Storytime: I Got My New ATM Card Today

15 34
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Experiences, Blogging, Blog, ...

Today was a different kind of day, at least, to me.

I woke up with the slightest urge to sleep again. Usually, I would attempt to doze off in times like these. But, not today.

I immediately fixed my bed and drank a glass of water when I got up. Talked to my mom about the issue of Spratly Islands between our country and China.

This is Spratly Islands.

Seeing my latest article gaining more than $10 worth of upvotes lifted my morning mood. However, the news in the TV are such killjoys. If not about COVID-19, or crime cases amidst the pandemic, then it's about China gaining control of the Spratly Islands. New about the topic? Let me give you some sources for overview.

What angers me more is the government's finger-pointing mechanism. It sucks to have a system like this.

Who is really at fault in this situation?

The truth is, does that even matter? The real question should be:

What should be done to overcome this dilemma?

But well, as always, what would I expect? I can just hope for the best and go on with my life, taking control on what I can. So my mildly nonsensical rant ends here. Haha.

Anyway, I have shared yesterday about my wasted effort of trying to have my lost ATM card replaced. And I tried my luck today.

I took a half day off to accomplish this. Despite knowing that the bank opens at 9 o' clock in the morning, I have already arrived an hour earlier. Yeah, I was really planning to be the very first on the line today. Interestingly, someone has come a little bit earlier than me, so I am actually second place, as if it's a competition, lol.

Maybe waiting is sometimes not my thing—well does everyone love it, anyway?

An hour is enough to activate the boredom cells in my system. Usually, my cellphone would have rescued me from this feeling, but, for some strange coincidence, my phone is only at 22%. I would not want to drain it completely as it may help me in the bank later.

The sun is another thing, too. It was so bright and proud this early time of the morning. It bragged its UV rays to my poor skin and called out every single sweat glands into full operation mode. It's a wow feeling, really. Note the sarcasm. Summers here are like this. It's like being slowly baked inside an oven.

Finally, clock did strike 9:00 a.m. Finally. I saw the bank open, and we waited a bit before tha guards confirmed it was ready for operation.

My transaction is not the normal one like deposits, withdrawal, or similar stuff, so I expected I will not be accommodated immediately.

As soon as the clerk assigned for my issue came in, I was entertained immediately. I instantly smiled as I felt the coolness from the air conditioning units around. My one hour long sauna session is finally over.

The bank teller asked me a few questions relating to my problem. And after I presented my IDs, she told me to sit in a chair and wait for approval.

The approval I am talking about is the activation confirmation from the mother branch of my ATM Card. Because my card is originally from another branch, I will have to wait for its approval before my new card is issued to me.

And I think, ladies and gentlemen, this is where things got messy. Our conversation took not more than twenty minutes, but the time I have waited is almost three hours! Yes, no exaggeration, my friends. Three hours.

The past two hours were just spent on me looking around the small bank facility. I think I have memorized the area. I've got nothing else to do, anyway.

However, my patience was only able to hold out for two hours. I have witnessed the teller accomplish the same transaction with mine to more than five persons already. Why is mine taking too long? What's wrong?

I have seen lots of faces (well, not actually, since all of us are wearing face masks and face shields, but anyway) go in and out of the door, and I am now looking at my phone repeatedly for the time that has passed.

Being the passive-aggressive introvert that I am, I took courage to ask her what's the issue on my transaction, while she's in the middle of writing something, probably, some documents of her newest client.

She told me that she was trying to reach someone from the originating branch for approval for the past two hours, but she just can't seem to find anyone available.

In my mind, I was like, "What? Different branches from the same bank company can't communicate properly? What in the world is this?"

But, I quickly shoved the thought away with a more understanding resolution, "Maybe it was a skeletal setup and the ones she's trying to contact are not just at work today." Just, maybe.

I have thought of another possibilities to convince myself and be a more understanding person.

Few more minutes of not actually achieving anything, I decided to refer a contact that I have, to the clerk. We tried calling the number I shared, but no one was picking up.

I started to feel uneasy, as I only have until 12:00 p.m. And I only have less than an hour.

And like a miracle, my senior from office texted me about my food purchase from her. It's something like "Good morning, your ice cream's in the ref, just get it when you're here."

I replied and thanked her and I suddenly thought of asking her about my dilemma at the moment. Fortunately, she also handles stuff about our ATM paycard, and therefore knows someone directly from the mother branch. Thank you, Lord. God has listened to my silent prayers.

After a few minutes, she texted me back, "It's now being approved." I heaved a long sigh of relief, and immediately told this to the teller. We just waited for the confirmation, I am not really sure, email or phone call? But I am sure the clerk just spoke and assured me I am getting the card soon.

11:23 a.m. My phone is almost giving up at 7%, and I only have less than an hour before the scheduled time I should be in the office. My adrenaline is at its peak now. I am not feeling angry, nevertheless. I was just being excited and happy about it, honestly.

I can now finally see my papers being moved around the facility. At least, I can see it actually being processed now.

At approximately 11:50 am, I was able to get my new ATM card. Yay! If I could just jump there, I already did.

I did not waste any more minute and swiftly made my way to the ATM machine just around the bank's premises. I just followed the instructions on the paper attached in the new card. I changed my PIN, and made a few tries by making a balance inquiry.

After being sure that my PIN has been updated accordingly, I used the remaining few minutes for a quick walk to the company which is a few meters away the bank.

I was able to get there at exactly 11:58 a.m., two minutes before the schedule. It made me so satisfied. It felt like, everything just happened right on time. It tested my patience a bit, made me a little nervous, but at least, I made it.

Now I wonder, what if my senior colleague did not text me earlier? Would I have thought of asking for her help, or I may have just waited in the bank even the possibility is so low? I think she saved me from the trouble today. I would never want to file another leave for the same reason again, let alone wait for an hour that seems to be a day in a chimney. No way, dude.

So that's my share for the day. Another tiresome day, but I think I have accomplished something remarkable.

But wait, come to think of it. I would not be in this situation if I just took care of my old ATM card and did not lose it, right? Everything's my fault, I admit it.

With all these events shared, one lesson is added to my life book today, never put your cards in your pocket—it costs you time, patience, and effort to get a new one. This is also applicable to anything else, and to anyone.

Never ever lose focus on what is or who is important to you. You may always take everything for granted since.it has always been in your hands anyway. But the moment it slips off your hand, draws itself far away from your sight, you will be reminded of all the good things it has done to or caused you.

You may choose to let it go, or find ways to bring it back, or even replace it. The downside is that all these choices come with its own hardships.

Let's take care of everything and everyone so we won't have to deal with the regrets of letting it go, or hardships of bringing it back.


Hey, friend! Did you enjoy reading this? Or perhaps, something similar has happened to you, and you relate with me? Let's hear about your story in the comment section. :))

You may want to read this one, too. It's an article that inspired me to write this.


Thanks for reading! I appreciate it so much. Come write here if you still haven't!

Surprise again! Thank me later, because here are another set of recommended reads for today.

Follow them, too—you won't regret! :)

  • Photo sources are embedded in the pictures themselves.


I would really be grateful of you choose to support me in my read.cash journey. I welcome you with great virtual hugs!

Until next time!

4
$ 10.49
$ 10.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Experiences, Blogging, Blog, ...

Comments

Oh, I finally got to read the article you have mentioned. And haha. Banks, am I right? :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! I think this will be my second unlikable place, next to hospitals. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh that too. I wouldn't want to go there. Last time I went there... ugh... I can't even. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right most of the time we only know the value of something when they are already gone. When the time comes that our love one went that is the only time we will endure the pain and suffering just like what you shared about your loss atm card, the difference with the thing in people we are not in control when they are gone but the only thing we can do is to make each second of our lives with them a memorable one and in things, I was such a messy person most of my thing disappeared because I never kept them in the proper place, in term of our Island I was very disappointed on how our government takes for granted on how that island can help many fishermen provide living for their family, and their responsibility is to protect our country and the people but they just letting, other to control it. I really admired you for you are such a talented writer, your passion is bursting in every article that you had. keep inspiring and Godbless

$ 0.02
User's avatar eve
2 years ago

Wow, thank you for your words. I can't just help but release my irritation about how government handles this Island issue. I don't know, I somehow expected that we can claim what's ours, but look at what happened. Hayy.. May God bless you, too! Have a happy week ahead :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a bank book but didn't have a card yet, so I can't really relate to you. Good for you to get another one, though. Take care of it in the future. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, this experience is really a lesson learned for me. Hahaha. Thanks for coming by. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your writing style so I'll keep coming by whenever I got time. Have a good day ahead!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, thank you! You too, havr a happy day! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No probs, love lots to you. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know sometimes I have this stupidity in me. But I haven't experience of losing my cash card. But only recently I could have lost my motorcycle when I forget to remove the key from the seat lock. I was like wandering something for more than an hour before i realized that the key was not in my pocket.

Did you know that I opened up a ATM savings account only for my passive income. It's easy to withdraw converted crypto currency to fiat.

I have no comment about that current issue between China and PH. It's tiring to hear on the news.

By the way I have a post more than a month ago, something like "Healthy Anger".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, that one about your motorcycle is really scary, especially here in the Philippines! We got some skilled 'flash thieves' here. about my current wallet, I also plan on having it saved in an ATM account so I can monitor it better as well.

And yes, I will check your recommended post soon. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not watching news anymore. Nothing, but bad in the news every day. The only little positive thing at the end of the news, that a new giraffe was born in the zoo.

I think three hours wait is just unacceptable. I thought they would send a new card to you in the post.

Thank you for the mention again. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really received the card, but after three hours hahaha. It's okay, as I have accomplished it before work. And of course, you deserve the mention. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww thank you. You deserve my sponsorship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago