I Thought I Just Had A Delayed Period!

48 82
Avatar for Eybyoung
2 years ago

Premenstrual period and pregnancy symptoms are sometimes almost the same in some women. Some don't have an obvious sign of pregnancy except that their period is delayed, especially when they are not delicate pregnancy.

I have a regular monthly period that has a 28-30 days cycle, since the beginning of my period when I was 13 years old I never had this “missed period ” or irregular periods. It's funny recalling my first ever menstrual period as I cried because I don't want to bleed, I don't want to be a lady as I was a “boyish” girl back then.

I thought I just had a delay period

It was the month of February 2017 that I got paranoid as my period didn't come, I have a hunch that I might be pregnant as I have contact with my partner last January lol it's not an accident. But I didn't expect it is pregnancy because I don't have the obvious signs of pregnancy.

I have the usual signs of my premenstrual period, so I was also thinking I just had a delayed period.

What are my pre-menstrual period signs that can be an early pregnancy sign too?..

Swollen breasts -

Every time my period is coming, my breast feels like it was swollen. It is painful when it was hit or if I move extreme enough to shake it. I thought it was just normal as I always experience this, little did I know it was already preparing for the milk production.

I have cravings -

I also crave foods when I have my premenstrual period signs, I crave spicy foods. When I cannot satisfy my cravings I got annoyed, but when I get to eat spicy foods my mood becomes lighter. I didn't have this extreme craving when I got pregnant, it was the same as I have a monthly period so I didn't think I was pregnant.

Abdominal cramps -

I also experience abdominal cramps before I got my period, I thought it was just normal thinking it was just dysmenorrhea. I didn't know that the abdominal cramps I was experiencing are already implantation of the fertilized egg in my uterus. The amount of pain during my pre-menstrual period signs and the implantation of the fertilize egg was the same, so it's really hard to determine if it was early signs of pregnancy or not.

Body pain -

Every time my period is coming 2 days before or the day first day of the period, my whole body is in pain, I mean my muscles. It feels like I was being battered badly. My body is weaker than it's kinda hard and tiring to move around. I also experience it during my early pregnancy, who would have thought I am already carrying a life in my belly.

Due to the signs I experience, I continue to do my usual routine.. like,

Going to the gym -

I never thought I am pregnant so I still go to the gym, I used to be a gamer before. as I was a frustrated fitness enthusiast.

I am not fat but I do work out in the gym before as I want to tone my muscles and to be energetic as I was like a lousy veggie, with no muscle strength at all.

I don't lift heavy barbels tho, just 10kgs, 5kgs on right, and also 5kgs at left. I just used it when I do squatting. But still, if you know you are pregnant, you are not allowed to lift heavy things anymore to avoid miscarriage.

Using Sauna Belt -

Even though I work out, I still have baby fats left in my belly and I was a heavy eater I eat a lot of carbs. I used a sauna belt, as it directly burns my belly. It was an electric sauna that I have to plug for 50 minutes and wrapped around my belly.

For a pregnant woman using it is a very big NO! But I didn't know at all so I still used it.

I drink beer -

They said that drinking beer can help menstrual blood flows, I don't what was the scientific explanation but I did drink hoping my menstruation can flow already as I am already worn out with the abdominal cramps. it's very painful.

But.. the blood didn't come out lol.

Finally taking a pregnancy test-

Image Source: smartparenting.com.ph

My last resort to know if I was pregnant or not is to take a pregnancy test, I waited for two weeks or 14 days just to take the test effectively to confirm if I was pregnant or not. 14 days delayed of the period already can give accurate results in pregnancy test as it was two weeks already if you are pregnant the hCG count is already high to detect the pregnancy.

I did take and voila! Two pretty red lines appear.

I was like Oh my gosh! I am not ready, I can't be a mom yet!

I did cry after knowing it, I have so many uncertainties in mind but I never thought of getting rid of the baby. I know how it feels being “unwanted” so even if I am scared, I am also determined to continue the pregnancy.

I was just surprised that the baby holds tight even if I did a possible ways to have a miscarriage as I didn't know I was pregnant.

Closing Thoughts

To all women out there who didn't experience pregnancy yet, please note that as long as you have a delayed period and you have contacted your partner even if you don't have obvious signs of pregnancy can be a pregnancy already.

So you should be careful with your actions to avoid miscarriage because it's also dangerous to you, miscarriage sometimes can lead to hemorrhage. Make sure to confirm if the delayed period is already pregnant or not for your safety and the baby's safety.

I was just glad I didn't experience that danger even if I did excessive things.

Time flies so fast and that unexpected pregnancy is turning 4 years old this October lol. Despite the uncertainties I experience I did not regret everything, the child was the answer to some of my why's and give me more directions in life. I didn't know that I would love her with my all, I was thankful and blessed!

As always, thank you for reading!

Lead Image edited via TextApp


28
$ 0.91
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 11
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
2 years ago

Comments

Akala ko pa naman me second baby na.. heheh.. pero relate ako sa swollen breast.. feeling ko ang dami kong gatas kasi ang sakit at ang bigat.. feelingera lang noh.. heheh.. at dami ko ding cravings.. gusto ko spicy noodles and spicy chicken.. and ang cute mo talaga sa pic na yan. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! We have the same signs of menstrual period. You're such a very great mother to have taken care of the baby and choose to pursue pregnancy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uwu, mahirap kapag nasa stage ka palang ng pagbubuntis ano. Lalo na pag lumaki na ang tiyan aguy, ayaw ko na talagang mag aanak hahaha. Pero syempre tuloy pa rin dapat ang ligaya basta maalam lang mag ano brahahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!!! Congratulations since the pregnancy is now a big baby already. Happy birthday in advance to her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was about to say congrats pero napaisip ako..mag aapat na taon na this october 😅binasa ko ulit yung closing thought. Pero congrats parin po kasi pinanindigan mopo na maging mommy kahit dika papo ready. A salute to all mother out there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung nanay ko , tanduay pinaglihi sakin. Himala't nabuhay pa ako hahah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Strip P-test is sometimes is not reliable. You have to go for ultrasound. It can be general problem that cause delayed your period. It is my doctor advice just.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abi nakog masundan na imong baby girl. Haha. Effective pud ang clickbait bay. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owww I though you'll have another baby. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

..magcocongratulate na sana ako kaso 2017 pa pala 😁 yung beer ginawa ko yan sa bunso ko nung nadelayed ako kasi natatakot ako na baka buntis ako dahil complicated situation namin ni hubby noon, nagtry ako lumaklak baka sakali di magtuloy pero makapit si baby eh haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True talaga yung akala mo sign lang na on the way na period mo pero baby pala yung on the way. Yung sakin kasi abnormal period so pag may signs dun ko lang malalaman na malapit na xia,, kaso nung may mga usual signs na paparating na period ko nadagdagan na nang morning sickness kaya dun nako nagduda..lol..totoo ba talaga na nakaka lessen nang desme ang pag inom nang beer, on or before period? at magkano yung belt na nakakaburn nang fats maam?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di ko din na try talaga yung beer eh yung time lang na yun haha ngayon di nmn na ako na inom..

Sa lazada yung belt 250 yun before iwan ko lang now.. pwd mo search yun sa lazada sauna belt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko may new baby po magco-congrats na sana ako haha. Regular din ako ever since. Nalalate lang period ng mga days minsan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha katakot ayoko muna sundan 😂

Ako din kaya kala ko late lang nang ilang days eh sus yun na pala yun 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blessing na pala yun 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Women are Superheros ❤️they have babies in their belly for nine months. Bearing the pain, anxiety and restless nights. salute to every woman out there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah thank you for appreciating our value 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to admire the strength of every woman out there. You were all built differently because the way your body adjusts to these changes, you deserved to be loved and pampered at every single turn. It requires strength and courage and you people have a whole bundle of it.

Some people don't even stress themselves as you have stressed yourself without knowing you were pregnant and they lost it despite being conscious that they are pregnant. I think being a fit person helped you too and that's why I agreed with your advice that extra care should be taken to avoid miscarriage.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree with you that maybe being physically fit can also strengthen the pregnancy to pursue even if I have done extreme things..

Thanks for your valuable comments 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, too 🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala, grabe man pud ang sauna belt oi. Makapit nga si baby at has strong will to survive kasi kinaya nya lahat yun. Ako naman when i thought it was just a delayed period. I still work but did not do heavy things kasi at the back of my mind, baka buntis ako. Nagkasakit din ako noon pero di ako uminom ng gamot. Mga 3 dys yun pero gumaling din nman ako.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Become conscious about this matter is important. A couple should be aware of the signs so they become Known about their pregnancy from the earlier stage

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes but sometimes it doesn't have obvious symptoms just like pms only so it's hard to determine the right thing to do with a woman in the same situation is to confirm first before doing any extreme activities to avoid complications.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you have possibility to conceive pregnancy then, one can test it. It's not that you have to go far away for it Just buy a test kit from the market and do a primary test at home. If something unusual happens then visit the doctors

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know sometimes it cannot be detected by the kit, there are even cases that a woman is already 3 months pregnant but negative on the pt.. there are several reasons for that and pregnancy is always distinct to each pregnancy as woman has different signs or no signs at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ow.I understand. It' a bit different Hope every girls become a mother easily. No complications is expected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kala ko bago ..😅 Oi magkano yung belt? 🤣 d mawala2 belly fats ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mura lang yun sa lazada eh wla pa 300 hahaha.. galing nga nun pinagpapawisan talaga tyan mo. Hahahaha ayoko muna sundan kapagod mag alaga 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same sis I didn't knew I was pregnant but not same situation. Kasi ako palagi delayed not monthly ang period ko. Kaya ayun nalaman namin na 1 month and 8 days preggy na ko. Tas palagi pa naman ako umiinom ng kape. 3 times a day kasi di ko maintindihan tiyan ko ehh kaya palagi ako nagkakape. Saya saya namin nung nalaman namin na preggy na ko. Lalo na nung narinig namin yung heartbeat. 🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya pala ako kasi talaga regular ako. Pero di kasi maselan pag buntis ko parang wala lang kaya walang ibang signs same lang din sa pms ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti ka pa sis. Ako Grabe subra selan. Pabalik balik ako sa lababo. Ayaw ko tumayo kasi nahihilo ako lalo. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakin naman hindi ko sya masasabing unwanted kasi sinadya namin na wag gumamit ng kahit ano , kaya nung delay ako at napapansin na nila na tumataba daw ako alam ko na buntis ako hehe

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Kami nmn wala pa talaga sa plan, kase alam mo na ang dami ek.ek sa buhay pati sa family side nya.. pero thankful pa rin nmn haha saya nga eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay akala q may kasunod na si bby gurl mo jiji.. irregular aq ever since kya npagkakamalan q din pms mga past early pregnancy symptoms q

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha wala pa, ayoko pa sundan kapagod mag alaga 😂

Ako kase regular kaya shoot sa banga hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko din haha. Click bait 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Jusmio hahaha! Pero nagka missed period ako 2 months nung gumamit ako nang Diane pills kala ko masundan na unica ija namin 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nyahahahaha. Nakakakaba no 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hi there. I find your article interesting. I actually have a very delayed menstruation three months ago, but just a note, I do not have a boyfriend and never have a contact with someone, so I know I am safe. Hahahaha What's I am interested in is because this is like a preparation for the future just in case. I am actually have a very delayed menstruation, the longest delay I have was almost a year, it was 11 months that I never got my monthly menstruation. But thank God, right now it seems to be normal as I am experiencing it three months now in a row.

It is really unexpected that we just thought it was just a delay, but I find you amazing as well that you keep the child in you. That's so brave of you. Salute. 👏✨☺️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hello, thanks for your valuable comments.

If you don't have any contact with men then it's probably a missed period only.. your missing period took so long have you gone to some check up for that? It's unhealthy to have very late periods..

Thanks, yeah I need to be responsible for my actions too and I never regretted it. We were so happy having her 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually visited a doctor before wayback college that was two years ago, and said its normal. And visited another doctor before the pandemic at normal pa rin daw. I am planning to visit again sana kaso natatakot akong pumunta sa mga ospital dahil sa virus. But I'll make sure to visit in no time, kasi gusto ko talaga malaman kung bakit super delay ng menstruation ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see okay nmn na nagpa check up ka. Meron talaga ganyan. I have a cousin din na ganyan ang means sayo, nagka anak din nmn sya dalawa na anak nya now. Kaya normal nga lang talaga siguro yan. Wala ka naman ata PCOS diba?

Wag ka na muna pa check this time hirap dahil sa covid baka magpositive pa result mo kahit means lang pina pa check up mo haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung nagpa check up ako last year kasamo ko friend ko, yung findings sa kanya may PCOS talaga siya, pero sakin normal lang talaga daw. Ewan ko na talaga anong meron sakin. Hahaha

Kaya nga po, ayoko talaga muna pumunta sa ospital kasi kakatakot. Tyaka nag menstruation na rin naman ako, three months straight. Sana tuloy tuloy na. ☺️🤞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps it was meant to be that's why your baby held on tight despite the rigorous routine you have had during those times unknowing you were carrying her :)

I knew someone who did everything because she didn't want the baby, yet for some power, the baby was tough she fought with all her might. The mother was thankful afterward.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you, when things are meant to be it will never be get rid off. Yes that mother should be thankful because you know sometimes trying to abort the baby can bring them harm, they might survive but have disabilities.. if the baby is pretty fine then that mom should he very thankful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I firmly believe that too :)

Thankfully, the baby has grown up to be really healthy physically and mentally too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super Mom!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yey! Just like you, super dad! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago