My crochet journey

10 31
Avatar for Fancycrafter
2 years ago
Topics: Freewrite

Hello everyone! I'm new here and thisi s my first time to write about my thoughts. I've always wanted to share my thoughts to the world and read.cash has given me an opportunity to do so. I'm not good at writing and I'm not that fluent in English but I'm still gonna try.

Just call me Fancycrafter. I'm already married and we have a 1 year old girl. Ever since I was young, I really loved making clothes, sewing and even designing clothes. I used to make clothes for my dolls and I would also keep a notebook full of my designs. One of my dreams is to become a fashion designer. I would even watch Project Runway all the time.

So when I gave birth to my daughter, I had this idea of creating clothes for my baby because I want to make a specific style that I thought would look good on her. I researched the types of fabric and stuffs and the materials that I'm gonna need in order to sew baby's clothes. Until one day while I was watching on YouTube, I saw a tiktok compilation video of people, mostly teens, creating crocheted garments and stuff I watched it and I was so amazed at how good they were with this craft because of their amazing projects. It inspired me to learn how to crochet. I then started watching youtube tutorial videos on how to crochet even though I didn't have the materials. I would really learn through them and try to do it in my mind. Even though I haven't tried or practiced yet, I knew I can do it. So I still wasn't able to obtain the materials needed for it and I was sooo sooo eager to crochet. I would even dream of crocheting. I then started looking for yarns and the materials such as hooks and stuffs on an online shopping app. I didn't have any idea of what yarns to use and thought they were also expensive. So one time I told my husband I really wanted to crochet and he told me that he saw yarns on a Japan Surplus store. I asked him if he could buy it for me. He didn't respond.

After a week, he came home from work and gave me a plastic bag. I opened it and to my surprise it was a bag of YARNS! From Japan Surplus. Oh! I was soooo happy and touched. I was so thankful and I thought I could finally start crocheting. But there's one problem still, I didn't have a crochet. But there was a circular knitting needle given for free by the owner of the store. I didn't know how to knit. But I was too bored so I watch YouTube video tutorials on how to knit and quickly learned it. I was even able to make a dog's jacket after 2 days, and a shirt for my baby. It was also fun to learn.

After some time, I asked my husband if he could buy me a set of hooks and he did. He bought me a set of hook and right a free receiving the parcel containing the hook, I immediately tried it. I was sooo excited at the time.

It wasn't easy at first. It was a lot more confusing than I thought it would. But after some time, I got the hang of it and I was able to make a crochet top for my first project. I was quite please with how it turned out but there was a lot of mistakes. It doesn't matter because I know it happens. I just have to try and try.

After some time, I decided to make a page for my creations and sell some of them. My projects aren't much recognized but I'm still trying my best and learning to improve my works. I then started getting commisioned works from people. I only had a few customers but I am hally to say that I put a part of my heart doing their orders.

It is a hobby and also a part time business. I haven't done much yet but I know someday I will. I want to do my own designs and be recognized too but I know it's still a long way ahead. But I dreamed of being a designer, didn't I? I think I did but not in a way I expected it to be, but still, in a way, it happened. So someday, I know my dreams will also come true. This is just the beginning.

5
$ 0.62
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
$ 0.03 from @ARTicLEE
+ 1
Avatar for Fancycrafter
2 years ago
Topics: Freewrite

Comments

You'll surely become a great designer someday. πŸ˜‡ Claim it! Welcome to read.cash! πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for motivating me β™₯️ I will surely try

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome πŸ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another one talented person join the platform. You are very welcome. Love to read more about your life and thoughts. Keep being passionate!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi! Welcome to read.cash. Thanks to @ARTicLEE for the mention.

I have been crocheting for more than ten years already and I have written some patterns here at read.cash. You might want to visit my profile. 😊

Also, if you are in noise.cash. Please do subscribe in my Pretty Crafts channel and post your projects there. I just made this channel last night. 😊 https://noise.cash/c/pretty-crafts-x417vmwl

You might want to check this article for inspiration. : https://read.cash/@Judith1969/disney-ladies-40cf4607

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you soo muchβ™₯️ You made my day β™₯️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello and welcome to read! @Judith1969 will be thrilled to have a fellow like you who loves crochet :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much! You just made my day?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago