless you for this timely article. Long live read.cash

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for your honest comment. Indeed, the site has been a blessing to me too, both from the aspect of creativity and also financially. My greatest earning has never been from the random rewarder by from individual readers. I still believe things will continue like that. As long as the site is still running I will keep writing here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think what worries me is that first noise slowed down to a trickle and now read as well, it seems as if the mods have left and they are letting it bleed out a bit...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No, the admin are still very much working on the site, it's just that almost everyday on both sites are being controlled by bots.

You should understand how the current situation in the crypto market affect the site.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really bad when we get little amount of reward we started to complain. I can enjoy learning from good friends like you. Money is not all the thing we need to make, we should maintain our sincere behavior here also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The site is only passing through a phase and everyone ought to understand that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago