Eunoia’s rabbitry: Why do I want to farm rabbits (Oryctolagus cuniculus)?

22 50
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
2 years ago

The new venture was in my mind for quite a long time now, it’s a venture that needed some space with time and research. Following my 2022 goals and plan, I listed the rabbitry and now I started doing so. Learning and understanding rabbits will be a great deal for me. I had some research proposals in mind and I need rabbits in my own life. Here are the reasons why I need a rabbitry.

First, my background must conclude. I am an agriculturist and I had some background information about farming, particularly ruminants. I saw some opportunity in conducting an integrated farm that concludes rabbits, and rabbit farming is underestimated and fresh venture that must everyone must aware of things.

Rabbitry or rabbit farming had two sides of focus. The fancy farming or breeding rabbit for the purpose of displaying pet and rabbit meat farming, that concludes the consumption of lapan. Lapan is what we called for the meat of rabbits, lapan is a great substitute for pork which some people cant consume because of religious beliefs and some health issues problem, so they want to raise rabbits.

Understanding that rabbit is edible is somehow the hindrance that loses the market in the Philippines. Some people see rabbits as pets not to be consumed or eaten but like their farm animals. Lapan is considered as clean meat when it was raised or tame and game meat if the rabbit was wild living its own life and diet.

As I said there were two sides to rabbit farming, the pet or fancy type has its breed and the meat-type also has one.

Entering the venture wasn’t that easy, I remembered myself in starting a mushroom production. Technically and paper were within me, but the actual and manual practice made me lose time and money. Starting in a very small number will be a great lesson rather than executing it in huge numbers. That is why I choose to start my kits with only 3 specimens at the moment, but it will soon add some.

i. Acquisition of specimens.

Originally I wanted to have at least 4 specimens. Three Doe (female rabbits) and 1 buck (male rabbit). But I wanted a specific breed for a doe and buck, and particularly the age and the self characteristic that needed for my records.

I brought 2 female does' that was given birth on November 17 2021, they are siblings for the record. I want at least 3 females under the same age but I was lost to do so, the doe was followed by giving birth on November 19 2021. It was favourable for me for easy recording and planning.

They are C1 or the first generation of F1. They are considered good breeding so I must say they are capable of multiplying but in the next generations C3 toC4, I don’t plan to use them in breeding but for some research much applies.

ii. Preparing the cage and pens.

They are under the same cage at the moment, but when they reach at least 4 months they must be separated from each other for the purpose of equal food allocation and be ready for breeding rest preparations.

iii. Feeding and nutrition.

I need to still give them the diet that was given to them by their previous owner. They must not be given alien accommodation in an immediate change. They must be prepared for the changes of food by their diets when I saw their stress was now filtered.

But next month, I must change its diet with a new specific brand and higher crude protein ready-made feeds for their vital growth. I still give them an ad libitum style of water and feed. Ad libitum meant that food available was stable every time.

But in the next few days, I must start my own practice with them.

iv. Recordings,

The recording is much more important in any venture. You can't just bring, give food and let them live. No there was nothing like that. I recorded their initial weight the moment they came rehome, I needed to weigh the food they took so I could compute the gain weight or loss of weight they had.

Records are the most important thing in rabbit farming, know the date where they birth, know the exact date where they must breed, expected day of gestation and giving birth, and the days that the mother stays in pen and leaves her young.

Rabbit farming wasn’t just an easy set-up and lineup. A practical way okay. But the main reason I need to start my rabbitry is that I need them to be integrated into my future farming plan.

The rabbit will play a vital part in my mushroom production. They eat wood chips, and mushrooms were a waste of sawdust after the production. I want to undergo such critical research on how to make the mushroom waste a new product that will make the rabbit supply gain, I need to look for an alternative yet sufficient way of farming, that’s my goal.

Learning is a process gained by reading and experience, that’s why I must see and prove things first in my mind. Let the year be filled with great opportunities to start something new and learn something big. Thanks for reading…

14
$ 17.21
$ 16.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
+ 6
Sponsors of Eunoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Yieee~ bakit parang nae-excite ako for this venture of yours, Kuya? 😍 Anyways, push lang. I know that you can do it. Good luckkkkk! ◉‿◉

I hadn't tried eating lapan pa pero may ilang restau dito sa amin na nag-ooffer n'yan. Pero parang ayokong kumain n'yan ay kasi nakita ko dati 'nung may kinatay na rabbit is parang lumuha ba. Para tuloy na di ko maatim na kainin sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We had two rabbits before but the other one died so we ended up giving the other one. And yup, it's not that easy to raise a rabbits. Hope you'll be successful for this one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Galing Naman. Kamusta pala Yung mushrooms mo?

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Rest muna lol, hirapan kasi last year eh. mga materyales hirap kunin at ang mahal dahil sa mga restrictions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May blog kaba pano mag start no? Haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Good luck boiii, pero sana di mo na sila kainin 🥺🥺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

haha geh wag na ngalang, pero sana talaga magsuccess hehe. padalhan kokayu letsyon nila kapag haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck on your rabbitry po, sir. I wish for it to be productive and successful. 💚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uyy thank you, teacher, happy new year to you and your family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napaka delicate naman ng ginagawa mo. Sabi nga nila masarap daw yung meat ng rabbit.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yeah na try ko na personaly eh sarap nga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great project dear!. I also have 17 rabbits I love with them and I want to buy more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napanood ko din tu na maganda karne ng rabbit pero parang di ko keri kainin huhuhaha naiimagine ko yung kacutetan nila tas inosente tas para akong killer na kakainin sila huhuhahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From the best natural projects because rabbit animals are loved by everyone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to our league I do have a rabbitry and they are really fun to rear mostly as pet. You need to study them so well and make sure they have enough space to play around

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful project, I love rabbits so much, they are cute creatures. I wish you success dear

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh so sweet word from you, Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda mag alaga nag rabbit talaga peru dito sa amin minsan kalang makakakita ng karne ng rabbit, at sa totoo lng ako gusto ko maka try ng rabbit hihi. Peru may sabi na di daw pwedi isama yung magkakapatid na rabit para sa breeding? Kasi namamatay daw yung mga anak ng rabit pag magkapatid yung babae at lalake? Hihi narinig ko lang😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

uyy New year, active na siya huh hehe sana magtuloy tuloy na hehe. Yes inbreeding na kasi kapag hehe, pero depende padin, meron oadin namang nabubuhay pero iilan lang. Hopefully dumami pa sila hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heheh new user po ako😅 napaka busy pa ni aiah kaya ito pina hirap lng yung accnt baka daw ma spam.hihi

Ahh ganun pala, peru atleast may nabubuhay. Kala ko lahat talaga patay na pag panganganak palang haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohh Nice hehe, Kaya pala iba na profile niya. hehe welcome here, praying for your success too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah sana nga kumita kahit konti dito kasi sayang yung tiwala ng nagpahirap kung dilang din namn kikita dito hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago