My version of lemongrass roasted chicken

39 59
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago
Topics: Foodie, Recipe, Dinner

March 5, 2022

Hello my lovely Read friends!!

Hope weekend is treating you well and that you are having a great time!

Saturday is usually my busiest day of the week. It is the day when deliveries and restocking of items in the display rack of my store take place, however, no matter how busy my day is I was able to find time to cook something for dinner. Something that I don't usually do during Saturdays.

I guess it's because my oven is still new and I'm still excited to use it. haha So out of the blue I sent someone to the market this morning to buy the ingredients for me.

I've already checked some recipes online and have an idea of what I want to make. This time, I'm going to try to roast a lemongrass roasted chicken. It's not actually new to me as I was using turbo broiler before if I want a roasted chicken but this time I want it oven roast and I'm also trying a new recipe. I did combine two recipes that I saw today and let's see what will happen.

Ingredients:
1 whole chicken (about 1kg.)
2 stalks of lemongrass (1 stalk for marinade; 1 stalk to put inside the chicken)
1 head garlic, peeled and pounded
1 thumb-size ginger, peeled and crushed
1-quart buttermilk
3 tablespoons fish sauce
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 whole white onion sliced
1 lemon quartered
1 head garlic, halved crosswise
1 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon pepper

Instructions:

Rinse the chicken well and remove any gizzards or innards in the cavity, if any. Drain well and pat dry.

Peel the outer layer of the lemongrass stalks until you reach the pale central core. Cut into 3 to 4-inch lengths and with the back of the knife, lightly pound each piece.

In a food processor or blender, process lemongrass, garlic, and ginger for about 1 to 2 minutes or until resembling a coarse paste. Add salt and pepper and massage the mixture on the chicken, including the cavity.

In a large container, combine buttermilk, fish sauce, and sugar. After mixing the ingredients add chicken and make sure that it is well covered by the mixture.

The standard marinating time is to at least marinate the chicken in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours or overnight for best results. But what I did was I marinated the chicken for 5 hours and turn the chicken every few hours to evenly infuse with flavor.

After 5 hours, drain chicken from the marinade and scrape off any stray herbs, and pat dry. Put the lemon wedges, remaining garlic, and a stalk of lemongrass.

Arrange breast-side up on a roasting pan or baking pan. Bake in a 450 F oven for about 15 mins and lower the temp to 350 F for another 1 1/2 hours or until skin is golden and crisp. You can also use a thermometer inserted in the thickest part of the chicken to make sure that it's evenly cooked. The temp of the inside should be 165 F.

Remove from oven and let rest for about 7 to 10 minutes before slicing.

Serve hot with your favorite gravy

The roasted chicken didn't last long on our table. Was it tasty? I guess so because everyone got a slice and nothing was left on the serving plate except the onions that were at the bottom of the chicken. haha, It was so tender that you don't need a knife to slice it off. I think next time instead of 1 whole lemon, I'll just use half and for the chicken bed of onions to lessen the juices or maybe I'll just use a wire rack so the juices will not get stuck with the chicken.

Was it a success? Oh yes, I think it was a success. The color is perfect for me. The crispness of the skin is just right and everybody loves it. And that is what's important to me.

Sources:
Kawaling Pinoy
Inspired taste


And if you have come this far... Thank you for sharing your time with me.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

You can also find me here

Hive 🌱 Noise 🌱 Twitter 🌱 Appics

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)

051/365/2022

19
$ 8.30
$ 7.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @dziefem
+ 6
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago
Topics: Foodie, Recipe, Dinner

Comments

gran receta, muy bien explicada, a seguir aprendiendo cada día de todo un poco saludos desde Venezuela.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let us be the judge. Do you have more so we can come over for a taste lol! That looks really good!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

let me know when you guys are coming over and I'll gladly roast one for you hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ilang beses lang naman ako napalunok sis haha. I want to try this too pero hindi ganito mismo kasi wala kaming oven dito. Kaya parang steamed then fried lang hindi roasted. Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yep.. you can follow until the end of marinating the chicken .. then you can pan fry it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This looks so good and delicious! I wish I have the talent also when it comes to food but apparently for now I'm only good at one thing when it comes to food: eating! hahaha But I will definitely explore and try to cook some food soon!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahahaha eating is one of the best thing when it comes to food hahahah and I definilty love doing it too lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaa sherep! I want to try this dish too! looks juicy and zesty yum!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

go sis! i know you can do it better than what I did :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anlaaaaa teka napakwenta ako sa nagastos sa pag luluto lag italagang price ang napapansin ko ee haha.

Pero OMG, ut looks really delicious. When ba kami makakatimik nyan sanaaaa 🤤🤤🤤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha bat ka nagcompute? d naman sya syadong mahal hahaha mura lang naman ang manok ngayon di ba?

when? pagnagpunta ka dito sa Manila.. ipagluluto kita haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHA my kakuriputan side kasi, lumalabas HAHAHA.

When? Hmmm, kapag di na ako tinatamad at takot sa tao HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko din mag try ng ganyang luto sa bahay kaso wala kaming gamit hehe. Hanggang tinola lang talaga kami 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

kaya yan... instead na roast sa over.. pan fry mo lang konti lang magiging difference nun sa lasa hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma try nga yan ate, kokopyahin ko pa din recipe mo haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aweee, the food looks delicious my friend Eylz. Hope I'll be a great cook like you. Right now, I'm still not knowledgeable enough in cooking. But I love baking though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chicken with fish, it would never have occurred to me, it looks good, apparently it turned out very good, not even the shadows of the chicken were left

$ 0.02
2 years ago

its just a fish sauce not a fish per se hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mukhang and sarap po ng luto nyo nakakagana talagang kumain kapag ganito yung mga ulam kung siguro samin ubos din to kahit tatlo lang kami hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahahaha mukha naman masarap kasi naubos nila... pero masarap talaga i marinate yung chicken sa milkbutter hindi kasi nagiging dry yung chicken after iluto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I'm craving baka namn po eonnie isang kurot lang sa manok hehez

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha waley natira 🤣😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Sarap nito ateeee. Laway me. Hahaha. I am starting to be a cookerist in our house, gusto ko sana itry to kaso wala pala kami over or even turbo boiler in the house. So pass muna. Haha Pero ang sarap talaga nito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede mo din itry sa fried sis hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hala oo nga. Sana magawa ko ng maayos. Mostly pa naman sa mga tinatry ko lutuin eh epic fail haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh friend I have never mixed buttermilk and fish sauce with chicken, it seems to me a bit strange recipe, but the food looks really delicious.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was my first time too but it taste good and not too salty

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Sobrang sarap sis. Parang nagutom ako. 🤤 Napaka sarap talaga. Ang galing niyo mag luto sis. Binasa ko to 1:49 am tas bigla akong nagutom. Favorite ko pa naman chicken. 🤤 Sobrang sarap sis. 🤤 Pahingi naman. Hehe pero wala ng natira diba sis. 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Waley natira hahaha salamat sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis hehe pero ang sarap talaga nun. 😁🤤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The roasted chicken looks delicious and I really love to taste it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wish you can taste it...thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would try it one day that is why I have on the subscription button in case you publish another one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sarap naman niyan ate, sa mata palang nakakatakam na.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha salamat! Bilis nga naubos eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wowwww water has poured into my mouth the chicken full filled dish seems very delicious I will try the recipe soon enjoy your dinner

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks! Yep try it.. just make sure not to put to much lemon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagutom ako bigla pagkabasa neto ate hehe. Mukang masarap nga po yung gawa nyo. Haven't tastes lemongrass roasted chicken yet hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ubos agad eh hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago