Five (5) things I don't want to regret in my old age

22 78
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

We have all heard it at one point or the other, and according to Aristotle, life should be lived as if you will live to be 100. But most of us will never live to see that age, so now is the time to start living your life the way you want to and stop worrying about the things you regret later on.

Here are five (5) things I don't want to regret in my old age:

1. Not starting a family business

I have this one on my bucket list, I even set up a business plan for one. But now that I am in my 40s, I should really make it happen and get my wife to help run it with me. And also raise teach the children the basics of business and entrepreneurship. I want my kids to be proud that their father did well for himself.

Having a family business can bring more benefits in the long run than a regular job. It can provide the base for your personal, social and financial growth. But more importantly, it will provide for you and your family during your retirement. Of course, this doesn't mean that you should go and start a family business just to get the kids to give their support. Rather, get a good feel for the needs of your kids, and create a business plan that suits their requirements. And when it's time to make a decision, give them a decision-making opportunity to be part of the decision-making process.

The idea is that you are basically owing to the business for them pending your retirement. This business idea, if properly executed, will certainly change the life of your family for the better.

2. Not living a healthy lifestyle

This is one of the most important things we can do to extend our lives. We know that proper diet and exercise are one of the easiest and most cost-effective ways to extend our lives. If we keep our bodies fit, we will have a lot more energy and be able to work out more. As you get older, you will have more time and energy to do things that you enjoy.

This is one aspect of my life that I am paying much attention to right now. I am making it a point to eat right and exercise regularly. It is difficult, but nothing is impossible. When you start an exercise regime, it takes time to adjust. But once you get the hang of it, you will have more energy and be able to exercise more often. I find that it helps to set small and achievable goals, like running a mile a day or going for a walk, something that you are able to do.

3. Failure to save for retirement

This is one aspect that is very scary, and very personal. We don't talk much about retirement planning. Many of us have heard some people say that you should save for retirement while you are young, and then take it easy on saving while you are older. This way, you would have enough money when you are older.

This is another reason why it is better to live life the way we have always wanted. It is possible that, during the course of your life, your financial situation may change, and you would have to change the way you approach your financial planning. I am not saying you have to change your investment strategy completely, but at least you should reduce your exposure to riskier investments.

It's not that I know the amount of money I will need in my old age, but having enough money in a safe place away from the needs of the present and knowing that I would be financially able to retire are the two important things for me. At the end of the day, we must be able to look back and say that we have lived our life to the fullest. So, it's a good idea to avoid situations that you may be able to avoid now. If you don't, you may regret it in the future, and you are not able to experience the life that you deserve.

4. Not having my own house earlier

Now, this is a very controversial topic, but when it comes to life, there are only two things that matter. The first is what you are doing with your life. You don't have to have money to be happy, but you must have a life that you enjoy and you can be proud of. And two is whether or not you have a house of your own.

I started building my own house a year ago. Although I may not be living in the house soon, I won't let the comfort of being sponsored by my organization blind me from building my house as soon as possible. I have been living in rented apartments for many years now due to work engagements and frequent transfers.

However, one of the best things about building your own house earlier is that you can afford to take care of your family much better, especially if your kids are not yet in school, and they don't need a lot of extra expenses from you before the house is built. Having your own home is also one of the best investments you can make in your life, so don't delay on it.

5. Not investing in myself and my family

By investing in yourself and your family, I am not saying that you have to buy a Mercedes Benz or something. I mean you have to take care of your health, your children, and even your parents. While you can't stop them from dying if you don't take care of them, you can reduce the extent of their suffering. The earlier you take care of yourself, the better it will be for you in the long run.

The benefits of investing in yourself and your family can be in different forms. Your health can be your best investment if you take good care of yourself. The better your health, the longer you live, and the more productive you become in your career or business. Your children and family are your other investments. They are more precious than all the material things in this world and they deserve your full attention, love, and respect.

Investing in you and your family will not only make you a better parent, spouse, son, or daughter, but it will also make you a role model for your kid who will learn from you. If you are financially stable, financially independent, and have enough money to provide them with their needs and even wants, your child's growth is guaranteed to be successful. Your spouse will most likely give his or her best to you because he knows that he or she will be financially guaranteed during a possible downside.

Lead image source from Unsplash.

26
$ 6.79
$ 6.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 16
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Comments

All what was said above is right, we shouldn't just live the day but save for the future, having a family business that'll suit the children is a bright idea.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The future belongs to those who plans for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it does

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with all the things you mentioned here. And gave me new ideas of what I should start as soon as I can. Thanks a lot, Sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I'm starting to regret things though I'm still 22 years old.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You still have a lot of time my dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are really important things you've mentioned sir and and I believe an old man would feel fulfilled in his old age if he has accomplished these. I pray God assists you in achieving your dreams amen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the prayers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A job can support to one person or one family while a business support generation after generation. I like your this point more. I also love to invest in myself and family. Moreover these should be savage for your retirement.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Great point, I will write that down to always remember.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for noticing my point.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are goals you wish to make them come to pass and I believe God will see you through too because nothing is ever great than having a good health to make all of these come to pass. Health should be our priority if we really want to achieve all what we have planned and wished for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the prayers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice article, I think this is wake up call for us,the only thing I think about, is having my own house early, but I guess I have to think about other things too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having a house early is something every sensible person should be concerned about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

That having a family business and owning a house at a early stage are two of the things I'm working towards with full focus, when one have this things, life become even more easier.. I can tell from a fact cause that how my dad is, steady income monthly without moving a finger.. And no need to be looking for house rent.. This things will even put the mind of the kids at rest too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are things that everyone needs to work on before old age, we don't know what lies ahead so we have do these things while we can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not living a healthy lifestyle," I realized just now how I abused my body, I'm just like killing my bodybgradually by doing vicious things. Maybe t's time to change this lifestyle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s better to do things in time. And it will save us from regretting. Anyway there is some beautiful point in your writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will never regret of investing in Bitcoin cash now because I know the worth of BCH in my early age

$ 0.00
2 years ago