2 Day Getaway at Pugo, Launion, PH

9 32
Avatar for EvilWillow
3 years ago
Topics: River

It's been a long time since I posted articles of my Journey. Click here if you haven't seen them yet :))

https://read.cash/@EvilWillow/the-philippines-first-national-park-hundred-islands-261e7e38

The first article I made regarding my trips were at HUNDRED ISLANDS :))

https://read.cash/@EvilWillow/surip-mountain-beach-resort-philippines-c10c1ba1

I was 3rd year college when I visited Surip, Bani, Pangasinan :))

https://read.cash/@EvilWillow/the-beauty-of-black-sands-aa8b85c9

I am a fan of beaches and I sometimes go with my family or friends :))

https://read.cash/@EvilWillow/desolate-park-burnham-baguio-ph-ab79e1b7

Well, how about a sneak peek at Baguio?

https://read.cash/@EvilWillow/patar-bolinao-philippines-19f76efa

This here are my awesome shots in Bolinao, Pangasinan :))

https://read.cash/@EvilWillow/bamboo-forest-baguio-city-ph-39eb1fd3

A family trip at our locality, Bamboo Forest, Baguio :))

Last February 15-16, 2020 we visited Pugo, La Union. At first I was excited because I thought we were going to the famous resort at Pugo but reality came crushing in at the last minute. Our cousins called my brother and I on the evening of February 14, they asked us if we want to tag along. My brother just got home from overseas and he was cooped on a dorm during his college days so he hasn't seen the Philippines that much. So when he told me that he wanted to go, I reluctantly agreed. He was so excited and even told me to wake him up at 6 am. On my part, I was not eager and I was having double thoughts on going because in my mind, "Where else will we go if not in the famous Pugo resort?" So I did an all-nighter and slept at 4 am. My brother woke me at 7 am asking why I didn't wake him up. I was so groggy that I answered "I am not coming, its somehow not worth it". I know I'm being mean and when he replied whit a begrudging tone, my conscience was pricked. I didn't mind him and tried to sleep but I just can't rid of the guilt. I stomped on his excitement. So after 30 minutes of sleepless morning, I called him to pacify his feelings and told him we must go. I discriminated the place due to the fact that the resort was the only thing famous but I was wrong! Pugo, La Union has lots to offer aside from the famous resort :))

Bountiful plains greets the eye, endless grains waving with the summer air. We came from the cold place of Baguio so it took us awhile to get accustomed with the climate. Paddy field are also new to me because I was not able to visit my own province that much (Alab, Mountain Province) The sun's ray was burning but the endless air brought a cool feeling. There are fields as far as the eye can see :)) Lush greens were too good for my eye, that's a contradictory to the buildings I saw at my everyday life.

Here is a big ass stone that cemented the bridge that I had taken a video. Too bad I was not able to take pictures of the bridge itself.

Just a house at passing.

The place they were aiming to go needs 30-40 minutes trekking. We were youngsters so we made it at that time but when you plan to visit with an elderly, it would take at least an hour of walking. If you can see that pink ecobag, it has a live chicken on it. That's for our lunch, pinikpikan or sometimes dubbed as "Killing me softly".

I planned to upload the videos I took but the file is too big. I was not able to capture a photo of the bridge but you should at least need to cross 2 bridges before getting to the location. There is a paved way but we didn't know the exact location of the river so we followed the path alongside the water. It was only during our second day that a local told us that there is an easier way.

We also passed by some chicken coops along the way, there is also papaya plantation on its side. The irrigation is well maintained so greeneries will always meet the eye.

As you can see, the water is so clear that the locals boast of it :)) They're proud to tell us some staffs and they are welcoming to guests.

We made it at the first body of the river but my cousins told us that there were some place with a stagnant flow of the river. You see, moss is created in the river if the current is slow, the water is clean but it was stagnant that it created those greens.

The next part of the river is barricaded with cement so that the water will still be available in times of drought. By the way, that was me stepping on a rock but the actual depth of the water is at my chin. I'm small in stature with a height of 5 foot 2 inches so I guess the water is 5 foot depth?

This is me looking foolish right of the bat but this is the only picture I have with a clear view of the cement I was talking about HAHA If you could see the cemented part on the next picture (the left part), that is where we were.

This is where we ended our first day of exploring the suburbs of Pugo, La Union. My cousins scouted far ahead and told us that there is more awesome river up ahead. That is our next destination for our second day.

We ended our day with a bonfire :)) By the way I have a terrible experience with red ant and mosquitos lol but fortunately, I was not bitten by red ants. We have an aunty here at Pugo so that our accommodation was solved right away.

We passed the same way on our first day but this time, we trekked further and we were greeted by the last part of the river. It was just awesoooome! Look at the pictures.

The view that made me smiiiile:)) There is more awesome scenery behind that big ass rock. By the way, that rock is where I carved my name.

Voila! The closer we get, the more beautiful it is.

Atop the rock is just another word of awesomeness. The depth of the water is 6 foot but there are deeper parts that you can dive into. I think the deepest is around 13-15 foot. Yes, that is how deep it was. You can also see the ripples of the slow moving current.

This is the deeper part. The whole river was on video but I can't upload it huhu.

My brother picking woods for us to cook the chicken.

And this was me, taking pictures everywhere HAHA. The two day get away is superb!

Writing while reminiscing, EvilWillow

5
$ 9.85
$ 9.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @icary
$ 0.01 from @LucyStephanie
Avatar for EvilWillow
3 years ago
Topics: River

Comments

Whoaaa. I was planning to see a beach but I saw a river. Didn't know they have that kind of place there too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Antagal ko ng pinaplano magtravel sa La Union since nadadaanan lang namin yan kapag umuuwi kami ng province. Sana mapuntahan namin to kapag tapos na ang pandemic. Ang gaganda ng mga tanawin, more recommendations. PleaseπŸ™‡β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wiee diba po. Enjoy talaga tanawin lalo pag day off wahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Truth po, sarap mag unwind diyan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

the view looks breathtaking huhu hindi pako nakakapunta sa mga ganyang lugar, hindi naman kasi kami nag fafamily outing HAHAHA

$ 0.00
3 years ago

outing daw po after pandemic titawap @luna09 HAHAHAHA.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Drawing lang muna yan HAHA tapos hindi pa sure kung makukulayan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHAHAHA yiee may goals naaa. Waiting po ako sa outing nyoooo πŸ˜πŸ’›πŸ’›

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahaha, since kami lang tatlo dito sa capiz, di kami masyado nag outing unless may mga nagbabakasyon na kamag anak from Manila.. Hopefully, pero tama si junakis, drawing muna,, hahahahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago